Native Village 1961 & Nairobi drive in cinema 1958 #TBT

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=id=fbccPItyi9M;list=WL

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=id=71aHFhAhw5o;list=WL

av been refreshing hapa nikingoja uangushe tbt kama kawa

Wonder how many here had the opportunity to go for the drive in cinema, one was at belle vue , and the other around ruaraka… unfortunately mostly Hindi moves but other movies as well…

i once did hio ya ruaraka back in the 80’s with my uncles and elder cuzos,kids were not allowed in unless during celebratory public holidays,so hio day i was ‘smuggled in’ covered in blanket between seats,i clearly remember the entrance,hadn’t changed ,security guy would come and peruse the car for ‘stowaways’,once cleared they give you a parking receipt which btw you paid per car not the occupants so unaimagine mbogi ilikua inakam weekendi,the receipt had your spot number,unapark next to hizo speakers which you had to hang on the glass window.It was a predominantly hindu joint so mishkaki na tandoori kwa wingi,first movie niliona was ali baba and fourty thieves:D:D:D:D:D

Kabisa, you even remember the tiny details :D, that was a dope concept though. I wish it can be brought back.
The predominant junk food was fish and chips though. It was really good, the smell of fried fish and chicken just nostalgic, served on rectangular paper boxes.

umefanya nikaskia njaa sasa:D:D:D
drive in movies is a dying concept,in the US ,as of march,there were 348 theaters down from 443 in march and 2400 in the 80’s,in UK even less.hata watoto kaa chini ni kama ziliisha mitaani.But innaeza kuwa poa msee akairevive for weekend nostlgic movies

Good idea, kisha space kubwa these days doesn’t come easy unless ni far out of town.
I hadn’t taken into account how big that screen thing was until I saw it as an adult hapo Bellevue tukiwa shamba back in the day.
That must have been some heavy investment, it’s all stone and concrete, it’s actually a storey building.
Forgot to mention, after a while you could tune in to a channel on the radio ukiwa hapo drive in and get the sound instead of the speaker on the mirror.
I could see some guys who lived nearby watch the movies from their houses kwa window…

Good times…

I tell you, if I could bring the days back.

Minus the soundtrack…that was crazily weird. But would still have some thing to nyamazisha guys with in school

You could get the sounds via the radio frequency , your radio size would probably determine your soundtrack quality :smiley: