Nairobi Railway Museum

With @msalame grace
[ATTACH=full]7722[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7723[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7724[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7725[/ATTACH]

Pic courtesy of L. L. K.

They look historic. I can imagine Kalasingas working on the railway.

here you Go @danji1 , more pics
[ATTACH=full]7727[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7728[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7729[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7730[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7731[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7732[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7733[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7735[/ATTACH]

@msalame grace these are the kind of mbichas i want to go and take

[ATTACH=full]7740[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7741[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7742[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7743[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7744[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]7745[/ATTACH]

hata 2030 bado utakuwa ukitaka kwenda kupiga as long as you are here. why didn’t you go today?

nice work!,@Meria Mata

The train (the one with a round front and light at the top) in the museum and that in the black and white photos look a like. Are the steam engines still intact?

Get your camera and snap away. Such places require good cameras, sio hizi za smartphones. I feel I need to get one.

Nice work. …

"The Kenya – Uganda Railway was built by the Imperial British East Africa company back in the 1890s. Construction of the line began at the Kilindini Harbour in Mombasa in 1895. Around 1900, the line arrived at the present site of the city of Nairobi. Indeed, Nairobi owes its existence to railway engineers who drained a vast swamp, thus enabing the construction of permanent buildings. Indian labourers began commercial activities to cater for railway crews and colonial administrators. The railway arrived at Port Florence (Kisumu) around 1901.

Can you imagine that…in 1890 it took them only 5 years to reach Nairobi …IN 18 FUCKIN 90…and just one year to Kisumu…

And exactly 125 years later it’s taking us 4 years to do the same stretch…despite slll the technological advances…Yaani

For your reading pleasure

http://www.eadestination.com/pop-culture/86-history-of-the-kenyan-railways

I’m baffled by the same. Maybe the Indians should be contracted and be offered the necessary machines. Officials in charge are probably stealing the funds.

Camera i have. I have 2 DSLRs. Canon and nikon…not professional grade but good enough to take decent pics. But even with my smartphone im sure i can get proper pics. Its just a matter of composing the shot properly

The America Transcontinental Railways was built in six years from 1863 to 1869 over a distance of 3000km

Lazima serikali ikule…picha ya lion ikiuma mhindi rasa iko …

nitatembea huko this week niwawekee picha

all Train records here,
sijui kama yetu itaweza.
http://www.railserve.com/stats_records/worlds_fastest_trains.html

[ATTACH=full]7749[/ATTACH]

In 1898, railway workers in Tsavo, Kenya were terrorised by a pair of man-eating lions, who killed at least 28 people during a 10-month reign of terror. It ended in December when a British officer called Lt. Col. John H. Patterson killed both beasts. The man-eaters’ notorious exploits have been immortalised in no less than three Hollywood films, including most recently The Ghost and the Darkness. But despite their fame, no one is quite sure how many people they killed. The Ugandan Railway Company said 28; Patterson claimed it was 135.

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/notrocketscience/2009/11/02/how-many-people-did-the-man-eating-lions-of-tsavo-actually-eat/