Owning a vehicle will be pretty Expensive

CS Munya: The proposal will be implemented from June 30. Next year, we will not have importation of vehicles above 1500cc older than 3 years. By 2021, we will not have importation of any used vehicles above 1500cc. If you need such a vehicle, you will buy a new one

Not really better offers will be from local car manufacturers

New vehicles are expensive. For instance, try checking the price of a 2018 Prado, then check a 2012. Ndio ujue while there will be good offers here, owning a vehicle will be pretty expensive

I will stay with uganda number plate and pay the fee

Hence better value for ones money.

Wataona hivyo waongeze fees

Let vehicle ownership be a preserve of the rich. Every Tom Dick and Harry owns a vehicle nowadays, and there is nothing in the history of niggerdom, more arrogant than a poor vehicle owner.

Waongeze kabisa ,I am tired of tududu twa 1500 cc tukini obstruct in my German machine f15 v8 machine

According to the traffic act you can only renew for a period of one year…after that you either have to pay for kenyan registration plus taxes or return the vehicle back to its country of registration. The law assumes that anyone driving a foreign registered vehicle is a tourist…after one year you are no longer a tourist but a resident or you should have gone back to your country.
If GoK gets serious then buying foreign registered vehicles will be a waste of money.

Me too.
#mbirrionairetingz

Hii watabalisha to a month or two maximum,watu watakua wanna enda kwa sevo kila 60 days ,they will give up an start buying newer cars

Hakuna kitu unajua

When u own a foreign registered vehicle …the renewal after 3 months is done with the vehicle ‘physically’ at the border crossing point

It is as if the vehicle went back to say, Uganda, and came back afresh

In real sense, you just send money to some guy at the border crossing point with some greasing you are given a new set of papers to cover you for 3 months with no actual movement of the vehicle

How much is the fee for this?

Read the Traffic Act…most people dont even bring their vehicles to the border…they use brokers so they never even know the implications of owning a foreign registered vehicle.

Myth.

NTSA also issued a notice last year requiring the owners to return the vehicles back to their countries of registration. So once they start implementation mambo itakua ngumu.

You are talking too loudly, my Friend! Words should not be thrown around like a stone!!!

This act means by 2022, a very large percentage of people will stop buying vehicles. Among all the people I know, not one has bought a showroom car. The local second hand car market should become very profitable. Also, guys will take care of the cars they have like its a baby…
Also, expect a lot of people who have second cars that are messed to resurrect them and use them. The market for spare parts should increase by quite a margin as guys refocus money they world have used to buy a car towards buying spares for their existing junks

Sasa vile nimesave ninunue BMW August…

You don’t know, my Friend. You don’t know.