Ngomongo Court in Kisumu

A man was taken to Kisumu court cells on Wednesday after calling an advocate ‘my dear’ during the hearing of the governor petition. Yusuf Masudi, a witness in former Governor Jack Ranguma’s case against his successor Anyang Nyong’o, used the phrase while in the witness stand.

Advocate Julie Soweto had asked him why he did not include some of the information he was giving the court in his affidavit.

“I need not put everything I hear, my dear,” he said.

Judge David Majanja then interjected and asked him to apologise.

“I apologise,” the witness said, but asked if he knew why he apologised, he replied;" No. You just told me to apologise."

The judge ordered the officers of the court to take Masudi away so he would think about what he had said.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2017/11/08/kisumu-man-taken-to-court-cells-after-calling-lawyer-my-dear_c1666465

Q. Is it okay to address someone you hardly know as “my dear”?

A. Only if you want people to think you’re a little bit strange.

The classic stereotypical gentleman villain is always perfectly dressed, speaks with an upper-class British accent and addresses young ladies as “my dear”. It sounds paternalistic and a bit patronising.

It could be acceptable if you were very old. Elderly men might address younger women as “my dear”, elderly women can address almost any younger person as “my dear” – but it’s better if you don’t.

Jaji mjinga piu piu. Are witnesses required to be- obita dicta, primafacie… literate.

Wacha aume dondo, ndio ajue korti sio lile la kuvaliwa na kuvuliwa atakavyo

Hehehehe, huyo jamaa hakujua mbona ameambiwa apeane apology, lakini since ni judge amesema unakubali
Mimi dame akiniita my dear najua ni kuni anadai

But the guy was asked to apologize, which he did. The judge should have explained what his mistake was.

If I was the guy, I would act genuinely pissed. Sasa what was he supposed to say? Think about it - either way, he was going to the cells! That’s one petty judge…

[ATTACH=full]137602[/ATTACH]
Julie Soweto is the lady on the extreme right. Man could not vumilia ufisi

contempt of court, and ignorance is never an excuse. Of course atakaa ndani masaa kidogo, then he’ll be released…

ignorance is no dilatory defence prima facie my learned friend

He’s lucky the judge wasnt female. Angechapwa mpaka fine.

I thought contempt of court occurs only when you defy orders? If you are illiterate, by your definition, you automatically land in jail?

he should have been told his mistake in black and white akirudia sasa anyongwe. but citizens should also know that when they answer they are addressing the court and not the questioning counsel…

Going by whoever reported the incidence,…
“I apologise,” the witness said, but asked if he knew why he apologised, he replied;" No. You just told me to apologise."
That’s contempt, kukosea koti na jaji heshima…

Did you get my attachment this morning?

they (feminazi) actually came up with a word for it.MANSPLAINING

The Star’s report is inaccurate, here is the more accurate report: http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/news/man-trouble-calling-female-lawyer-dear , Justice Majanja is a no nonsense type of judge. Kenya needs more justices like him to end the flagrant and mischievous abuse of the courts to prevent the law from taking its course:

But Justice David Majanja, sitting in Kisumu, on Thursday declined to grant the orders arguing he would only listen to the application if the two applicants are present in court. He said they must come to court on Monday for the hearing of the application before any order is issued. “They must physically be present in court before we proceed with the matter,” Justice Majanja stated. http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Outa-Odinga-denied-anticipatory-bail/1056-4147360-581ccl/index.html

Perennially filing litigants also know to avoid him because he does not entertain games and in fairness he will also not give them a chance to later claim “aliwaonea”:

Activists Okiya Omtatah and Wycliffe Gisebe had demanded that Justice David Majanja quit the case. He transferred the case files to Mr Justice Isaac Lenaola. The activists had claimed the judge was delaying the case. “The petitioners are accusing me of delaying the matter although the proceedings show that it has not been delayed. Their allegation lacks factual basis and is frivolous. I find their application as an abuse of the court process and transfer the file to the presiding judge of the division,” the judge ruled. http://mobile.nation.co.ke/news/Judge-pulls-out-of-railway-tender-case/1950946-2327538-format-xhtml-p932h0/index.html

habana bata…

Hio dondo isipikwe na mafuta ya Bidco!!

Rubbish. No court deserves such a tight ass judge. By the way, “my dear” in common parlance is a VERY acceptable form of language. God forbid should he have said “my learned friend” as some flamboyant people are wont to do!

In fact, the judge was the one wrong. Maybe he was horny and everything said was interrupted with a sexual tint to it? Look at these women and put it in the context of dirty old Kenyan men… (no stones, I’m just saying…;))

https://kenyatalk.s3.amazonaws.com/2017/11/201114_2aaece664a0eed1be2c003af9cb376fc.jpg