Positive aspects of slavery

I’m willing to bet that there’s ktalk wise-ass who can list a litany of them. This Texas school found out different. What bothers me is that it’s 2018 and…

[SIZE=7]School Apologizes For Asking Students To List ‘Positive Aspects’ Of Slavery[/SIZE]
“To be clear, there is no debate about slavery. It is immoral and a crime against humanity,” the superintendent said in a statement.

A charter school network has apologized for an assignment asking students to list the positive and negative aspects of slavery, calling the worksheet a “clear mistake.”
“To be clear, there is no debate about slavery,” Aaron Kindel, superintendent of Great Hearts Texas, said ina statement posted on Facebook Thursday. “It is immoral and a crime against humanity.”

On Wednesday, Roberto Livar posted a photo of a worksheet he said his son, Manu, was asked to complete in his eighth-grade American history class at Great Hearts Monte Vista in San Antonio. The worksheet is titled, “The Life of Slaves: A Balanced View.”

[ATTACH=full]167174[/ATTACH]
What the hell is this revisionist history lesson trying to achieve here?!?

8th Grade History class at Great Hearts Monte Vista here in San Antonio, TX- asking my student to balance the positive and negative aspects of #Slavery in the US??? What positives??? This is unacceptable and gross.

There will most definitely be a parent/student/teacher/administrator meeting taking place ASAP!!

Livar told HuffPost that his son was uneasy about the nature of the assignment and felt compelled to bring it home and show his parents. Livar said he was “pissed” as soon as he saw the worksheet.
“We are fully aware that there is a concerted effort by the far-right nationally to reframe slavery as being ‘not that bad’ and trying to revise the civil war as being about ‘states rights’ and not about slavery,” he told HuffPost in a Facebook message. “We were concerned that this assignment fell in line with that ideology and were naturally concerned, as well as other parents.”

Other families and members of the community upset about the worksheet began sharing Livar’s post, including Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-Texas). Castro called the assignment “absolutely unacceptable” in a tweet on Thursday.

Kindel said in his statement that the incident was “limited to one teacher at just one campus,” and that the teacher has been put on leave while Great Hearts “collect all the facts.” He added that Great Hearts will “conduct an audit” of the book that inspired the worksheet to see if it should be permanently replaced.

Great Hearts Texas
on Thursday
Last evening Great Hearts was made aware that one of our teachers at the Monte Vista North campus assigned homework that was very inappropriate and entirely inconsistent with Great Hearts philosophy and culture. In the 8th grade American History class students were asked to reflect on the differing sides of slavery. To be clear, there is no debate about slavery. It is immoral and a crime against humanity.

Our review of the situation found this incident to be limited to one teacher at just one campus. It was a clear mistake and we sincerely apologize for the insensitive nature of this offense. We want to thank the parents who voiced their concern and brought this to our attention. We are removing the textbook from all of our Texas academies. Please know Great Hearts is taking this seriously, including placing this teacher on leave while we have time to collect all the facts.

We will also conduct an audit of the American History textbook we’re using, Prentice Hall Classics: A History of the United States. If we deem this textbook imprudent we will permanently remove and replace it with a history book that accurately reflects our values.

Finally, the headmaster and teachers at the Monte Vista North campus will spend time with the impacted students to explain the mistake and engage them in lessons that are more thoughtful about this period of American History.

We fully intend to make sure something like this does not happen again and will keep parents posted as we address this issue further. We have scheduled a follow up communication on May 9, 2018.

In the meantime, we encourage anyone who has further questions or concerns to contact our Director of Communications Yvette Reyna 210-888-9475 ext. 3 or Yvette.Reyna @GreatHeartsTX.org.

Sincerely,
Aaron Kindel, Superintendent – Great Hearts Texas

Livar told HuffPost that Great Hearts staff invited his family and other concerned parents to a meeting on Thursday to discuss the matter, and that Manu was “commended for his action of bringing this to light and was even told he was ‘very brave.’”

However, he noted that his son has been “attacked by many at his school” for supposedly harming its reputation.
Livar, who said he and his family are Mexican-American and identify as Chicano, chalked the whole ordeal up to a lack of diversity at the school among the student body and staff.

He added that he sees what happened as a sign of problems stemming beyond his son’s school.

“These issues are not isolated to one school or one book,” Livar said. “These issues are systemic and continue up the chain all the way to the Texas School Board of Education.”

Kuna positive aspects za slavery mpaka watu wengine hujitafutia na kuulizia kuwa maslave.

Wajaribu kuuliza “positive aspects of Holocaust” waone moto.

Pale xvideos?

I don’t why they are mixing morality and reality if they were positive aspects then they should be listed !

America was built on the backs of free labor and it emerged as a giant because of that , this should be listed but of cause with a caveat .

It lead to the establishment of the Jewish state ! (positive for the jews)

Very few people who can look at things clearly without the emotional lense of whatever movie or tv show they watched.

It’s clear the jews benefited from the holocaust just like black americans benefit from slavery.

https://static01.nyt.com/images/2018/04/21/us/xxrr-starbucks/merlin_137051082_5c65817e-e4c9-41d9-90eb-7e8005e7b4da-articleLarge.jpg
A “Black Lives Matter” poster hangs at The Ethical Society in Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia. The Starbucks where two black men were arrested last weekend is two blocks away. African-Americans were driven out of the neighborhood because of riots started by white residents in the mid-1800s.

Mark Makela for The New York Times

https://static01.nyt.com/images/2018/04/21/us/DrakeHead/DrakeHead-popup.jpg

[SIZE=6]Monica Drake[/SIZE]
If any business could lay claim to being America’s cafe, it’s Starbucks. There are about 16,800 company-operated and licensed stores in the United States, according to its recent SEC filings, which translates to approximately one store for every 7,000 households in the country. It is possible to leave a Starbucks within a Barnes & Noble, see another one inside a Target, and drive through yet a different Starbucks, all within the same suburban shopping strip. In urban centers, you can leave one Starbucks and wander into another a mere block away. You have to work to avoid it.

The ubiquity of Starbucks made the arrests of two black men within minutes of their arrival at a store in Philadelphia all the more relatable to people of color who have parked themselves on a seat to enjoy a latte, go on a date, or set up a temporary work space.

These viral moments in which a person of color is performing the mundane tasks of everyday life only to be confronted by the police are nothing new. A black teenager was shot at, after asking for directions from a homeowner. A black man in Connecticut shoveling his own driveway said four years ago that officers had confronted him, and a group of black women were met by the police after being kicked off a wine tour in Napa in 2015. These events often occur in low-crime areas that were developed in the wake of white flight a generation or two ago.

They happen in the sort of place you’d find a Starbucks. By week’s end, video of a black man saying he’d been denied use of a restroom at a different Starbucks had gone viral and so did a video of the police responding to a black man whom LA Fitness employees were trying to remove from the gym in Secaucus, N.J. (The employees at LA Fitness have been removed from their jobs, according to The New York Daily News.)

These incidents aren’t fatal, like the police shootings of unarmed black people, but they are no small matter: A survey found that a lifetime of confronting them is bad for your health. As a defense mechanism, people of color abide by a code of conduct, an unspoken set of rules that white people can disregard. In fact, after the Starbucks arrests, at least one meme chided the men for violating a commonly held rule: going into a place without immediately buying something.

Mine include the following: Don’t hail a yellow cab unless you are dressed up; don’t throw away your receipt before you leave a shopping center; overtip. Readers share their rules – and what happened despite obeying them – below.

Monica Drake is assistant managing editor at The New York Times.

niaje leo hujaconnect hii story na trump?

Kwani wewe hauwezi? Huna bongo?

Actually it is not as bad as it appears, it looks like they were asked to LIST both sides -ve and +ve, that way it would allow the young people to dig deeper into slavery and gain more knowledge about how terrible it was. Racism is a direct by product of Slavery, America has so much racism, when the young people plough into archives of slavery they will probably uncover a truth never taught and might be appalled and be less racist or be anti-racist.

The positives would be related to how white people benefited from the odious activity of slavery that the whites acquired great wealth without a sweat; the children will then understand what is untaught; the foundation of America’s was laid down and built on the blood, sweat, tears and ground bones of black peoples of America.
Secondly, Bible Belt America finds no sanctuary in God but fights like wounded bulls for the right to own arms in the [COLOR=rgb(124, 112, 107)]land of the free ; a subconscious in-built fear for their safety arising from collective unresolved injustices from the past and the present, passed down from generation to generation.

[COLOR=rgb(85, 57, 130)] 1,“The word of the LORD came to me: 2 “What do you mean by repeating this proverb concerning the land of Israel,
‘The fathers have eaten sour grapes, and the children’s teeth are set on edge’?..25 “Yet you say, ‘The way of the Lord is not just.’ Hear now, O house of Israel: Is my way not just? Is it not your ways that are not just? [COLOR=rgb(85, 57, 130)]EZEKIEL 18

This is the biggest lie spread around.
The South.WHERE 100% OF THE SLAVES WERE BY 1783.was a BURDEN to the United States until 1945.
The United States is buit on PAID labor of the Irish,the Italians,the Germans who built the mega industries that dominated the Mid-West.
(Where need I emphasize.NO SLAVERY EXISTED BECAUSE THOSE STATES DID NOT EXIST IN THE SLAVERY ERA!!).
The skyline of Manhattan was built by the blood and sweat of the Irish and Italians.
The Skyline and architecture of Chicago is distinctly East European in character.
Los Angeles has a Californio and English Style architecture for a reason.There is a reason why San Franscisco’s houses look distinctly Victorian.
Black people did not arrive in these areas until from 1930 onwards.Chicago,which is 35% Black today had no blacks in 1930 when the city was 97%White.
Detroit which is 84% Black today had no blacks until the 1930s as well.
The South where the blacks were concentrated to this day ,with the exception of Texas,Florida and Georgia has the poorest states in America.That was always the case.
That is why their cities like Houston ,Miami and Dallas look relatively modern as these regions were dirt poor and had no major historical cities (Miami did exist as a Southern town but one that looked like Karumaindo on the beach).
You cannot say the same for the towns in the North East (where slavery was abolished before independence and where slavery was rare to begin with.Which is why those states have never had black people beyond 3%)
The Great Lakes (Never had slavery.)
Mid West (never even had states until the 1800s leave alone slavery) or the West (where blacks arrived in the 1950s and in cities like Salt Lake City,the first black people arrived there in the 1960s. Salt lake city was 98.1% White in 1965.The 2% were American Indians.)
Black contribition to the economics of America is overrated,as Blacks never formed the bulk of the workforce that drove the Industrial Revolution.That workforce was Irish,German (From 1820 to 1890) and East and South European (1890 to 1924)

Thanks quite the eye opener , I think in the latter years with mechanization their use was coming to an end but in the earlier plantation years their contribution cannot be ignored ! It is also well documented the bulk of labor used in the construction of the white house was slave labor ( [SIZE=1]citation needed :)[/SIZE] )

What I know for a fact is very few people owned slaves they were quite expensive , thats why I find white guilt odd, a majority of white people came to America post slavery .