my view on existence of Nairobi national park

Nairobi national park, being the only park within the capital city of any country, is one of the amazing parks we have in the country. The park was established in 1946 after Cowie pushed for the same. It occupies an acreage of 28963.2218 acres. Initially, when Nairobi city was not the capital, the population was low, but as the human population increased in the 19th century, there was a competition between humans and animals and the need for a park where the animals could be confined was needed. I understand the need for forest cover and animals, and I also know you know it. They make the environment friendly and act as a tourist attraction. How many plots of 100 by 100 are there in 28k acres? How many national parks do we have in the country? What’s the combined acreage of all national reserves and national parks in the country do we have? What’s the forest cover of Nairobi county? Do we have enough land within the Nairobi that can encourage investors to set up industries at a low cost? What’s the cost of a 50 by 100 in Kayole? The 28k acres of land should be converted to investment land. We already have so many national parks where the animals can be transferred to. Why do we consider animals sometimes more important than humans? If we expand the capital city in a well-planned manner, then more investors can see the viability of their investments within the city.

Inakaa unafikiria we also don’t need forests

My friend,land is not a factor of production in this day and age. I have never understand what exactly is our talismanic obsession with land and its perceived ‘value’ yet it’s the most illiquid asset in a world where capital markets are king. Our dear president is pupportedly supposed to have acres upon acres of land but if he was to leverage that against international standards I think we would be shocked by its low discounted value simply because an investor does not consider land as collateral.Who will he sell it to if he wants out of an investment?

In the global context of wealth aggregation,7 out of the top 10 wealthiest people have made their money in the technology space and rightly so because of the speed at which investor dollars can flow in and out of those assets.
And in the event that investors needed land so desperately,there are industrial parks littered all over the country for them to pick from with better planning.In fact no more investment should be encouraged in the CBD and instead steer resources away towards peri urban towns such as Naivasha so that our country opens up.

EEEiish where to start with this one !! After NNP pia karura na all the small parks we have in nairobi next (jeevanjee na uhuru park !!! ) Yani one can’t see beyond buroti maguta maguta

In the puny country called Netherlands they farm vertically not horizontally yet they feed Africans.

Same for Israel. Maybe in future the farms will be highly controlled skyscrapers and not Galana Kulalus.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/farming-in-the-netherlands-worlds-number-2-exporter-of-food.155375/

For this insha composition I give you 2/10. You’ve figured out how to look up information. Now work on synthesizing it.

We must maintain the uniqueness of Nairobi by all means possible and that include the Nairobi national park, karura forest, Uhuru park and others. No compromising on that for the sake of development. There are other idle lands in Konza we can use to achieve other things

Am opposed to your narrative simply because it is not to the benefit of Kenyans but a few greedy leaders who already have thousands of idle acres.Besides,the little available land within Nairobi has been mismanaged,staki sewage na concrete jungle of ugly congested buildings,fraud and murders.Heri ibaki vile ilivyo.

I think we should keep Nairobi National Park.
But we shouldn’t be inflexible. The people who keep saying that even ‘an acre’ of the park should not be touched make me angry.
We cannot go demolishing buildings expensively yet there is free land on the other side to expand the road.
We should also accept we’re not the city we were when the park was given its boundaries. Certainly not by size or population.

The short sighted nature of your argument is simply shocking.

You want to degazette the park so that you can get a cheaper 100×100 plot?

Africa’s biggest problem is that it is full of Africans. They are low IQ monkeys who can’t see beyond the present and have no imagination whatsoever

Ongeza volume kiongoss.
I can’t believe in these advanced times we can still be this intellectually handicapped.

What mental disease is this that says ni lazima kila mtu aishi Nairobi?

Hapo umefikiria kama warthogs 50. Your argument makes absolutely no sense at alllll

So we destroy our wildlife and environment to build more slums where people will still suffer from poverty, drought, and lack of food. We cant even manage Nairobi yet you are talking of expansion hehe

Wambie bwana

The stupidity of the argument is that there’s is no shortage of land even in old parts of Nairobi. Nairobi outside of CBD and Eastlands is a relatively low density.

The push to raid NNP, Karura, Uhuru Park, Wilson Airport is usually by tumbocrats who don’t want to pay market rate for anything. They just want to steal. The other group is idiots above who are semi literate and have according to @Aquaman “talismanic obsession” and don’t have 2 coins to rub together and would not benefit if every national park in Kenya was de-gazzeted.

This is what Kilimani looks like. It’s low density low rise area a few kilometers from downtown.
[ATTACH=full]309970[/ATTACH]

There are thousands of acres of empty land in northern Kajiado and western Machakos for the city to expand in.

What we need is not more land but better use of it.

Mvua hutoka kwa mungu crew.

Huyu ni troll clout chaser

All tech billionaires buy alot of land. Not more tech. They buy tech with VC money. But their own profit and own money goes to land. Without exception. Explain this. If the capital markets etc were such a no brainer why buy land? Juzi Branson had no liquidity. So he put Necker Island as collateral for a 400m dollar line of credit. These tech billionaires know that tech is paper money. Look at softbank and we work. It is a pack of cards. So when they get their cash they buy land and houses. Lots of them. Ranches etc. Land ni illiquid but land is the most stable asset.

There was not and there should not be a national park in Nairobi. That land rightfully belongs to Maasai people who were forcefully thrown out of their land. The same with Karura forest which was the birthright and property of someone before it was stolen by force.

How reasonable it is to have the smallest county in Kenya have over 30% of its land closed off from the public and private sector. Hii story haimake sense

[ATTACH=full]310002[/ATTACH]