New Job, New Country

So guys, 3 weeks ago I went for an interview at some local place. I honestly didn’t think I would make it but they called me Tuesday morning saying I was among the top 2 candidates so there will be a second interview.

Thing is this: I have negotited my own terms - budget and autonomy. i told them in no uncertain terms that as a decision-maker in a decision-making position, I will not deal with bureaucracy and politics (this is why I didn’t think I’d make it as I was very categorical about this).

now the other thing is this: the job is in another country. Puntland kwa akina bingwa meffi. And it’s a 2-year gig with home-returns every quarter for 12 days. pay is 6 figures, housing na transi they’re providing. i’ll just be feeding myself and that’s it.

1. What are the drawbacks? Security-wise should I be worried?
  2. My son is only less than 2 years. His formative years hataniona. That worries me the most.
  3. I’ve been working on a project with some guys, and it would mean i leave it. It’s potentially (yes i know) very very lucrative and my role is digital but I don’t know if i’ll be able to balance the two coz the workload in Punty may be excess.

Shaurishia sponsor tafadhali. My biggest worry is my son ([SIZE=1]not the mother as that is the least of my concerns. i’ve been single two and a half months now[/SIZE])

Chukua kibarua.

Congratulations. Take the opportunity.

kata Visa uondokee umasikini for a while

two years ni kidogo sana bora monthly “remittances” za maintenance ya junior usichelewe…bila ivo kitoi kitafunzwa kuita mtu mwingine baba…utarudi tu na uendelee kuwa baba…kwanza at the end of the contract take a break kuja uwapeleke vaccation murwa for affirming the baba title

Chukua job.The good thing about those international jobs you get to network with people who can later on be very helpful.

Very true.

Take it.

asanteni washikadau kwa maoni yenyu. and for the encouragement.

https://www.nation.co.ke/counties/siaya/Kenyan-man-shot-dead-in-Puntland/1183322-5236598-v93egj/index.html

Juzi tu
But good luck[ATTACH=full]254291[/ATTACH]

This you should be discussing with your wife not us. It’s the two of you who will be affected…

Go for it like the rest have said. Lakini usi-drop the other PJ you are working on. Try and juggle both as much as you can. You will be able to see your son on your visits unless you don’t trust the mother but please agree on childcare costs before you go and don’t tell her how much you will be earning.
This could be some much needed time -out.

Take the job. I made the decision to take a job outside Kenya and I have never regretted it.
The company is handling most of the admin work for you, all you have to do is show up which is a plus.
Two years is not a lot, afterwards you will decide if you want to work in Kenya or not.
Moneywise, you will move up the economic ladder (make sure you spend it wisely, save/invest).
Use those 12 days wisely with your family, quality over quantity.
You will make connections with other expats and your skills/expertise in hardship locations will always be in demand (I have three job offers and my current contract has not even ended).
Don’t worry about insecurity and all that, siku yako ikifika imefika, people die even here in Kenya so death should not be an excuse not to take a job.

Life in hardship locations is boring and dull, I suspect you will have a lot of time over the weekends and you can look at the project.

Perfect advice. Nada to add.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/unpopular-opinion-i-love-being-employed-if-you-want-a-high-paying-job-read-here.98083/#post-2018967

[ATTACH=full]254299[/ATTACH]

Please consider the mother to your son. Wacha hizo vitu unaandika hapo she’s not your concern. I don’t expect such arrogance from a 27yrs old

You’ve never thanked me for giving you advice on that job .Guinness sita peke yake.

Yeah, i remember :D:DInbox mpesa number, ntakurushia kitu nikirudi

Puntland is safe. Its just the border areas that has issues with some local affiliation of alshabab and some friction with federal government of Somali.

Six figures sorts you out for short and long term. You son will be fine. Just make sure when you are back to give him.many gifts and push forward milestone events like birthdays and first day at school.

Good luck.

I am the one who wrote this thread, read it.