Please Help. I Will be Much Obliged.

Hi guys.

I really need your help, so I am gonna be totally frank.

My younger brother and I want to start a small dairy business (about 30 animals) on a small shamba we inherited about 70 kilometres from Nairobi. It will be like our country retreat, where we run away from the city to recuperate. Eventually of course, the kafarm will be my brother’s coz he’ll outlive me.

Now, we want to construct a simple 3-4 bedroomed bungalow on the piece - no stairs because of me. WE DON’T WANT TO GO FOR ANYTHING FANCY LIKE THESE CUBOID DESIGNS WE ARE SEEING, just the old-style kind of thing, chmneys and all. We also don’t want to experiment too much with new technology such as prefabricated, etc.

So, this is my request.

Kindly advice me on any anything that will enable me come up with an extremely high-finish and comfortable country house. I know we’ll have to pick on competent professionals etc etc (please skip this bit), but what stones for example should we use? How can we have a modern sewerage system in the village that is sustainable?

Anything that is not in the books, especially if you have done it yourself.

Please also refer me to any past threads on this matter (house construction). There was a thread that for example had some designs and I liked one whic we could modify.

I will be much obliged for all your assistance.

Asanteni.

Try look at container homes…Gugu container homes kenya

Then

@a4architect will have to advise you. Also stop contradictions gathee.

Be a little bit specific on location, are you 70kms to the east, West, North or south of Nairobi? Kila location ina mawe na mchanga yake

@Randy @uncle nyam @Fala 12 kujeni mtapewa blessings na mzee

ni lussegetti

Frank Guy, here’s some advise.

The structure for most buildings is quite a constant. Brick and mortar. Figure out a floor plan that will work for you. Something that you can grow old in. i.e don’t be stingy with space and door space, in case a wheel chair is inevitable. You may have to consider access points in case you want a sunken lounge. Low window sills are a plus with secure yet functional windows.

After you are done with the structure/skeleton, pick an architect who’ll take you through finishings. What kind of look do you want? Wood? Rustic? Contemporary? English Manor? I can recommend guys I have used who do an amazing job.

No experimentation eith this old geezer.

Join this community to get an appropriate well thought through response.
Welcome New Members et.al. Here are important Official Savers’ links for the community. Join the discussion forums:

Super Savers Kenya (SSK)
https://tlgrm.me/joinchat/EHySGkEXE7G27Nbo5CegXg

Personal Finance Channel (PFC)
https://t.me/personalfinance

Personal Finance Book Club (PFBC)
https://tlgrm.me/joinchat/EHySGkB_2lLjvqsmHo0fMw

For Other General Knowledge eBooks
https://t.me/ebookskenya

For buying and selling stuff, advertisement, job ads etc:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/940979896002680

NOTE:
PFBC is strictly for discussions on the Book selected and following the reading plan.

SSK is for any discussion on finances and saving. Here you can share your experiences, advice and ask questions.

PFC - here you will get all books, reading plans, relevant files, audio books, video tutorials etc.

Gadhee mimi sina story most, mjengo ikianza uniite niwe senior foreman, ata kazi ya mkono siwezi kataa

tafuta @blueline akuletee materials… ama alisare io wera

Quarry stones. Machine cut

Am here at you service i will do both design and build. as for the sewerage system a biogester will take care of that…no smell, zero maintenance and no exhausting . i will be constructing one next week and i will upload pictures at every stage of construction.

14 Likes

Stua @byro pia, alot of things will come into play.
Location will determine cost effective materials to use.
Then kuna vitu kama climate, direction the house will face, nyumba pia ndio itakuwa store ya your farm?
Hapa huwezi get very specific advice, consultant ata ku advice,

Human waste inaweza tumika for biogas?

Niko interested na hii bio digester yako, itakuwa na any mechanical equipment, kama blowers hivi? experience has shown me ime waste watu wengi

yes… but the setup is different.

following

[ATTACH=full]85358[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]85360[/ATTACH]

Hii nimeskia sifa zake iko swafi