On Huawei, America just gave the World it's Sputnik Moment

The world is a global supply chain where different companies from different countries rely on each other especially in technology. Your Phone might be a Chinese or American or Korean brand made in China or India or Vietnam. The components inside might be a soc made in Taiwan designed in China, Korea, US, and Taiwan with instructions supplied from Britain … and many more components which are sourced from various countries. For US to ban Huawei who is currently the No 2 phone manufacturer in the world from trading with it’s own companies without any evidence signals to the world that they can do that to any company in the world.

With this, we expect to see more investment in open source technologies which are not reliant on the US in any way. A good example is the Risc-V computer architecture which even Huawei is an investor in. Even though it’s not yet mature enough to compete with ARM or Intel, more research and investment is being pumped into it. More universities are adopting it to teach their computer architecture classes instead of the fantasy ones used before. the fact that arm created a website to discredit it shows that the progress is good . In 1999 when India was at war with Pakistan, US shutdown their use of GPS at Kargil. This, in turn, made India to develop their own GPS http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/33254691 . Russia made GLONASS, China made Beidou while EU made Galileo.

The only downside is that More companies might create their own standards instead of the current open standards that we have leading to fragmentation in tech. Eg current Huawei phones don’t use MicroSD but Huawei’s own Nano sd cards which are the size of nano sims.

This trade war is stupid, manufacturing jobs will not go back to the US because of the huge costs of setting up plants and high labour wages. Products will be expensive and even if the costs of setting up have been recouped, how sure are you that product prices will go down? There is a reason as to why Trump gave companies trading with Huawei 3 more months to do so and also admitted that Huawei ban is for use in their Trade deal. If China was to retaliate by increasing taxes for western companies manufacturing there or limiting their access to the rare earth materials mined there making them to move to other countries like India, they will still face the same problems of setting up, also how easy will it be to get some materials in Vietnam as compared to Shenzen? The consumers are the ones who will suffer the costs

Good reading for non experts like myself

Americans might be currently feeling better about themselves but 5 years from now ,they will realize how short sighted their actions were .The Chinese are going to double down on investment on technologies that they currently rely on the West and build competence esp in chips and semi conductors .The Chinese have largely driven Western Japanese and Korean companies out of the consumer electronic and electricals market .Heck they’ve even driven them out of the hardware market ,computers, phones etc etc .What makes a Western fanboi think that Western companies will not be driven out of the semiconductor market ?

semiconductors take time but eventually you get there.

Haya tumesikia. mutuambie sasa vile Kenya itasolve shida zake na jinsi ya kufukuza ujinga nchini.

@patco kuja tetea your slave master.

elect good leaders. Hakuna any other solution

Hata Toyota waliambiwa their cars are a threat to National security.

Threat to National security is the new “they have weapons of Mass Destructions”

Eradicate corruption and good leaders will be available.

Corrupt citizens, corrupt leaders.

The one thing china can replicate is the american market, those guys love to spend and its a big market - they go into debt just to buy stuff, compare that to china where guys are experts at saving cash and one can see why china is really determined to get into the western markets, otherwise akibaki ati wanauzia tu akina safaricom 5g wataenda hasara.

Huawei is the biggest telecommunications equipment company in the world, was on track to overtake Samsung as the biggest mobile handset company this year all without the American Market. Not sure if you know what you are talking about

I find it funny when people get personal when discussing stuff, I just mentioned the american market is big, china has the technology america has the market for that technology, if you invest in technology you want a return on that investment.

Vietnam Will be the new China… wait and see

sure, companies especially western companies are after cheap labor that is easy to control, and they will set up shop wherever they can find that - china is quickly becoming an innovation center and moving away from the sweatshop setup, they are now making their own stuff to sell to others, lakini manufacturing and selling are two different prospects, only time will tell if they will be successful in the selling part.

The reality is that china is getting punished for decades of restrictive laws. China is used to making unilateral decisions that affect external companies but no-one has ever put them to the sword. One of the reasons Chinese companies cannot get adequate sympathy is because they have been doing what the US has done for a few decades now. Google apps cannot be used in china for example…not to mention the disregard for international patents. Wakule ujeuri wao!

Hii ni Uwongo and you know it. Why are Apple apps available in China? China has rules and if a company is not ready to comply with them they are free to leave. Apple complies with them and that’s why their services are available in China. Even Google was making a search engine that complies with China’s rules. Bing is available in China. Hollywood movies are editted to comply with Chinese rules since that’s their biggest market. You claim that Google is not available in China, so tell me, in which country did they make their latest phones? How comes Amazon is available in china?

You talk of Chinese companies disregarding international patents yet their devices are available worldwide, why has nobody sued them for that? Oppo Huawei were all available in US but no one sued them for violating any patent. Which patent did they violate?

Not happening any time soon. The cost of moving plants will be too steep. Meaning you will have more expensive devices while other Chinese manufacturers continue to sell on the cheap. By the time you recoup your investements, they will be the dominants in the market

Manufacturers are already there. Samsung is korean but its largest factories are in Vietnam…like 10 factories. It’s as if Samsung is Vietnamese. Actually as we speak right now. Vietnam is the new china

Samsung has never had a Chinese presence