Now Comes Urithi Housing Co-operative Scandal..

By PETER MBURU

Urithi, a housing co-operative that has marketed itself as the best bet for those who cannot afford mortgages, has sold air to unsuspecting Kenyans, killing their dreams of becoming homeowners.

In yet another property scandal, more than 32,000 members of the co-operative are counting their losses. Those who had taken bank loans to finance their purchases are dealing with double losses, given that they have nothing to show for the money.

The losses run into billions of shillings, Urithi having run out of lies to feed its investors. Some have waited for more than eight years, and are coming to terms with the fact that they have lost their investment.

Its directors, who live large and drive posh cars, ride roughshod over investors and have no time even for direct media inquiries, preferring to use police to silence protesters rather than face their customers and offer solutions.

DELIVERABLES

Urithi chairman, Samuel Maina, in the most recent status update, dated June 2, said the co-operative had profiled every project to give clear timelines and deliverables.

“Over 30 land projects are in good progress and their title deeds shall be delivered in a few months. We have set up a robust communication desk to contact each of the members based on their obligations or payment status,” he said.

Mr Maina said those who understand the Urithi socio-economic model, understand that “each project is independently based on its timelines, region or structure”.

“Each should be addressed as such, without mixing issues,” he added. Urithi is accused of collecting money from members to buy land, which it used as collateral for loans. Some of the land is now facing auction.

Potential investors were drawn to the projects by enticing adverts, well-planned trips to view the land, with mega ground breaking ceremonies and artistic impressions of what their future homes would look like.

Some were taken to Malindi more than five years ago, accommodated in a posh hotel and then driven 20 kilometers to be shown the land that they were buying.

Urithi then asked for fencing and title processing money, but after being paid, the sales agents disappeared and blocked customers’ calls.

PAYMENT SCHEDULES

The promise was that they would own the homes within a relatively short time and the payment schedules only sweetened the deal.

So they trooped in their thousands to join the co-operative. Now they are in tears as they realize that they were duped into buying air. Most agents who sold properties on behalf of the co-operative have also vanished.

The clients are now lining up at the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) to lodge complaints.

For more than two weeks, the Nation has tried to get the company and its agents to talk. Last Friday, Chairman Maina did not pick our calls. But he sent a text message: “Hello, thanks for inquiring. I will call you once I am free to talk.” He has not communicated.

We asked him what had led to the flood of complaints from distressed members, and what had caused the latest problems.

[ATTACH=full]312249[/ATTACH]

From left: Urithi Housing Cooperative members Benear Shapaya, Simon Gathai and Susan Nyaga

Simon Gathai

When Mr Simon Gathai invested Sh1.95 million on land within the Nairobi metropolitan, he knew that was what he wanted. Even though it was covered with coffee bushes, the sales talk that accompanied the artistic impressions of what the estate would look like when completed were enough to convince him to buy it.

“I was told that roads would be constructed, a perimeter wall and common areas for residents,” he told the Nation. He took a bank loan to pay the entire Sh1.95 million for an eighth of an acre plot at Ruiru Ridges in April, 2018.

After paying, Mr Gathai knew it was just a matter of time before he would have land to build his home.

“But ever since, we are still waiting for our titles. They have just been telling us to wait. The whole project seems to be a sham,” offers a disappointed Mr Gathai.

“I have tried approaching the management to be shown my plot so that I can uproot the coffee bushes and develop it but I have not been successful,” he adds.

STATUS MEETINGS

He says the co-operative has been reluctant to call status meetings, fearing members will know each other and mobilise themselves, which would work against its interests.

Meanwhile, Mr Gathai continues to service the loan he took to pay for the land, which pains him.

Benear Shapaya

In 2016, Mr Benear Shapaya attended a ground-breaking ceremony for the co-operative’s housing projects. He was trying to weigh his options on where to invest, especially in property.

After the sumptuous meal and flowery speeches on how the co-operative would walk with members to see them own their own homes, Mr Shapaya decided to invest in one of their projects.

In August that year, he secured a Sh1 million bank loan, which he used to book a two-bedroom unit in Joska-OTG Phase 2. The property’s full cost was Sh1.6 million.

He was promised that the project would be completed in two years, and so he proceeded to pay monthly installments. However, as months turned into years, there was nothing to show for his money.

“I don’t even know where the property I bought is. I have tried finding out from Urithi offices but nobody seems to know. It seems I paid money for a project that does not exist,” he says.

When he saw things were not turning out as he expected, in May last year, he wrote to the co-operative, saying he wanted to withdraw his membership and seek reimbursement of the money he paid.

“That was after I made my last payment and went on the ground, only to find there was nothing to show for the money I had paid. I realized we had been duped,” he told the Nation. He had invested Sh1.4 million and had completed servicing the Sh1 million loan.

‘They do not seem to be interested in finishing the project. Whenever they say they are doing something, it’s just some cosmetic kind of thing,” he says.

He now wants his money refunded after realizing it was not a genuine deal.

Jane Maina

What motivated Jane Maina to join Urithi was the desire to own a home, and the fact that she worked in Mombasa and did not have the time to supervise the construction of a house. She considered buying housing an easier option.

In 2016, she joined the co-operative’s OTG-Joska and Juja-Gem projects, where she thought she hoped to own three houses. By the end of 2017, she had completed payments for the OTG project, which cost Sh1.6 million.

During the Annual General Meeting AGM in 2018, Ms Maina says, Urithi Chairman Maina promised members of the project that all the units would be completed by November that year and their houses would be handed to them. That has not happened to date.

Ms Main has paid Urithi Sh4.37 million. She regrets having sold a plot on Thika Road to invest in the project.

Susan Nyaga

Before Susan Nyaga’s husband died, they decided to acquire a house to avoid paying rent. And she came across the Urithi adverts in late 2016. Since her husband was working in Somalia, she secured a Sh1 million bank loan for the down payment. She would pay the remaining Sh600,000 in installments.

Unfortunately, she lost her husband in January 2017 when she was still struggling to settle the balance, as well as service the loan.

“At the time, I was under a lot of stress, having lost my husband. But the co-operative kept asking me to complete my payments while the bank was pushing me to service their loan,” she says.

So she took another bank loan to repay the first one and pay Urithi what she still owed.

All the while the co-op promises that the houses would be handed over to the owners by March 2017. But March came and went, without any communication from Urithi.

In April, she visited the site and found out what was happening. It was then that she realized, to her shock, that the house she had been told was almost complete did not even exist.

Meanwhile, the bank from which she had taken the second loan was on her neck. She sold a car and a plot to repay the bank.

Wacha wajinga wakamuliwe. Nowadays I don’t pity idiots wakikamuliwa na off-plan homes. Kenya has no shortage of idiots if you can afford a TV advert and you are a good storyteller. Isn’t it obvious by now that developers who con people never face justice or rather buy their way out? Why would you take that risk in a country where justice is applied selectively?

Give me your money, and I will decide whether to build your house or not. If I decide not to, you won’t do anything about it. That’s the deal with developers selling off-plan houses in Kenya.

Now where to hide.

Almost fell for this trap long time ago. Thank God sikujiingiza. Ningekuwa nalilia kwa choo saa hii. What i have decided is not to buy another piece of land. I will invest into stocks and thats it. Can’t keep up with the evolving new scams everyday

Years back when urithi started,waliadvertise manyumba hadi nikaenda na mama watoto kuingalia. Kufika tukapata ni model houses,the real ones were yet to come. Tukaonyeshwa map,tukachagua lokeshen and it was all honkey dory. I was asked to pay a ten percent downpayment of 350 and my pigsty will be ready give or take a year. Saa hio yote hakuna kitu inakaa kuendelea,anyway,nikalipa na nikatuliza.

Siku moja at six months nikapiga lap hapo kuenda kucheki mradi,nafika nakuka ni kama watu waliingia kaya bombo. Nikauliza watchie rieng inaendaje akanishow nisijali,fom bado iko. Sikujali,nikarudi mtaani.Ffwd,one year mimi huyo kwa kiwanja then kwa ofisi,hakuna mjengo yoyote.Excuse zilikam mbio mbio ilibidi nijitoe kwa hio hesabu,niliitisha pesa yangu but walikata 10k. Hio watu ni wezi

Wow, dude… At least you reduced your loses.

Hehehe maisha taaamu
Agikuyu at their best

Almost bought an offplan 5yrs ago near where I am building currently in the exact same way:D:D:D. Can’t blame those duped dudes. My wife alikataa hiyo plan kabisa, had to back down tukanunua shamba instead. Saa zingine 2nd opinion ni important

Hii bonobo attitude ya it’s not my problem is why everything is so damn expensive in Kenya. If people are taking loans and being scammed best believe someone will pay that money back. Part of the reason for high interest rates n fees.

Shineyes tutawaonya Mara ngapi. ! No shortcuts…but no worries… Jah thunder Hafi locate those Babylonians.

If you know that real estate scammers always get away clean, you would have to be retarded to pay for offplan projects. The law does not protect you. I cannot save you from your stupidity so endeleeni kupea cons pesa yenyu halafu mnalia serikali saidia.

We all collectively as a family “ntsk” at these housing plan adverts whenever they come on tv.

DO NOT buy this off plan nonsense…get your money, look for a piece of land/apartment, verify documents, do all due dilligence before you part with your money…it does not guarantee you will not be conned but significantly reduce the risk…It is funny people would rather be lazy and get conned

Noma…but kweli

Watu ni wajinga Sana hii Kenya. Why can’t you have the patience to buy land, find a plan of the house you want to build, pay a proffesional some little cash to do a BQ, start buying materials polepole and finally find a trusted fundi to build your house at an affordable price?

We are lazy consumers who like ready-made stuff. The scammers already know it and are thriving on our ignorance.

Ignorance is the greatest undoing for most people.

Wanted to buy some land in Nax via these guys…but sth told me to hold me horses, and that was just after the Gakuyo Estate fraud. I have always felt something isn’t right with these real estate agencies. Now the chickens are coming home to roost

Fools and their money are soon parted