NTSA, Accidents, SGR et al

Has there been a year we’ve had worse accidents over the festive season? My bet is that there isn’t. There’s one thing that nobody is talking about and that is road capacity. If you were on the highway to western as from 20th Dec, you’ll agree with me that it was quite frustrating being unable to overtake coz the oncoming traffic is like a train. Hakuna mwanya. That means you move at the speed of the slowest(Ferkin canters!). It’s no wonder drivers get impatient and try to overtake at the earliest half opportunity. What i’m i driving at? The A104 needs to be upgraded to a dual carriage. Now that the American company is dualing the Msa-Nrb highway, the govt should also seek funding for Nrb- Malaba highway. In fact now that @spear confirmed SGR haiendi the Naks- Eldy-Malaba route, this MUST be a priority. NTSA, with all their checks, wont be able to curtail drivers’ impatience when a column of vehicles stretches from Naivasha junction to the dual carriage at Limuru. It’s about time.

Halafu those shiny eyes owning old canters that ferry cabbages from kinungi to githu, toeni hizo takataka from the highway. Tafuteni vichorochoro ama murudi hadi naivasha kisha muende na mahi mahiu. Those contraptions move at 10km/h and hold up long column of vehicles even during kawaida days. As for the night travel, hio kitu ilitoa 75% of vehicles on the A104 at night. Whereas i’d usually do upwards of 6hrs from eldy, last night it was exactly 4, the numerous police and NTSA roadblocks(very thorough BTW) not withstanding. Today i know the road will be hectic. If you want comfort, speed and convenience, kuja usiku. Asande

Must you make this thread tribal?

:confused::confused::confused: huh?

These highways of death.
I no longer enjoy driving long distance like I used to a few years back.It always fills me with apprehension any time I have to.

But we still need to fix the drivers’ brains.

Very hard. Ikiwa Thika rd with its three lanes at Natives but somehow a driver anaona haimtoshi anaruka barrier and joins the other side?

Ndio tunafikiri kutoka,kichwa msito.

Nathani biggest cause ya accidents ni indiscipline ya bus/transport companies. Driver anatoka Nrb anapeleka gari kisumu mchana alafu juu kuna watu anaambiwa alale 1hr arudi nairobi usiku.
Kitu kama easy coach dere ni wawili, wakwanza akifika nakuru mwingine amalizie hadi kisumu. Basi ikifika asubuhi parking hadi jioni;mumeskia accidents ngapi za easy coach??

Kwani ilikua non-stop? If possible kujeni usiku. Jam imeanzia maili tisa

Nairobi - kisumu is a very short distance to have two drivers for a vehicle that will wait till the next evening to make a return trip

Just PR stunts from NTSA after the Migaa accident…That’s how we operate as a country, for example Nairobi County council is waiting for the next building to collapse and kill Kenyans before they roll up their sleeves and start the bulldozer engines…It’s all calm now.

Nairobi to Mau Summit will get a new tolled, dualled private road. The award will be this year 2018. However I forsee it been extended by a further two branches. One extending to Eldoret up to it bypass which is under construction and another to Kericho bypass also under construction.
[ATTACH=full]148211[/ATTACH]

Enyewe those old canters are a pain bro!! mlolongo kama 1km. Aaaargh!!!

so true. easy coach mtu hulipa kitu 500/= more but you kinda ‘assured’ precautions have been put in place at least

Toll? Hatulipi.

I agree. Right now on our roads, cops are busy collecting 50/= from overloaded mats. They don’t care how many people have died. On sunday along Thika Garissa highway pale kwaheri kuna roadblock iko hapo, I was watching a lady cop shamelessly taking money and less that 2 kms is where the Kinatwa mat killed 25 people. Hawa watu hawana utu kabisaaaaa.

1km? Festive season inafika hata 10. It’s coz of them i sometimes decide to use Mai mahiu. Watu wanaogopa trela bure. Very easy to overtake trailers on a convoy than several small cars that are bumper to bumper

true.

most drivers cannot even grasp the importance of the basic rule of “keep left unless overtaking”. unapata slow vehicles scattered all over the lanes, seriously disrupting traffic flow

The government should also weed out some of these driving schools because they are full of corruption.

Hapo Salama. I live somewhere there kuna siku nilikaa kwa gari nikiwaangalia tu nilijionea mengi