Nakumatt employees stole Sh1 million a day

From the outside, Nakumatt looked like a thriving supermarket. Its tagline, ‘You need it, we’ve got it’, assured shoppers that they would get a variety of products in an idyllic environment, “all under one roof”.

But it was also a place where suppliers burnt their fingers, money was siphoned offshore and employees stole Sh1 million a day with reckless abandon. Behind veneer of a thriving retailer, it was a place where money was stolen and suppliers burnt their fingers.

Supplies kept the lie going, bursting the shelves and aisles with every item a supermarket thrives on: toilet paper, electronics, water, rice, beans, pasta, bread, frozen foods – name it.

[ATTACH=full]319205[/ATTACH]

Thts what they want you to believe. To shift the blame from themselves to the workers.
Atul Shah na Harun Mwau single handedly killed Nakumatt, to achieve their own interests. They are happy. Sijui mbona watu wa magazeti wanashughlika na io story sana. Owners wa Nakumatt wako sawa. Atul Shah hajai shtaki mtu eti ameibiwa pesa.

I dunno what’s going on with these supermarkets. And I don’t buy that theft story. OK it’s possible but you’d think a company this size with its electronic check out wouldn’t have a hard time keeping track of inventory.

I went to Tuskys the other day. They had a table I wanted. I went in and all those things were gone and it’s like they didn’t restock. I went around like OK since I’m here might as well see what else I can impulse buy. They had the bare minimums. I don’t think they were being stocked anymore. I asked the cashier. He said blah blah blah. You know we have been having challenges… The place looked like it was shutting down.

I knew something fishy was going on in Nakumatt when their internal auditor was shot dead 5 years ago. I had also heard of the stories of theft by employees even before the supermarket started collapsing.

Iyo blue band ya kitambo ndio poa

Yesterday I came across a term, ‘cognitive mapping’, that addresses the way the public is wired or conditioned to respond to systemic problems… Yaani by denialism, refusing to believe that the system is the problem and believing that when you get a fall guy the system will work yet again… This cognitive mapping is a very subtle and long lasting conditioning that is practiced at a very global scale across capitalistic countries primarily through hollywood scripting, media, pop culture, consumerism, etc etc…

You see for instance, every single local supermarket has gone through the same woes, yet people want to single out the figure heads as the thieving bastards yet there were institutional weaknesses that lead to supermarket businesses in kenya going through the same fate, one after the other…

it is true that most staff in kenya, especially the low cadre non professional employees wouln’t hesitate to carry out fraud, banks realised this and stopped promoting admin staff to operational/cash handling roles… Supermarkets rely on similar staff low wages they accept, yet they carry out fraud; Nobody wants to believe that fraud is serious or can collapse an entire supermarket network.

everyday staff in kenya steal from their employers, mpaka there is a saying for it, ‘mtu hukula kule anafanya kazi’… but the problem is deeper than that… and its a systemic problem… huge pay gap disparity, staff not offered ownership shares in the organisation they work for, unrealistic pay that doesnt reflect the cost of living, operational procedures that have loopholes, no upward mobility and growth prospects and incentives for responsibility say professional registrations etc etc…

Nakumatt ilikua na management poa. Shareholders wake hawakupoteza pesa, lazima mjue io. After nakumatt kuserve agenda za Harun Mwau na wenzake time yake ilikua imeisha. Ilikua kwa interests za Atul Shah na wenzake Nakumatt icollapse, they came, they saw, they conquered. Suppliers na employees ndo losers.

How did Harun’s interests get served? yet he was bundled out by WB/IMF?.. Atul alikosea wapi to build a business model that protects his capital?.. wouldnt you do the same?..

Harun Mwau left early bana. He need a laundry and he got the perfect one.

Harun wasn’t bundled out by anyone my fren. He pumped in his money on the daily, and when the heat was on he took it out.

Time enye mwau alipatwa ma mashida ndio Nakumatt pia ilianza kupatwa na mashida. Without Mwau Nakumatt could not stand on its own, option ya Atul Shah ikawa ni kuloot kila kitu then aachie suppliers empty shell.wafanye vile watafanya.

Then nowadays Atul Shah is very careful in his interviews when asked about Mwau’s role at Nakumatt. Kitambo alikua anasema Mwau aliuza shareholding yake na bado ata hawajamlipa, after time kidogo io story ikabadilika, sa ii akiulizwa anything to do with Mwau huwa anakataa kujibu, ama anasema Mwau hakua involved kwa Nakumatt kabisa

Ask yourself why foregn Retail chains don’t penetrate the Kenyan niche. Walmart and the rest. Hata CarreFour haina maisha huku Kenya.

https://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/tea/business/how-nakumatt-found-itself-in-a-perfect-storm--1370766

@sani na @LongTime someni hiyo kisha musome hii nyingine…

https://businesstoday.co.ke/nakumatt-nakumatt-collapse-peter-kahi-nakumatt-administrator-nakumatt-creditors/

What makes you think Carrefour wont survive? They pay much less for supplies than their competition. This is a global giant with a 5 digit number of chains around the world bana. Hii sio Tuskys ya Jotham Wachira.

Mdau angusha link pia sisi tujisomee.

why?

Nakumatt was constantly expanding. You honestly think the owners were idiots to keep expanding without first dealing with the institutional fraud you allude to? Nakumatt was “making money” up until it wasn’t useful for that purpose. Maybe you are talking about Uchumi and Tuskys.

IT system infrastructure works just as good as those who operate it, kama ni wakora even with the system ukora itajaa tu . In one of the well doing supermarkets currently, I have been offered to just identify a TV na itatoka, at a very friendly rate, [COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]NOW! Our society is very rotten, to the very core

A supermarket expansion is not an expensive venture, coz they dont buy/build buildings except for the useless Uchumi. Theirs is just a hall with shelves, and they offer suppliers the opportunity to display their products there. They pay after 60-90 days. You can actually be making losses but mask that in a big turnover.