Oya oya...uOG peleka huko mbali kayole mse

[ATTACH=full]306622[/ATTACH]
In an Instagram post, the father of one claimed he was barred from entering an ‘Indians-only’ estate he’d visited in 2019 looking for a house. According to the ……Khaligraph, he came to learn that Africans are not allowed to own property in that area.

“Last year I went to Langata to inquire about some nice houses I had seen on the internet. After getting there, we were prevented from entering the estate cause we were told we aren’t Indians. Apparently, only Indians can own property in that area. Niljua ni mazishi nikarudi Kayole polepole. The OG was not respected,” he wrote.

What do you mean na our resident OG from car-yoh-leigh @johntez addi gaza msafi anakaa pale shri kutchi leva patel samaj nairobi west

If the same was reported from Washington DC ama California ungeskia bonobo primates Wakandans zikisema vile that country is full of racism.

Followed by the usual, “Me I dont understand how any African can choose to live in such a country…”

Infact wacha niite some of the bonobo primates in question : @BBIsiMuhimu , @Tony254 , @mugwanjira , @Kamau wa Maithori … hao tosha gari.

Do you four bonobos see the racism going on right under your noses in your own country Kenya???

Most Kenyans don’t know that as recently as the late 90s you couldn’t eat in some of these so called “5 star hotels” in Nairobi.

In some of them you would be told outright you can’t enter whereas in others they would quickly make you know that you are not welcome there.

I lived In an esto and it was wahindi tupu. It was boring as fuck. Jioni wanapiga laps zakutembea around the estate perimeter.

Some foreigners were there too. The few black people were countable. Wyre was one of them. Mgine alikuwa family ingine kijana was on drugs. Tulimpata akiiba nguo kwa line ndio aende auze. Then he’d steal from windows.

I’ve since moved out rented to an Indian and a Somali. Ready tenants. Since Its like all Indians will scramble to live there with their fellow Indians. But huyo Somali anasumbua compared to Indian who kampuni just used to make direct payments.

Hizi estates ziko kwa wingi mostly in areas with high population densities za wahindi. Most will have 20-50 houses in a tight gated estate with no fences inside the estate, just front green lawns and shared amenities such as a tennis court or a swimming pool. I have been to a few and unaweza dhani uko majuu for a while. Palatial houses with heavy duty German machines in the driveway. Chenye nimeona hii Nairobi I can tell you confidently that a good number of USD millionaires in Kenya are Indians. Those guys live another life huko ndani. The only complaint I heard from a woman ni vile analipa thousands of dollars every year at Rosslyn Academy.

I do not support racism. However, I believe that such segregation is inevitable. Rich people typically don’t like living with poor people. Not all Indians are rich and not all Africans are poor. However, there is a cultural dynamic to it. Excluding Africans from those estates improves security for them as a group, and allows them to practice their culture. Poor Indians are discouraged from living in the estates through cost (hence live in Ngara and other areas of Nairobi). However, the poor Indians are invited and welcome to those estates as visitors for cultural and social reasons e.g marriages within a minority group. A poor Indian has social value to that tight-knit community than a rich African who has nothing to offer them. They are not interested in his money, culture or social value.

I do not support segregation in living areas, but sometimes I understand where those Indians are coming from. Individually as a black person, you can be the most virtuous person alive. Collectively, we are a security risk because we are poorer than them. We are judged collectively, not individually. And collectively, we are a security risk to all other races because our incomes are lagging. The poorest person poses the biggest security threat.

These types of discrimination exist everywhere even among Africans:

For example, you can invite one person from Kibera to your house. But if you invite 10, it is a near certainty that some things will be missing when the party is over. So the rule of thumb is to generally avoid inviting Kibera residents to your house. The same way Indians do to Africans. They employ them and work with them, but they don’t desire to live anywhere near them for security, cultural and social reasons.

Another example, in a high-end club, a bouncer will turn away all males below 25 years for a valid reason. They are testosterone-filled trouble-makers with low spending power as a group. Most are broke students. You can be in that age bracket and rich AF but on a balance of probabilities, the bouncer’s assessment will be right most of the time.

I don’t know how anti discrimination laws work in Kenya (if there is any laws that work anyway) but can certain race of people legally declare that a different race of people cannot purchase property or live in a certain neighbourhood or residential complex and get away with it?

It is not a declaration. That’s illegal anywhere. They can simply discourage or deliberately prevent you from buying or renting there. For instance utaona sign ya “vacant” lakini ukiuliza unaambiwa iko booked. There are many ways of preventing a race from living there without expressly breaking the law.

But can Kenyans go to India, build an estate and say “only Kenyan residents allowed”?

No. Even Indians can’t do it here. What they do is not express discrimination. They just avoid renting out to or selling to Africans. They won’t tell you in your face, they will just tell you the house is sold.

Therefore, it is simply the undesirables who do not care or have the capacity to proof that they have been discriminated against. It does not take much intellect or resources for prove that a certain group of people are discriminated against. This being an African State where you can get away with anything.

Hard to believe, but this would be extremely difficult to pull in US I suppose. A smart lawyer can easily burst their comfort bubble to a point they will never recover or regroup again. It is easier to discriminate by pricing certain groups out.

Remember that proggy ‘who owns kenya’? Indians were like 60% of the guys who owned the serious companies

Mungu ni mkubwa because most are closing courtesy of Mzee Korona.

Really? You think it’s as simple as Africans are too corrupt, inept and self hating to bother fighting discrimination? Try moving into an upper middle class white suburb in the US or UK as a black man. If you’re not a celebrity you won’t get a home and you will realize this kind of thing happens everywhere.

You are somehow correct. Even in major cities and towns around the world, you will find exclusive communities hurdled in a certain area within the city. And a person of a different culture finds it hard to fit within the settlement. Indians are a minority in our society and in my own opinion, they don’t pose a serious threat as far as cultural discrimination is concerned. In the recent past, there was an Asian quarter in every major town in Kenya. However in many towns, the Indians have moved away and ressetled in Nairobi and Mombasa. Some have even gone back to India while a sizeable population migrated to Western nations. When I grew up in the 80s, nearly half of all the shops in Nyeri town were owned and run by the Wahindi but only less than five remain to date.

hehe…sasa kwanza uko ndio huwezi kabisa…am told they built those haos to help the underprivileged in “their community”…with some subsidies i think…

but hakuna mkenya mweusi ametengeneza estate na temple kando ya national park…so bado…hatujafika:p

unajaribu kusema HACO brands si serious ama there’s a muhindi hand in it?ama iko kwa iyo 40%

mbona tunaenda mbali ivo na hata hapa chini umoh ama kayole kuna nyumba unaskianga “hawakomboleshangi jaruo”