On transubstantiation and the Miracle of Lanciano

For those who still doubt whether the Catholic Church is the True, Holy Church, research about transubstantiation and literally hundreds of other miracles witnessed by very devout Catholic Saints. The difference between miracles of the Catholic Church and those from other charismatic churches is that those deeply devout Catholics who have witnessed them were not actually looking for fame or money but these miracles came as a result of very severe penance on their part.

And, yes, for those still in doubt, the Catholic Church is the One, Holy, Apostolic Church and if you carry out investigations of many visions witnessed by many catholic saints, you will discover one common thread: The Church of Jesus Christ will end the way it began: united(all protestants just before the end of the world will revert back to Catholicism), Holy(Yes, there is too much corruption even in the Catholic Church but THAT doesn’t make the Church to be unholy the same way Judas never made the apostolic group to be unholy) and apostolic.

In fact, there are very many miracles from the Catholic Church that just proves its holy origin. Today somewhere, there are many catholic saints who live exclusively a life of penance and prayers. They experience miracles but unlike non Catholics, their miracles are secret affairs because they don’t want fame of one hour.

Read carefully the miracle of lanciano and how it has been proved by scientists:

The miracle of Lanciano

The miracle of Lanciano is the first, and many believe the greatest, Eucharistic Miracle of the Catholic Church. Keep in mind that strictly speaking a miracle is an extraordinary event produced directly by God or by His will and command through an agent, such as a saint. The miracle occurs in a religious context and is a clear sign of supernatural, divine intervention. Most importantly, the miracle arouses within the spectator or recipient a greater conviction of faith in God.

With this in mind, we now turn to the miracle in question which occurred in the 700s in the town of Lanciano, then known as Anxanum, an ancient Roman city, located southeast of Rome. There the monks of St. Basil had established a monastery under the patronage of St. Longinus, traditionally believed to be the centurion at the crucifixion who proclaimed, Truly, this was the Son of God (Mt 27:54) and pierced the side of our Lord with his lance (Jn 19:34).

One day, a certain monk was offering the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass. Although we do not know his identity, an ancient document described him as …versed in the sciences of the world but ignorant in that of God. Apparently, he had been plagued by doubts about transubstantiation: he agonized over whether the bread and wine changed substantially into the Body and Blood of our Lord at the words of consecration, and whether our Lord was truly present in the Holy Eucharist.

This time, when the monk pronounced the words of consecration, the host was miraculously changed into flesh and the wine into blood. The monk was awestruck. Weeping joyously, he regained his composure. He called the congregation around the altar and said, O fortunate witnesses, to whom the Blessed God, to confound my unbelief, has wished to reveal Himself visible to our eyes! Come, brethren, and marvel at our God, so close to us. Behold the Flesh and Blood of our Most Beloved Christ. Those who witnessed the miracle soon spread the news throughout the surrounding area.

Shortly after the occurrence, the Blood coagulated into five globules of different sizes, but the Flesh remained the same. The archbishop ordered an investigation. The testimony of witnesses was recorded. The Flesh and Blood appeared to be human flesh and blood. The archbishop sent a scale for the weighing of the globules: each individual globule weighed the same as the other individual ones (although different in size) or as all five together or as any other combination. Eventually, the Flesh and the globules of Blood were placed in a special ivory reliquary, but not hermetically sealed. Church authorities certified the miracle although the original document was lost some time in the 16th century.

Over the centuries, different religious orders have had custody of the Church and the relics: originally the Basilians until 1176, followed by the Benedictines until 1252, and since then by the Franciscans. In 1258, the Franciscans built a new Church under the patronage of St. Francis of Assisi to replace the decaying Church of St. Longinus. The relics to this day remain at this basilica under the care of the Franciscans.

Since the first basic investigation, the Church has permitted other studies on the relics. In 1574, Msgr. Rodrigues once again weighed the five globules in the presence of witnesses and arrived at the same conclusion. Remember though that eight centuries had passed and no visible sign of deterioration had taken place.

In 1713, the original ivory reliquary was replaced by one of silver and crystal. The Flesh is displayed in a monstrance just like the Sacred Host, and the globules of Blood are in a crystal chalice, which some believe is the actual chalice used by the monk for Mass.

The most thorough study occurred in 1970-71. Pope Paul VI permitted a series of scientific studies on the precious relics to verify their nature. Dr. Odoardo Linoli, professor of anatomy and pathological histology, chemistry and clinical microscopy, and head physician of the hospital of Arezzo, conducted the study. He was assisted by Dr. Ruggero Bertelli, professor emeritus of human anatomy at the University of Siena. The analyses were performed in accord with scientific standards and documented, and Dr. Bertelli independently corroborated Dr. Linolis findings. In 1981, using more advanced medical technology, Dr. Linoli conducted a second histological study; he not only confirmed the findings but also gathered new information.

The major findings from this research include the following: The Flesh, yellow-brown in color, has the structure of the myocardium (heart wall) and the endocardium, the membrane of fibrous-elastic tissue lining all the cardiac cavities. These have the same appearance as in the human heart. No traces of preservatives were found in the elements.

The blood was also of human origin with the type AB. Proteins in the clotted Blood were normally fractioned with the same percentage ratio as those found in the sero-proteic make-up of normal, fresh human blood. The blood contained these minerals: chlorides, phosphorus, magnesium, potassium, sodium, and calcium.

Professor Linoli asserted that the blood, if taken from a cadaver, would have deteriorated rapidly. Given that these samples were centuries old, free of preservatives, and never hermetically sealed in the reliquaries, they should have deteriorated. However, he underscored that the samples had the same properties as fresh human blood and flesh.

Moreover, the doctors both concluded that only the skill of a trained pathologist could have obtained such a sample, a tangential cut of the heart a round cut, thick on the outer edges and lessening gradually and uniformly to the central area.

The beauty of the miracle of Lanciano reflects the words our Lord spoke, I am the Bread of Life. He who feeds on my Flesh and drinks my Blood has life eternal and I will raise him up on the last day. For my Flesh is real food and my Blood real drink. The man who feeds on my Flesh and drinks my Blood remains in Me, and I in him (Jn 6:35, 54-56). We must, therefore, never forget that when we participate at Mass, we witness a miracle, and through the reception of Holy Communion we share in the divine life of our Savior.

Mbisha ni muhimu kwa hii hekaya

Ama angalao ka sketch

Hekaya Tamu sana, sasa nyama na blood ni raw materials za mtura. Walitengeneza ama?

Why aren’t these “miracles” captured on camera?

My exact question

Upus of the year

[ATTACH=full]7734[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]7736[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]7737[/ATTACH]

In the 700s, was there a Sony Cybershot camera? Lakini I’d like to witness one.

What about these modern day “miracles” used to nominate people for sainthood

Yeah. The miracles need to be recorded digitally. I like that we carry cameras everywhere nowadays. It will be easier to capture them.

http://dangerousintersection.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Cameras-v-miracles-copy.jpg

Exactly.

I have no reason to doubt the miracle.

For those talking of miracles used to declare saints today, they happened a long time ago. Even if you performed a miracle today, or a miracle is invoked through your name, the church doctrine requires a period of time before you are beatified.

And for TeamMbisha, eyewitness statements (first hand) are a standard set by the Vatican’s equivalent of our KEBS here, so no basis to doubt.