New Ugali Recipe.

I tried this new Ugali recipe and totally loved it, so I thought I could share lol.

1. Boil water
  2. Add a pinch of salt
  3. Add margarine or butter to the boiling water.
  4. Add maize meal flour and stir
  5. When almost ready, add ground flaxseeds to the Ugali and mix well for about a minute and then serve.

For Oatmeal porridge lovers

1. Boil water
  2. Mix blended oats with oat bran to get a high content of fibre nutrients
  3. Add flour to the boiling water and stir porridge until cooked
  4. Serve hot with warm milk, cinnamon and flaxseed flour
  5. Add sugar to taste, if you prefer.

si uende golf club utafute mwanaume wa Rotary huko uende umpikie hii akuoe?

Hii ni ya mababi. Sisi tunatambua Ile ugali ya number two.

I eat this too, but for nutritional value, add flaxseed. :slight_smile:

Sawa

Then why push for this other ‘pimped’ ugali?

What’s flaxseed in normal language?

It’s my preference to add all those ingredients, but salt and butter is totally optional. Flaxseed though is the main nutritional value. Look it up.

Cleopatra…what is the accompaniment for the Ugali? greens, meat, fish etc?

I prefer it with green leafy vegetables. Mostly sukuma wiki or pumpkin leaves. With meat stew

I stopped at “2. Add a pinch of salt”

Meat,fish,Chicken.Greens it’s when we have no money for those other options.

Kenyans have many different greens but hii ya pumpkin si ya kuweka kwa mukimo?

Hakuna mtu who can back their recipes with imagery proof? Meffi nyinyi

Greens are actually the healthier option.

https://www.google.com/search?q=greens+to+eat+with+ugalis&tbm=isch&source=hp&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjs8bb9y6PkAhXQKFAKHcttDVIQ7Al6BAgBECQ&biw=1088&bih=544

They are also great when taken with ugali

What is flaxseed in gîkûyû

Pumpkin leaves are very common these days (perhaps it’s the season). I like to mix mine with Spinach. Some folks cook it with milk and it’s an accomplishment for rice and Ugali dishes mainly.

If you don’t have access to Pumpkin leaves or traditional green vegetables e.g. managu, Cabbage or Spinach will go perfectly with Ugali. If you are a meat lover, you can add chicken, beef stew, lamb stew or mutton stew. Also grilled or fried fish would go well with Ugali.

Also, for easy digestion, grind the flaxseeds using your coffee grinder. They’re best consumed ground instead of whole.