No hating but.......

…this Obama guy is never mindful of Kenya and Kenyans. He toured other African countries without conferences to attend but on his own free will…hata TZ. But when it comes to Kenya,there has to be a conference for him to have a reason to attend. I wish he came when there was no conference but as I see it…the guy is being forced by guilty conscious because his term is almost over.

What obligation does he have to attend? His kenyan roots are tainted thanks to his asshole father.he probably despises kenya.

Kwani when akina Kirubi were invited to Tanzania to the conference n he declined hiyo haikuwa conference? N how about kina Mutunga to Senegal?

Sioni haja ya kujishughulisha sana.

who cares!!

What if you look at it from a different angle. That he’s using the conference as a reason to visit Kenya. There are always two sides to a coin.

But to all fairness how can the US issue a travel advisory on the same month their president is coming huku…warning of possible attacks on the same hotels that their security staff will be staying in…and here i was planning a road expedition to Lamu at the end of the month…saa sijui itakuwaje because the closer his he is to coming ndio the hawa “terrorizers” and the Gvt will be intensifying their competition to prove who has the bigger Phallus, who can piss further etc etc…
Sitaki kuwa statistic…

who has even gone to Lamu by road…i’m the telling you the road after Malindi is a 4*4 fantasy relatively smooth murram road…very little traffic for Km’s on you can push it flat out

Can i give you company madam?

This one im doing solo…i’m being told now that ati since last year that the police have ordered that all vehicles going from Malindi to Lamu must be in a convey under police escort…mambo gani hii

How come you didn’t know that?? There have been two ambushes this past two weeks on that road, the first one the convoy managed to turn back and the second one vihecle hit an IED and a petrol bomb was hurled at it, 5 died.

The last time i checked Lamu related news it was during the anniversary attack on the military camp…and the KDF wakasema all the militants had been killed and the others who were in a larger group have been either bombed out in the forests na wengine chased back to somalia…and things were now ok and the curfew lifted…and kenyans urged to go on holiday since our gallant forces have secured the region

www.nation.co.ke/news/Five-die-as-lorry-hits-landmine/-/1056/2787998/-/ntmay/-/index.html

www.mobile.nation.co.ke/news/How-police-foiled-Lamu-bus-attack/-/1950946/2780468/-/format/xhtml/-/gvjualz/-/index.html

Ukifika Mambrui…nishtue.

sawa kabisa

Sortly after Baks opened it, it used to be the smoothest piece of tarmac I ever saw from Malindi all the way to the Lamu turn-off and onward, for a distance of about 150-200kms. That is until overloaded trucks headed to upcountry began using it to avoid the weighbridges at Mariakani, Mlolongo and Ruiru.

Since the terror attacks last year, all vehicles MUST now travel in a convoy from Garsen.

I gave up holidaying at the coast as the I had the feeling that the locals are no longer friendly to visitors and are sort of sympathetic to alshabab. nowadays I’d rather go to naivasha, laikipia, nanyuki or if more adventurous go to Njinja or Tz via Namanga or Holili.

Used that road about 3 years back.good times.was planning a rematch lakini I don’t want the last words I hear to be Allah Akbar.such a shame though lamu is even more beautiful than malindi

Perhaps right now their only salvation lies in the successful implementation of the LAPSSET project(s).

But people from that region must also wake up and not view all government projects with suspicion and take up opportunities presented by such development initiatives. Other regions would kill for such massive direct investments

Until you’ve lived there or interacted with them for a while you’ll probably not fully understand the apathy with which they view some of these projects.

Firstly, the politics. The ‘wabara vs. coastals’ narrative is all too familiar in our national psyche, often advanced by their own political leaders. A leadership problem.

Secondly is the issue of ‘marginalization’ (oh yes, that one!). A first-time visitor in rural Garsen, Lamu and surrounding areas would be hard-pressed to point out any recent gov’t activity save for the token police presence and local administrators. To the locals, the gov’t is this remote, armor house body whose (reason for) existence they cannot fathom. Naturally, they’ll view the same with suspicion.

Thirdly, some of these places are quite remote and far off. Isipokuwa for hapless civil servants who mostly have no choice over their postings, not many other Kenyans ever go there. In fact I dare say that for most the only time they get to hear of some of these places is during the weather forecast news (and the now ubiquitous security scares). As a result, these communities are geographically isolated and keep to themselves, becoming very suspicious of people from ‘outside’ however well intentioned they are. Because of this isolation, these guys have stuck to some outdated cultural practices some of which have no place in modern world (e.g child marriages - can you imagine marrying off your daughter/sister at 12?) and their community is that much poorer because of this.

Again because of this remoteness, majority of the people who regularly go there tend to be wazungu tourists, some of questionable morals - reason why homosexual prostitution and abuse of hard drugs (recall Mzee Baskuti?) is such a big issue/problem in places like Lamu.

With respect to civil servants, don’t forget too the long held practice of gov’t and quasi-gov’tal bodies mostly posting staff with disciplinary cases to hardship areas as some sort of punishment. As a result, locals view people posted there as some sort of ‘rejects’ from the rest of Kenya and this does not win the gov’t any favors and goodwill from the locals.