my trip to tanzania -Nairobi>Arusha>Daresalaam>Lindi>Mtwara

early March last month, me and my buddy, embarked on a trip to unwind from the choking Nairobi. My friend works for the county and I am in business(entrepreneurship).

you can check my blog for the nitty gritties and stories but my lessons are as follows.

1. Tanzania (as we all know) is a great country, greater than kenya interms of quality of life, happiness level and mwanaichi wa kawaida has a better life there than in Kenya. (Kenya bila kakiru kwa mfuko ni tragedy baba)
  2. In Kenya things are damn expensive, everything from car tyres, tiles, foods, drinks, women yaani kila kitu kenya ni exaggerated. Also in Tanzania hakuna influx ya sub standard products kama Kenya. (Kenya unabuy toy ya mtoto naivas hata haimalizi one hour, ishabreak) TZ things are kinda durable.
  3. Pombe ya TZ haileweshi ,they don’t have such a wide variety of our legendary 500ml lagers. Pombe ni approx 100-150kes but haileweshi. cheap
  4. Fuel is more or less the same costs like in Kenya, our trip to and from was 3599Km, we spent more Kes 92,000.00 on fuel alone. , so you are better off flying .(precision & KQ)
  5. Yes, indeed corruption iko in Tanzania especially with KE number plates but the average bribe we gave for overspeeding was TZs10k,(approx 600 ya Kenya) So yes they are corrupt but cheap bribes. ( I don’t blame them)
  6. Roads in urban areas, highways, are better than in Kenya, well marked and beautiful,driving from Dar to Mtwara is heavenly (apart from crazy traffic jam exiting dar (although they are doing some heavy BRT/ light trains going on )
  7. Food, what can I say ? there is a fish we ate in mtwara, heavenly, yaani fish haina bones, smoked and its just sweeeeeeeeeet( not unless you taste hauwezi hata imagine, TZ food is good,better, well cooked, original, wacha tu) btw in mtwara there is a hotel called tiffany diamond ,managed by Kenyans. Ohh my uko sorted , yaani all sectors.
  8. Mtwara is the most southern town in TZ( it borders Mozambique) home to tribes like makonde people, the Yao and the Makua. On your way to Mtwara, there is a dangote factory, huuuuuuge!!! Dangote ni mwanaume. , with huge unexploited natural resources, coupled with a stable CCM government. TZ has invested heavily on public hospitals, madaawa ziko , roads, et.c
  9. People are hospitable. Yaani people are warm, za sasahivi…:D:Dndio salaams that’s the greatest thing TZ has that Kenya hatuna. If you have some Kes, you are better off buying a holiday home or investing in Arusha, /dar /Mtwara etc than in Diani ,nanyuki.
    10.anyway in the meantime, back home, gachieth amesema eti aje ? Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua has revealed that Azimio leader Raila Odinga demanded half of cabinet secretaries, ambassadorial, PS slots so he can call off the weekly mass action.

Which car?

I love their street food , kwanza Dar , the roasted banana and meat can’t remeber waht the call it , nili changanya beer huko worst hungover ever , pweza yote nilikuwa nime meza ili toka hivyo !
very nice clubs in Dar night life safi mali safi kwa wingi

Not many will like this. But Tanzania beats Kenya in virtually all Indices, including literacy.

…and miss out a lot of stopovers

I visit TZ every few months and I can attest to what you have said up there.

I prefer tz over Kenya

Their fuel is cheaper. The rate for unleaded huko is 2318 tzs or 160/- kes

True! Was in Dar around the same period…with a KE number plate, we were virtually stopped at all the roadblocks for checks. Otherwise, it was all good and generally felt value for my money.

Some Views we had from our balcony…

Favourite lager going for Tzs1,700= Kes 100

Barack Obama Dr

Was in Arusha recently. Was stopped everytime. They didn’t check documents only wanted a bribe. Luckily I had 50/- Kes in abundance. It was a pain in the ass

Plus 1…Dar night life is only second to Uganda’s kwa EA

Now im curious niki juwa waganda wame beba !

Can a Kenyan buy real estate in Tz? Say a shamba, plot or house?

This was garbage holiday experience according to one @Azor Ahai .

You didn’t fly first class, stay in expensive 6 star hotels or visit exclusive game lodges. Holiday fail :ungekaa nyumbani

For me TZ is no 1 cos wako na yello yello warembo ajab! Been to UG and I didn’t like their women. They’re basically fat

Money gets you access to petite girls

Mtwara ni mbali lakini hata mercedes haiwezi kunywa mafuta ya iyo pesa yoote, sini kama tu Nairobi to Kigali

I would love such views. Was it an Airbnb or private residence? If the former tupatie cost and location niweke hii kwa plans yangu. Also, juu mimi siwezi weka mafuta a 100k how much would it cost to move around with their taxis say an entire week??

Airbnb, usually fully booked for months tho but you can try your luck Here .

NBO-DAR and back fuel was ~26k, within Dar we preferred to use bolt tuk tuks (called Bajaji) as it was convenient and cheaper. For a week ~10k utazunguka Dar yote.

So in total you spent less than 60k? If you dont mind unaweza leta break down yako? Kwani @saccovictinm alikua anaendesha bedford ama?

Daaaaamn. Inanishw ati ni 24 euros a night? Is that really correct??