Only 10 Rwandans against Paul Kagame's third term, says lawmakers' report

Only 10 Rwandans against Paul Kagame’s third term, says lawmakers’ report

[I]Rwandan lawmakers found only 10 people in nationwide consultations who opposed possible constitutional changes to allow strongman Paul Kagame a third term in power, a report said Tuesday.

Lawmakers began a national tour last month to gather opinions after both houses of Parliament voted in support of constitutional change, backing a petition signed by millions of citizens.

Over 3.7 million people — over 60 percent of voters — signed the petition calling for a change to Article 101 of the Constitution, which limits the president to two terms, according to Rwandan media.

On Monday, lawmakers submitted their report from the consultations to Parliament.

“Of millions of Rwandans consulted by lawmakers on the need to amend Article 101 of the Constitution in the past few weeks, only 10 were against the idea,” the New Times newspaper reported Tuesday.
[/I]
NATIONAL REFERENDUM
[I]
Any change to the Constitution would require a vote in support by at least three-quarters of both parliamentary houses, followed by a national referendum.

Kagame, 57, has been at the helm of Rwandan politics since 1994, when an offensive by his Rwandan Patriotic Front (RPF) rebels put an end to a genocide by Hutu extremists that left an estimated 800,000 people dead, most of whom were Tutsis.

As minister of defence and then vice president, Kagame was widely seen as the power behind the throne even before he took the presidency in 2003, winning 95 percent of the vote.

He was re-elected in 2010 with a similarly resounding mandate.

The next elections are due in 2017.
[/I]
WIDER CONTROVERSY
[I]
From the trauma of genocide, he has been painted as a guarantor of stability and economic development, earning praise from donors — and his supporters say many in Rwanda view the prospect of his departure as a step into the unknown.

Critics say however that he has silenced the opposition and the media.

Kagame says the decision on a third term is for the “Rwandan people”.

The move comes amid a wider controversy in Africa over efforts by leaders to change constitutions in order to stay in office.

Neighbouring Burundi was plunged into turmoil in April when President Pierre Nkurunziza launched his successful bid for a third term in office, a move branded by opponents as unconstitutional and a violation of a peace deal that ended 13 years of civil war.[/I]

huku ni mo fire, I’m sure hao ten have been chosen just to show that the process wasn’t rigged with 100% of the people agreeing

hehehehehe, kweli this is Africa, even mad men/women did not oppose???

Hehehehe. And some people believe that? Kagame just learnt from his mentor, M7. They fought side by side for many years and he even served in the Ugandan military in the late 80’s and early 90’s.

ni vile hawataki kufinywa makei

Currently Rwandese are very suspicious of one another and they don’t even interact much. People talk in hush hush tones coz you cant tell who is a government agent and who is a Hutu militia spy. By 3pm every day in Kigali you can see soldiers patrolling the streets with automatic rifles as if they are waiting for some enemy.
Good thing is that there are no thugs, muggers or chokoras roaming the streets like in Nairobi.

Muggers,chokoraas and thugs would never dare to do what they do in Kenya in Kigali. But wako chini ya maji.

You could be right. I stayed there for two weeks and traveled from one end of the county to the other. (Kayonza to the East and Gisenye to the west) and didn’t see a single street family.
However I had this funny feeling that one day something very bad will explode and every one will go for each others throat. You could cut the Tension in the air with a knife.

Rwandans wana roho ngumu sana. When shit explodes it becomes nasty. The country has witnessed about three genocides in the last 70 years or so.

I noticed this too. Very emotionless and closed up.

But the ladies are hot!!!

true. huko ata kuuliza mtu tribe utajikuta muthaiga ya huko

I never understand why Africans butcher fellow Africans. Since i watched that Sierra Leone documentary, how i view fellow Africans has really changed. Sisi ata sio kama wanyama. If anything, ata Kenyans can butcher fellow Kenyans and amputate each other in a flash.

When you have been conditioned and brainwashed to believe another tribe is the source of your problems and that eliminating them will lead to your tribe prospering, believe me you will cut up other humans without as much as a second thought.

OK, let me ask. Does the Queen have a term limit? I here the kabish is doing a 100 soon? What about the British PM?

Oh crap I forgot. term limits are for the Americans and the damn ferk idiots in Africa!

(If anybody here knows where M7 and Kagame have got their countries from, please raise hands)

Swali tu, have you seen this yourself?

I really hate those Africans in ISIS. And those Africans who butchered 6 million Jews just 7o years ago. I hate those Africans who decimated the aborigines and the Native Americans. I hate those Africans who bombed Iraq and Libya and Syria and killed MILLIONS. I hate all Africans…

JUST GROW UP

Mbona unauliza mtu tribe yake in the first place? Ni topic za conversation umekosa?

Na ukienda nchi za overseas utapata ni black people of African origin (descendants of slaves) against Africans. Wakikutana hata saa zingine wanauana kama vile a black american stabbed a Kenyan lady and her toddler son to death. Me hujishika tu tama najiuliza mbona watu weusi wanachukiana na kijichukia hivo?

nashangaa pia note sijasema ni mimi calm yer tits tall boy

Wacha nikujibu tu juu wewe ni mzee usinicurse otherwise ningekulenga.

You are missing the point by a mile.