NYS Buses

The government’s role is oversight and administration. Government should leave business to business-people. The government is erring by participating directly in the transport business and competing directly with private investors.

We haukupanda nyayo bus ukienda shule ndio maana hii machungu

When business people fail then governments have to step in. Do you own a matatu by any chance?

I dont. Matatus have not failed. In fact, there is an oversupply of matatus on most routes.

Kwa hivyo pilipili usiyoila yakuwashia nini.

Before matatu madness there was Kenya Bus service and Nyayo bus. Bus station was a real bus station and each estate has a terminus. Wacha serekali irudishe busi zao barabarani. to hell with the cartels.

It will be noisy, messy and have casualties ~Bwana ya Wacheke

The government is not in it for profit, taxpayers deserve to see a return on the taxes they pay particularly when private cartels are extorting and exploiting the poorest of taxpayers in times of hardship. If the business people (cartels) cannot act as responsible and ethical citizens towards their fellow citizens then they will reap what they sow.

Govt is doing the right thing, these cartels in matatu business have been harassing the wananchi for a long time.
-How does a little rain cause bus fares to be hiked by almost double?
-Why are fares in a pimped matatu higher than the ordinary ones and yet they stop at the same stage?
And then you seriously expect us to defend these matatu goons.

The fare payable to NYS is more of a facilitation fee for operations and maintainance of the buses,… actually NYS should venture more on business like county road construction, borehole drilling, buses for hire,…

And izi buses zinapandiwa wapi town?

This has led to the madness we now call public transport in kenya…wacha serikali isaidie

Uhuru erred big time by allowing importation of the 14 seater matatus.

Just like his dad allowed the matatu menace to thrive…

True I think they are into the biz.I have also noted matatu owners from central province feel too entitled.They are known to break any traffic rule that stand and have someone to call if arrested

On one hand it is a good thing, and the other bad. If the government had taken the time to straighten the transport industry, they wouldn’t have to re-introduce state run buses. Mungiki control and collect money on my route home, almost daily. Drivers are scared of them and there’s really nothing they can do. Traffic police watch but blind-side everything. They do nothing about it almost as though they’re in on it.
On the other hand, government has a bad rapport with managing these kinds of things; case and point the Nyayo Bus. So why should this time be any different? It will help but I don’t expect it to last. This is just another fiasco and plot for some other hungry/ corrupt bastard in government to embezzle from. I give it a few months, a year at best

The vast majority of the military spend their days confined in the barracks when engineering battalions could be practicing their skills through civil works projects. We do after all pay them salaries as taxpayers and pay for their equipment, why not make it a win-win situation?

A very bad mistake, the design has not changed much, they are effective maiming and killing traps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XdDrnngKGk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmixmEkfLu0