Nissan and Mazda.

Watched a news feature on NHK World (courtesy of FTA of course). Seems there are exciting developments in the motoring world as demonstrated by Nissan and Mazda.

[SIZE=7][COLOR=rgb(85, 57, 130)]Nissan’s new e-Power drivetrain lets you drive further on electric power without stopping to charge[/SIZE]

Nissan has unveiled details of its new e-Power drivetrain which will be fitted to the Nissan Note. The e-Power drivetrain combines a high-output battery to power the wheels, with a small gasoline engine that recharges it when necessary. The system helps to eliminate the need to recharge and plug in when you get home or are out on the road as instead you’ll be able to fill up at a fuel station to power the regular engine.

It differs from other hybrid cars in that others have an electric motor and an engine, but the engine is used to power the wheels at high speeds or when the battery level is low.

Nissan has also been able to produce a battery with more power than the one in the Leaf, but smaller in size, something it says the automotive industry as a whole has been trying to figure out for some time.

Because it’s just the electric motor that drives the wheels, power is delivered instantly and it gives out zero emissions. And as the engine is only occasionally used to recharge the battery, it can match conventional hybrid cars when it comes to fuel efficiency.

https://cdn.pocket-lint.com/r/s/970x/assets/images/139357-cars-news-nissan-s-new-e-power-drivetrain-lets-you-drive-further-on-electric-power-without-stopping-to-charge-image1-9HlXyTAxfF.jpg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPSRE9e06wg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-wNWM9rwoY

https://newsroom.nissan-europe.com/uk/en-gb/media/pressreleases/426159938/nissan-introduces-new-electric-motor-drivetrain-e-power

http://europe.autonews.com/article/20180614/ANE/180619851/nissan-eyes-europe-for-epower-drivetrain

[SIZE=7][COLOR=rgb(65, 168, 95)]With Skyactiv-X, Mazda Seeks to Keep the Internal Combustion Flame Burning.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]Mazda’s Skyactiv-X engine makes use of an extremely high compression ratio and a ridiculously lean air-to-fuel mix to combust gasoline under pressure like a diesel engine does. This is called homogeneous charge compression ignition (HCCI). The gearheads and tuners out there will know HCCI by a different name: knock.[/SIZE]

Under most conditions, knock is undesirable in gasoline engines because it tends to happen at the wrong point in piston’s travel, causing very bad things to happen to the engine’s reciprocating parts. What’s more, it’s notoriously hard to tune engines for HCCI because the timing of the knock is so unpredictable and heavily dependent on a variety of factors ranging from temperature, engine speed humidity, etc. However, Mazda’s system uses extremely precise application of fuel via direct injection, a swirling effect with the air in the cylinder and a perfectly timed spark to kick off the HCCI at exactly the right moment.

Basically, what Mazda has done is tune the engine’s compression to operate at just below the point where HCCI would occur. Then, at precisely the right moment, a spark plug kicks. The resulting explosion increases the heat and pressure in the cylinder just enough to cause HCCI to occur throughout the rest of the cylinder. Mazda calls this Spark Controlled Compression Ignition (SPCCI), basically using that perfectly timed knock to its advantage. The result is a faster, more complete burn of the gasoline throughout the cylinder.

https://c-7npsfqifvt34x24dofu5x2edctjtubujdx2edpn.g00.cnet.com/g00/3_c-7x78x78x78.dofu.dpn_/c-7NPSFQIFVT34x24iuuqtx3ax2fx2fdofu5.dctjtubujd.dpnx2fjnhx2fdw4DSMu9HRtUTtcF9EXXgNdjngtx3dx2f047y638x2f3129x2f13x2f12x2fd8277928-0ggd-52ee-b819-b5gd73c36821x2fnbaeb-tlzbdujw-y-qspupuzqf-esjwf-236439.kqhx3fj21d.nbslx3djnbhf_$/$/$/$/$/$/$/$/$

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PT2Mt-tkJ_4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xUdast_RrQ

http://www2.mazda.com/en/next-generation/technology/

https://www.topgear.com/car-news/future-tech/whats-mazdas-clever-new-skyactiv-x-engine-drive

umepotea almost created a thread to smoke you out of your hiding spot

I’ll be back to this after the world cup.

Hehehe…niko area maze. Maasaa ndiyo machache.

good you are well .

wapi thread ya fra vs bel

Sijaiona

How about using English nanii, motogari ni poa ama issa throw?

Luther habari, I will revisit

HCCI and SPCCI. Something new I learnt today. Its not the normal electric car we are still skeptical about. Its not the hybrid car we have now accepted as superior than petrol cars. Its back to the old diesel electric but perfected to precision. Cleaner, better performance and cheaper. Good night.

Na kumbe hizi electric cars huwa zatumia cellphone-like batteries on stilts?!!!

@Luther12 Speaking of fta.Naeza pata.

National geographic zote
Nat geo wild zote
Animal planet zote
Bbc zote
Itv zote
Sky network zote
Discovery channels zote
History channels zote
Mtv zote.
Bein/bt sports zote
Disney zote
Nickelodeon zote

Kama vile napata kwa iptv.

Yule Jamaa wa gif ya ubelgiji, simwoni kaka :smiley:

Sky-activ is ingenious, reducing consumption without introducing new technology. Reducing compression by creating a grey area between intake and compression in order to reduce the compression ratio is brilliant but how the engine survives the tweaking and tinkering by kinyanjui wa Grogon remains to be seen. For those asking how this is done, compression starts when the intake valve is still open hence releasing some of the compressed air to reduce the compression ratio to 12:1.

Huwezi. Even on pay platforms you cannot get all this from one provider. I advise to stick with iptv.

Hapo sawa.

Lithium ion (Li-ion) is still the ultimate in cell technology with its drawbacks like limited capacity and lengthy charge time. Still in the stone age, it is the cripling factor in advances on the electric car. Nikola Tesla( my all time favorite genius) estate was persuaded to release eighty (, 80) patents to move the research forward.

Are you sure about hio bit ya Nikola?

Soma hapa https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.forbes.com/sites/briansolomon/2014/06/12/tesla-goes-open-source-elon-musk-releases-patents-to-good-faith-use/amp/

Maybe the issue is whether Tesla Motors is related to Nikola. I will stand advised