Politics and Debt

Losing an election is no joke, being re-elected is probably even harder. I couldn’t imagine being in that position where you’ve been enjoying all the perks of low interest loans, grants, special sitting allowances and time comes when you’ve spent so much on primaries and elections but ended up with nothing .

All has to be repaid before you receive your retirement package. On these streets of Nairobi or wherever, you’ll meet a guy who has fallen and many will lose the tag mheshimiwa really quickly as the financial burdens and reality checks in. I know a guy who literally sold everything only to garner less than 10000 votes in a place with 200K voters. I hope I don’t bump into him.

Life has to move on one way or another I suppose.

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Over-100-broke-MPs-risk-losing-their-luxury-cars/1056-3927408-rdt3yl/index.html

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Clerk-directs-MPs-to-clear-mortgages--car-loans/1056-4014068-13sadlv/index.html

I know many former MP’s. It depends on how ulijipanga. If you have biz and still able to practice in other professions then you are good. If you borrowed then my friend huko na shida kubwa. Lesson: always plan to have your campaign funds in full before campaigns and stick to it.

I learned during this election that it is much much more expensive to campaign in the rural areas than in the city.

Please explain how you came to this conclusion. Sounds interesting.

Ocha unalisha kijiji mzima. constituency mzima. Sukari, lesso za wamama, football tournaments kama “Mascaro Cup”, na mtu hana tshirt yako haezi kupigia. Giving people tshirts in the village is something big, you know how expensive people find cloth in the village?
Nairobi ni postas una print za kuchafulia watu maukuta na propaganda tu pale mitandaoni. And Ocha constituencies tend to be bigger coz of population density. Ingawa Vihiga yetu we are packed kama viberiti

A colleague quit his job to contest at his rural home, so he was told by the so called ‘electorate’ huwezi chaguliwa huku kama huna bibi wa nyumbani. Apparently he had married from the “wrong tribe”. He decided to marry the appropriate wife, sold his properties and drained his savings to campaign - but he still lost. Sasa hana bibi, wote walimtoroka na hana pesa. Woe unto you if you meet him in the streets, lazima umsort kiasi.

Ma billionaire kaa mimi … tunweza handle after shock’s swafi. Ni kaa game ya poker, Texas ol’ em down. Nachapwa naenda zangu kucheza black jack. Nikirudi you will kno … U dunno kno.

This is sad. I also have a colleague who decided to try her hand in politics.
She lost miserably. She can’t even say the number of votes she got.
Luckily the public portal of iebc is available. Leo nilimpigia simu hakushika.

politics is like betting…just sadder coz you’re not dealing with 22 players but people’s moods etc. Ocha ni kuserious…I know a guy role model sana…good goals and manifesto…but juu hapeani pesa kama competitor… he’s lost the mp race 2nd time now

Joining politics should be an afterthought on ones career. Whatever money you put into it, consider a high chance you will not recover. God forbid if you have to quit your job. Politics works well for people who were in business and can go back to their business. One senator friend of mine had lost before and it was painful to see the financial impact. Although he had significant wealth, he had liquidated some of his properties. He did win this time.

Seems to mostly afflict Western politicians, apart from Okemo i cant remember any other western politician who remained wealthy after losing an election.

I also know someone who sold his assets for campaigns for a seat he did not win. His life changed dramatically. He is still in debt since 2007 playing games with auctioneers.

I congratulate @kah tony and all contributors for their incisive posts.

Politics has become very expensive. In this year’s election,villagers all over the country were expecting handouts. People sold assets and took loans expecting to win,only to lose the coveted seats.

It means that corruption will also skyrocket as people recover their expenses and amass a warchest for 2022.

I am told that Jubilee candidates were receiving cash from a residence in kileleshwa and this cash was in the millions. Meanwhile in Nasa the party leaders were milking candidates dry.