piston rings or valve seal problem?

Car is weak and smokes heavy blueish or greyish at start up especially in the morning!

Iginition(spark/coil) system ama airflow.

Are you doing self diagnosis or umepelekea a proper mechanic?

i will visit mechanic next week but I need to be aware of the possibilities

Ni Diesel?
Blue smoke - burning oil(incomplete)
Black smoke - burning fuel(incomplete)

Ni petrol?
Black smoke - burning oil
Whitish smoke - burning coolant or water
Blue smoke - burning fueoh!

If it is a diesel then:

1. Replace Oil and fuel filter immediately.
  2. Replace spark plugs/ignition coil.
  3. Fuel with clean dithoro achana na zile za kina ā€˜shellā€™.
  4. As a temporary stop gap measure tumia Xado to clean the fuel line and engine deposits.
    ā€¦if loss of power persistsā€¦
  5. due to loss in compression go for bench cleaning i.e toa engine yote and replace valves(piston rings); are about 4-5 seals per cylinder.

*Psā€¦steps 1-4 worked for my Ford Rangerā€¦siku hizi only I only use dithoro ya Kenol/Kobil ama Total.

Diesel ina sparks?

Na mimi nimeanza kushuku shell. No matter what kind of oil I buy from them, Its not good after 4000km. maybe for the first 3000, the engine is very quiet(you cannot know that the engine is running) and has some kick. After 4000 idling becomes less smooth an a bit noisy and daily efficiency drops a bit. Oil becomes dark and I have to replace it for better experience.

sorry, meant glow plugs or ignition coil(esp in older Toyotas)

Does it smoke when hot. You are burning oil. Rings most likely since you are also loosing power. If it needs new rings buy another engine. What make what mileage?

sawa. bado diesel haina hii. Ama kunazo zinatumia.

Diesel engine have glow plugs or ignition coils, which are used during ignition of the engine. These glow plugs replaced the old mechanical ā€˜chokeā€™ and are very effective for heavy dithoro engines during cold starts.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLUF5z4wWPs

For bad piston rings the car would lose power and always emits a lot of blue (though my eyes can only see white smoke, av never seen blue) smoke, especially under load. For bad valve seals you only see the blue smoke when rev up up in the morning for the first time but the smoke clears out when the car is in motion. An easy way to test for bad valve seals is to let the car idle for 5minutes then rev it up. If there is a lot of smoke after the rev then you have bad valve seals. However in most cases bad valve seals accompany worn out piston rings and so it is better do replace both at the same time.

Nunua engine wacha kusumbua

mbona umeamkaa saa hii 4:56 AM? umeenda kufungua ofisi ya muhindi?