NHIF:Giving With One Hand, Taking Away With The Other

After news yesterday that you could receive NHIF benefits from ANY accredited hospital, it’s now emerging that they have capped outpatient hospital visits to 4 per year, so if a family of 4 rely on one card, they’ll have just one visit per member. Poisoned chalice?

Better than nothing. We’ll get there soon.

Mimi niko na unlimited cover both inpatient na outpatient, blame your employer.

There’s nothing like unlimited cover. God forbid, ukigonjeka utajua hujui.

AON

@Okiya has echoed my sentiments

What’s the cap on it?

NHIF ni umeffi kabisa. That Atwoli and Sossion ever sat in their Boards makes me feel very sick. So now I should be sick four times in a year? That NHIF staff have a medical cover from insurance companies means they dont trust their own products

Hio tulitupa

Hio ya arap mashamba tulitupa.

Yangu nililipia back in 2014. Self employed. Your advice how I can bring it up to date?

Kubaff. Sasa unaturingia na ni sisi taxpayers tunagharamia hiyo cover?

Tembelea huduma center.

Thieves

Wrong

You have your facts wrong…NHIF staff don’t have a independent medical cover. They have in house group cover,it’s a pool of all their medical allowances put in one kitty.

They can as well close shop.

RWNBP. That’s all that matters.

This is @The truth about the new NHIF scheme
[ATTACH=full]136498[/ATTACH]

Medical care is very costly all over the world so you Kenyans are being a tad unrealistic here. If you want better government services then be ready to pay more taxes! But you can’t have low taxes and excellent health care. On top of paying 56% of my salary in federal, state and local taxes, I pony up $110 per month with a $3000 deductible for each outpatient and inpatient visit before (thankfully) unlimited insurance cover kicks in.

NHIF sio shida, na si kuwatetea…it’s this culture of stealing that most Kenyans have, I mean what did we expect. A good product is put up, and the first thing people do is to milk it dry. Fraud raised claims from 1.3b a month to 4b in 5 months. Hospitals in collusion with card holders caused this.add to some crooks from NHIF itself who ensured claims passed through without question. Mtu kwa system anakula MRI 16 in one month.unapigiwa simu for follow up your told ulikua theatre and your card charged upto 300k. Hospitals shamelessly bringing claims of upto 120m per month yet they know very well 80%of these are fraud. Angalia Sasa vyenye kına German cancer centre na Texas cancer centre wamejimulika,they had such great potential.By centralizing pretty authorizations to HQ alone has saved the organization over 800m. Now hospitals have been given new contracts. Uniform pricing, hakuna kubembeleza. .take it or get delisted.