Our KDF in pictures

This week, Keeping Up With KDF

[B][U]

Item 1[/U][/B].

@123tokambio @jumabekavu @Potraits1 Jasiri amepewa nyahunyo

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/42/88/41/jasiri10.jpg

Item 2.

Kenya Navy is getting a bridge simulator. For those not in the know, the bridge of a ship is the room, or platform from which the ship can be commanded. When a ship is underway (going on a voyage), the bridge is manned by an officer of the watch, helped by an able seaman. During critical maneuvers, the captain of the ship will be on the bridge supported, perhaps, by an OOW as an extra set of hands, an able seaman on the wheel, and sometimes a naval pilot if required. (note, captain is a rank in traditional navies meaning one in charge of the ship but in the modern sense, some ships may be commanded by people of lesser ranks including lieutenant commanders, commanders. Since Kenya does not follow the traditional ranking system but uses the same ranks as land based forces, a captain rank may be in charge of a patrol boat while a colonel will be in charge of the larger ships, but whoeer is in charge, they’ll still be called captain.)

[I]NEW DELHI: ARI Simulation, a domestic firm, today said it has successfully completed the indigenous manufacturing of a suite of Warship Bridge Simulators for Kenyan Navy.

The company stated that it is now in the process of delivering the simulator suite to the Kenyan Navy fleet.

The suite comprises a large primary bridge, built entirely to DNV-GL Class A Standards and fully integrated with six additional Class B Bridges.

Specialised naval maneuvering operat …

Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/51633461.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst [/I]

Item 3.

The new ship is coming along nicely…

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/073dabbf-42b6-437f-9d54-158bc13becf3/462742140/OPV/milestone%20visit%20opv%20(4).JPG?mw=433&mh=325

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/bd60fa1f-9b26-48df-9efa-0914c5587fce/2006555895/OPV/milestone%20visit%20opv%20(2).JPG?mw=433&mh=325

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/b7b33802-b208-4554-94cc-366a6bed269f/851634418/OPV/milestone%20May%202016/OPV%20superstruck.jpg?mw=416&mh=555

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/903758a7-7c8b-4d29-8af8-d8f6011e8ee0/-2011335593/OPV/milestone%20May%202016/OPV%20Inspection%202.jpg?mw=416&mh=275

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/8755dda5-2dff-4b36-ad97-4562569279ff/1880281640/OPV/milestone%20May%202016/OPV%20Inspection%201.jpg?mw=415&mh=175

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/acefd705-e40a-4bdf-9cbf-9fada7a95958/-1204635467/OPV/milestone%20May%202016/OPV%20helideck.jpg?mw=414&mh=555

This is how it is supposed to look like when complete

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/2a899e7b-7cf2-4c85-8f62-40e935a0b2c2/-25414951/OPV/Web-large.jpg

Item 4.

Now, with parliament authorizing KN to undertake in shore patrol and enforcement, this is some confusing bit of info. Well, the Abnormal Police are supposed to undertake border protection duties, including in shore patrols, and they have the training to do so. ( @pamba njoo uwaeleze wananchi vile kunaendanga huko) Now, the owners of these new patrol boats are listed as Ministry of Fisheries. The same goes for that ship above. However, KN is better trained for these kinds of vessels. We will need some clearing up of these blurred lines.

http://www.jghmarine.dk/media/cf064933-556d-4970-9d10-72abc963fecf/1320690674/Alu%20Boats%20Kenya/IMG_1126.jpg

Overall details of the project:

Client: Ministry of Fisheries Development, Kenya

Commodity: 2 Alu Patrol Boats

Size: 12m length

Material: Marine grade aluminum

Engines/propulsion: 2 x 455 HP engines and water jet drives

Other: Together with the supply of the boats, JGH Marine will provide training courses for the crew. Boats when completed will be operated on Lake Victoria and Lake Turkana.

Item 5.

Meet and greet the Hueys

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey110.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey210.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey310.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey410.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey510.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey810.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey611.jpg

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/18/39/00/94/huey910.jpg

And before I forget juu sina mbisha…

Item 6.

Expect a new patrol boat in our waters. Not the one being built in Bangladesh, this one was a former Croatian navy vessel by the name Rade Koncar. Built as a missile boat, it is currently undergoing overhauling and upgrading. It may arrive next year. It will look something similar to this…

(Jumabekavu saa hizi ametumia arimis imesublime yote sasa ni kurarua ngozi)

http://www.shipspotting.com/photos/middle/8/5/3/1580358.jpg

13 Likes

[ATTACH=full]71932[/ATTACH]

I like, whats with the sudden interest in upgrading our naval assets. Kwani kuna Jirani anamea pembe?

Hehehehe…hawa watu wajengewe LA gym…kikiki

For a country with our interests and resources, (LAPPSET, oil and gas under the ocean, fisheries e.t.c) a strong naval presence must be stood up to deter potential terrorists and grabbers like somalia claiming some of the gas fields off Lamu

Uko na mbicha za clearance Diving Unit… I can do that work for free…

Units za Kenya Navy huwa zimefichwa. Nimetafuta mbisha sipati. Hata the reliable JTF-HOA website hawana

Kizungu ni mob but thank you, The KNS imewakilishwa!

Kasi msuri… Napenda sana

Oh, yah, and there’s another one in India but I can’t get adequate info on it

Hii picha umeidig wapi?

Bora tu, Kenya Navy isitumwe kwetu, wanishike 11pm …nikalishwe kwa lami na mateke

Like Kenya Army does

Somalia na TZ,zwametuoea sana:D

https://media.giphy.com/media/3hvmlYNsOTFWE/giphy.gif

Ye of bland mind, get creative. This sucks!

A lion doesn’t care about the opinion of a sheep

See?density galore

Sasa wewe unasumbua someone should return you to your home in mathare hospital umesahau kumeza dawa za multiple personality disorder.

Boss wangu, ile kitu nakwambia ni simple sana; wewe ni mkundu

Mkundu ya nyanyako ama? Wewe ni meffi kabisa