Mystery tunnel at Mau Forests puzzles historians

It seems a lot happened during the colonial times that we will never get to know the truth. It is quite unfortunate that we as Africans are very poor in keeping records. This is an abandoned tunnel and the locals only talk about rumours with nobody having facts about it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPJhpvR44WI

Kweli mkale hana ukora ya uwiizi… chuma zimejaa kila sehume na kuna scrap dealers… hii ingekuwa cendro wangekuwa wamesha havest.!

It is a tunnel dug by whites so why blame Africans for not keeping records? Nonsense,

Hii ni kama zile tunnels zinakuaga chini ya most state houses around the world,ni ka escape route ya makunguru

Historians know nothing about history, to us residents of Mau areas we know everything there is to know

fukin brare…it is our country. This should be a historical site by now, maintained by the government with very clear account of what happened inside and how it was constructed and by who.

We read and learn about the very secretive concentration camps in Europe build by the Germans. It is not the germans who keep them but the victims (jews) and the host countries, such as Austria.

We watch movies about the civil war and even the first world war. But few can give an accurate account of the independence struggle war in Kenya. That is even why we had a fake General mathenge.

Let us admit our inadequacies.

Low IQ effort. Try harder

What was the use of the tunnel? what was the use of the rooms inside the tunnel?

It’s not our problem. We have other important things to mind about

Kenya hakuna urban explorers walete pich.

Wapite na nduthi wajue iko na nini

They should use ground penetrating radar to see what is stored in that hole that is sealed. They should bring archeologists to take datable samples and give us a date of when the tunnel was dug. British archeologists would be excited to take up this project.

Na hio sio collector tunnel ya maji for ferrying water from a high place to a low lying area?

The local slaves who dug the hole, kwani they didn’t ask massa what the hole was for?

Typical bonobo. Digs to the center of the earth and has no idea what the heck he is digging or building.

Kazi ni kusema tu , “Yes Massa! Ndio mkubwa! Ndio boss! Your wish is my command! My anus is yours massa!”

Bonobos were forced to build all the tarmac roads in Colonial Kenya and none of them remembered the formula or the techniques involved. Kazi ilikuwa kulipwa wanaenda town kudinya malaya. Wengine wanarudishwa jela. Today we have to hire foreigners again to give us the formula. The techniques.

And of the bonobos building the SGR none of them bothered to carry a notebook to work or to ask the Chinaman some questions. Aki bonobo. Who cursed the bonobo?

You know you always preach Afro consciousness here, why don’t you talk of “KENYAN archeologists would be excited to take up this project!”

Does that mean that you have no confidence at all in Kenyan archeologists investigating this tunnel on their own?

Not even the Kenyan archeologists with PhDs from the top British campuses???!

See yourself Wakandan @Tony254 . You have zero confidence in your own people.

Ati they should bring archeologists… SMMFH.

And yet you are the first one to give us lectures on how to love and respect ourselves as Africans. What a shame.

I think that thing was an underground bunker. That is why the guy talks about the tunnel and 4 rooms. Many settlers had bunkers just in case the natives attacked them. I visited one of the colonial houses and found that there was an underground safehouse aka bunker.

This was a big project…6 km long. And it was guarded by soldiers. It is not the kind of thing a settler farmer can do. Unaskia Italian prisoners of war did the construction.

This story gives more details
https://www.pd.co.ke/news/national/mysterious-76-year-old-6-kilometre-tunnel-discovered-in-a-kenyan-forest-50399/

You mean Italian prisoners of war did the supervising while Sani’s grandfather ferried the boulders on his head?

You think carrying out an archeological excavation is cheap? It costs alot of money. The government of Kenya does not invest in science and technology

:D:D:D:D Enhe? Spin some more but the damage is already done.

Kwani you think the Kenya govt cant afford a simple analysis like this one?

First of all I am 100% percent sure that it is recorded somewhere in govt. records what this specific construction was.

Number 2 hii si mambo na archeology, they are not looking for homo habilis bones or dinosaur skulls, this is more in the domain of engineering i.e ministry of works or ministry of water. A good engineer exposed to old colonial constructions, would take one look and tell you what this is. From there the Museums department can take over and make it a historical site though they are always broke and disorganised when it comes to marketing such venues for tourism.