People Were Right... Fibre will kill DSTV

I came across this post: https://www.businesslive.co.za/bd/companies/2017-05-18-naspers-considers-selling-multichoice-in-africa-insiders-says/ & many others. Apparently, Multichoice are taking a hit from all those online streaming that they’re now considering pulling the plug on their con project. It’s not the only ones though… As I have heard that Zuku are also looking to stop their TV service too! Next thing to do is to simply not use Show Max. Not that I subscribe to online VODs but I simply hate these Xenophobic pr*cks & anything that has to do with them

Lakini NV ukiingia kwa kijiji, angalau nawa mkono kwanza. Ngoja kiti, kisha upewe doze ya matusi.
Ukistahimili hayo, karibu sana.
Viti hakuna, kalia bench
[ATTACH=full]104656[/ATTACH]

fibre hasnt killed tv anywhere. it might in far future though.

Manze so umepea ma NV viti mingi sana…ama juu pia wewe ulipewa?

Dstv’s customer acquisition rates must be really down considering that most young people(25-40) are opting to have unlimited internet as compared to having a DSTV package.

They recently slashed the price of their decoders in a bid to adopt new customers but I am not sure it will work.

If they don’t think of something real quick they will be left only in pubs and sports streaming areas

I think pay tv has a solid position coz its reliable and constant unlike internet tv dstv shida yao ni hio bei yao otherwise wakisema bein ingie kenya hio ma internet streaming tv na dstv wata zama wote

Problem is that unless for families that can afford, if asked between internet vs dstv…most would opt for the former.

A lot of entrants are getting in the fibre internet thing including big players like Safaricom. This means that internet WIL DEFINITELY keep getting cheaper and cheaper. If penetration gets to the small towns effectively DSTV watakiona.

Exact reason for my shifting from dstv to Zuku 50mbps was the frustration I faced with unreliable satellite dish, mara cloud cover and when you contact customer care they are arrogant. I hang my boots and FO… Now nigga on my phone like nyeri jigger

Kenyan Internet speed is the highest in Africa currently given the wounding competition Safaricom is cutting down the cost of mobile Internet and looking upstream to offering fiber.

A week ago someone from Multichoice called with their usual marketing stories. I tried to sell them my Explora decoder. The guy couldnt stop laughing

When you have fibre, you no longer need your TV so badly. In estates zingine hii Nairobi, DSTV wanashindwa kwani signal zao hazifiki vizuri vile subscriptions zimepungua kabisa. When I was using fibre, I could stream TV and Radio programs from any of the thousands of available stations from around the world. From Congo to Japan to South America.

Tuliambia watu… nay, Wale put it perfectly,

“Tv killed the radio,
Tv killed the radioooo,
Tv killed the radio,
And then the internet slit the Television’s throat”

People are now discovering apps like Mobdro and Terrarium (wao husema Kodi ni complex) na wamechoka na repeats na movie za 1998 zile hushinda zimerudiwa kwa package za DiShThieVes that they can afford (by the way very few people use the full package mpaka nimeisahau jina) with sports that they are not going to watch since they don’t broadcast EPL/La Liga/Bundes Liga/Ligue 1/Serie A live, and those are the leagues that Kenyans watch. Not even the Primeira Liga is live.

At the same cost (or lower in some cases) there is fibre internet already connected to the home where they can stream anything they want including league football in Saint Kitts and Nevis, and all they need (at the very least) is a pc (which most households have) and a VGA/HDMI cable.

This is not a fair fight and DiShThieVes lost before it began. People getting what they want to watch, when they want to watch it at a fraction of the cost? I posit this to you

17 Likes

Pride ya dstv is finally coming to bite them in the rear! Good riddance

this alone wont work… their programming is also very poor. with streaming you have an almost unlimited channel base and can choose what you want when you want.It will be difficult to match this…

DSTV will end up remaining with the older generation who are stuck in their comfort zone. ole wao

DSThieves waka tengeneza package ya Documentaries pekee naeza lipa. Alafu if they can incorporate some hindernet it would be okay…but they are thieves. The rest is shiet. Sports nawatch kwa pub, mi si fan wa movies.

They will repeat those documentaries till you get bored. Even the crime documentaries on IDX and crime and investigation channel they repeat even with their almost unlimited nature

Hehe…beIN ipo ukitaka.

Back in 2013 i adviced them on their facebook page about the following:

1. Either embrace pay per view whereby they charge a subscriber for the time their decoder is on …you see people have lifes and they dont stay infront of their tvs whole day 24/7 so it will make sense for them if you only bill them for the time they have actually watched rather than wholesomely like they do.
  2. There is no need to grant me over 100 channels like they claim on their premium package and ask for 10k rather they come up with pricing on pro rata basis whereby for instance ss3 costs 1k mtv 0.7k, natgeo 0.9k etc whereby a client only picks the channels they are intrested in eg if i pick ss4,history,natgeo i pay like 2300 plus of course some fta like citizen rather than pay 10k for channels that i dont watch like cooking etc !
    You know what they told me…blah blah economies of scale,it wouldbe expensive to implement such etc that end month i severed ties with them.

Dstv is still stuck in 1996 where everybody dropped their jaws for their product mofos are so entitled they never notice ground shifting from beneath their feet wacha wakule ujeuri yao

As is usual with so many South African firms locally. Maringo ya pesa nane.

the pro-rata basis was a very good suggestion they should have looked into it. Guys subscribe DSTV with around 5 or six channels in mind, but they are forced to take the premium package due to the fact that the company distributes these channels across their various packages (a mischievous strategy which has been overtaken by time).

Applying the pro-rata basis will ensure they have more penetration and even enjoy economies of scale but they are too static to even consider this. They have not realized that over the decades they have been the exception rather than the norm when it comes to South African companies doing business in Kenya. Akina Nandos came and went… DSTV is now facing stiff competition and they are not being innovative. They will soon pack up and leave