Police Vehicles(GK series) with Insurance stickers.

So yesterday, while in a matatu (Nairobi Area), i noticed a police land cruiser with insurance sticker on the windscreen. It seemed like a joke but was surprised when few minutes later, noticed another police vehicle had the insurance sticker plus the service stickers from Total.
Today, i saw yet another police vehicle with the insurance sticker. GK vehicles have not been known to have insurance. This could be part of “Jubilee development” or a way of making someone rich.

Those vehicles are under lease and terms of the lease involves insuring them.

19 Likes

I also saw cops with a landcruiser (navy blue with siren and written POLICE) but the number plates were KBA XXXC i.e those of a private vehicle. @pamba explain this. Do cops lease landcruisers from wananchi? Is the police service broke?

And they also come with a fuel card, you can fuel at any total Kenya petrol station, and at your own cost anywhere else. Servicing is done at CMC.

Hizo ndo tender ule jamaa wa mashamba anachezea. Leasing police vehicles and police housing. Abby lazima ashibe ama namna gani my fren?

Cids have been using Subaru legacy all over the country. I read somewhere that police vehicles currently are under lease and after some miles they are serviced. Those of Cids, number plates keep on changing to disguise them

what service does a citizen require from a police vehicle? is it not service - ie moving officers to where needed. economists found it prudent to lease vehicles to police so that they can concentrate on their core duty of policing. that way police don’t have to waste resources on fleet management while reducing the risk of procurement officers colluding with garages and fuel suppliers so that officers are grounded more often than not.

The lease has eased the operations of the police, it’s quite rare to get the once anthem of ‘Gari Haina mafuta, saidia utumishi’.

That

Sticker on the windscreen has a wrong code they scan to identify and charge a particular vehicle

@gashwin and @Tarantinoh have ended this debate. Cops now have vehicles to patrol and respond to emergencies. Leasing the vehicles is cheaper than buying and maintaining them. Repairs and service is the responsibility of the leasing company. 50000 police housing are been constructed. So far 10000 are complete. They are using prefab housing. Cops also have a life insurance of 10 million for each and a comprehensive health insurance. What’s left is increase of wages and allowance. Its a good progress.

Subaru forester and outback to be more precise.

The GOK leases vehicles, so YES, that’s every department that’s in dire need.
Hata Judiciary wanazo, GK plated

Yeah, noted

I am curious as who the insurer is, could it be Armaco by any chance?

You would have to find out from the leasing company who their insurers are.

No…I’ll just call Matiangi and ask him to cut the chase.

Hata hii nadhani walipewa (it was announced) mwezi wa Julai. Though it hasn’t yet been paid in full.

Ha! Lucky you are well wired!

You forgot the secure and upgraded communications systems( walkie talkies, CCTVs by Safaricom). About 4 years ago, i got myself a simple DVB-T USB tuner, installed SDR on a computer and could listen to UHF and VHF bands. I remember stumbling on traffic police dispatch on around 155Mhz and the patrol unit on 460Mhz. Such systems were not secure and anybody would listen in. After the upgrade, about 2 years ago, the signals got encrypted and unavailable. It’s said the new gadgets have GPS and can be tracked hence making law enforcement easy.
PS
I’m into passive DXing so let villagers not mistake me for something else. I still listen to radio broadcasts on Shortwave.

leave police business alone… Those guys are so clever they always know what they are doing