Northlands City - Uhuru orders transport minister to prioritise allocation of funds for Eastern Bypass extension

According to information obtained exclusively by the Indian Ocean Newsletter, President Uhuru Kenyatta is bringing pressure to bear on the government to ensure a return on his family’s property investments.

His family having invested in the construction of Northlands City, a mixed-use development on a 11,800-acre plot budgeted at Sh 500 Billion ($5 billion), the president recently ordered the transport minister James Macharia to prioritise the allocation of funds for the extension of the Nairobi Eastern Bypass according to the publication.
https://kenyanwallstreet.com/president-kenyatta-orders-transport-minister-to-prioritise-allocation-of-funds-for-eastern-bypass-extension

That road needs to be expanded to six lanes like yesterday.

About time

The author wanted to portray the expansion in a bad light but ended up with an egg.
Northlands or no Northlands, that road needs to be expanded asap for the collective sanity of hundreds of thousands of Nairobians and upcountry folks heading to the airport.

Boss, this article is just one of the many conspiracy theories on shoshomedia.

First eastern bypass needs dualing immediately since the property boom there has made traffic congestion on that single carriageway to be worse by the day. Both Eastern and Northern bypass are due for dualing. Anyway anyone who hasn’t used that road or doesn’t know the place will fall for such propaganda.

Northland’s is a 50 years projects valued at 500 billion when completed. However that bit is left out to create fake news. Basically their kids we see it completed not their parents. 500 billion for 50 years is a 10 billion annual investment. The gullible are being led to believe 500 billion is in a account somewhere awaiting to invest. Lastly Northland’s annual 10 billion investment will be a careful juggle of equity investment, unit sales and loans. It will take careful planning and execution. One thing for sure is that it is a long term 5 decades investment, so forget about quick return of investment. Its a plan for generational wealth to their younger family generation for the future not short term gains.

Unfortunately in Kenya the most abused word is “billion” it has been downgraded to something small. A billion is a lot of money just to throw the word around like its pocket change.

spear asante for expounding on this and hopefully someone in the know will challenge the Newsletter’s publisher on their claims. They either got conned or someone is being cheeky. Kenyans don’t read these publications (Indian Ocean, Africa Confidential) so its likely someone has an agenda which could be to muddy the waters for the bypass when it comes to external funding.

Today I concur with mkuki.
That road is a mess most evenings and weekends and Northlands or not it needs urgent expansion. Probably the planners never anticipated the kind of growth that it opened up.

I use the road daily and with Northlands or no Northlands, dualling is inevitable

That road at most requires service lanes, but not dualing :slight_smile:

Then there’s need for higher capacity public transport

Hii mambo ya dualling to cater for proboxes and vitz isn’t sustainable.

Some of us at mashinani who never step on those vanity dual roads also foot the bill, therefore fundamentals of economic evaluation must be reinstated. We we are aware tumbilee run on autopilot mode and economic value of new projects has never been priority.

Hehe @obienga I noticed you switched sides on your own argument very fast once you saw how the comments were going.

Be that as it may do you still despise this northlands project wholeheartedly? Sometime back we had that argument where I told you to mind your own business.

Today I’m just curious to ask who will live in those houses? Vile Uhuru ameponda economy who will inhabit this paradise of his? That question was partly answered this past weekend. The oligarchs of Kenya will live in those houses or just speculate.

I noticed the divide between the haves and have nots in Kenya is just getting bigger. This was proven recently by the number of rich Kenyans who could afford to spend a million bob just to watch a wedding on a tv screen while their fellow majority Kenyans are being washed away by floods. The sheer selfishness and wanton waste on display on a day when hundreds of families slept outside questions our morality as Kenyans. But alas even our media were in on it oohing and aahing as the grandson of our colonial master bid goodbye to bachelorhood.

One man builds superb castles while the vast majority of the citizens he leads can only dream of occupying such magnificent homes and the man is absolutely unconcerned nor does he lose an ounce of sleep over it. Kenyans who can afford to squander good money on nonsense while their brethren sleep in tents.

And people are busy asking about nys lost billions and yet… just a stones throw away there’s a senior govt. billionaire official building a billion dollar estate…

Ama ni Ruto pekee huiba?!

Patco, are you so slow that you fail to comprehend the post? My points as made earlier still stand.

Aki ya nani,kwa nini mungu akipea wengine akili akawekea wewe uji…lakini kama wewe ni mtu wa route 11 hiyo jam hakuna

defend your argument sio ukiambiwa na spear una back down kama puppy. si thread ni yako? Sasa unataka kukana thread yako?!

Si ni wewe umeleta hizo fake news?

that publication is the go to source for all PE news on the eastern seaboard. They also have a serious paygate, how they could be duped I don’t know. It is like finding corridors of justice muchene in wall street journal. But I also note you quoted a secondary source which quoted original source so maybe fake news came in that way.

Tells us why , I as a tax payer from a remote corner in Nyahuru should fund a road project that will only raise property value in kiambu county ?
It doesn’t make sense to me that an acre of land is costing, let’s say ksh 100k, and after construction of a public funded road, the same acres goes for a cool ksh1 million. Courtesy of a road built by the tax payers.
In your own opinion, is the G.o.K obligated to curb these.

Rudi shule or beta yet your paps should ask for refund for the money he has spent on your education.
Economics 101, enough said.

Do you have any thoughts of your own apart from economics 101, as to why I should pay an extra ksh900k, solely because public infrastructure, that every Kenyan taxpayer funded is passing in near your property ?
In some jurisdictions, the same infrastructure passes near you, and your property value goes down.

That is one way of looking at the whole issue,unfortunately the least important amongst the many advantages that will come with the dualling of the road.Land in Kiambu is already hyped with the current road infrastructure.
Think about the flower farmers and other farmers,decongesting the already overpopulated areas in Nairobi ,easing traffic jam…

I as a taxpayer also funded the building of Isiolo-Moyale road, a road that has led to a business boom in the towns it passes through. I’ll probably never use that road but it will serve other Kenyans. If properties appreciate in value in those areas good for them.