Poultry farming

I’m thinking of venturing into this business as it remains my passion since childhood.

Sasa my question is, if i decide not to do free range, which is the best feeds manufacturer. The likes of twiga, unga pembe etc…

Would appreciate an answer from someone who has firsthand experience using them.

The best approach as to feeds, go to the manufacturer and get them to customize your feeds. Hizi readymade wachana nazo.
Most local manufacturers have most of the ingredients needed.

enda kenchic pare athiriver watakusort

But that can only be practical kama nahitaji maybe above 1 tonne. sidhani wanaeza unda ngunia mbili au tatu …

They do even in small portions. Just shop around.

Endea ingredients uganda and make your own feeds .

From experience. This is a very tricky business. First, you have to be very careful with diseases. The chicks are very sensitive to cold until around week 5. You must have a source of heat which can be quite expensive. Ensure that the coop does not become wet at any time otherwise utaenda ukiimba haleluyia. Ensure you have a vet on call - available at very short notice. You must be prepared with a good budget to feed the chicks before you can start getting any returns. Generally, if you buy 100 chicks for 10,000, you should have atleast 60,000 bob for their feed.

For feed, I have used Pembe and have not regretted. Avoid these upcoming industries (again, this is by first hand experience). If you are trying this for the first time, expect more than 60% mortality. As in if you buy 1000 chicks, less than half will grow.

Generally, the costs will be much more than you expect and the returns will be much less than you think.

Useless business. You will barely earn 10k ukitoa ya feeds…

I have tried it but dropped it. It’s costly to manage.

1. Chicks are very very suspectical to diseases and cold weather. You may need bulbs of upto 250 watts for each 60 chicks. If not, ukue na jiko za makaa kubwa kubwa if you reside in cold areas.
  2. The cost of feeding is costly too. Have some ready cash na maji. Zikiwa njaa they engage in cannibalism (zinakulana).
  3. Wachana na broilers. Start small then scale up based on how it responds
  4. Know your market. If your plan is to target individuals, they will begin losing weight once they mature
  5. The returns are, well, peanuts. Don’t treat it as a get rich quick project. All in all, try your hand. Usitishike lakini. If were you, I would go for Kienyeji more so the cork (njamba). Wacha ziongezeke pole pole tu. If we’ll fed, njamba of Kienyeji can trade for 1200/

Poultry Ni za mayai ama meat?
Best food is pembe, 2nd jubilee(I think) which i use it’s best kuuliza the person you buy from coz of experience n advice na Kama ni za mayai don’t try buying cheap feeds…zitachelewa kulay eggs n it will cost you big

A very hands on business. As you have been told ,the cost of feeds is very high.Pembe ,Bidco, Unga are some of the best feeds.For first timers, the mortality rate is quite high.You learn the type of diseases as they grow and get sick in addition to their medications.As you have been told, you have to maintain heat.
I would advise you to start small mostly for family as you horn your skills.
I w

Kenya ukulima kama hii ilishanyongwa na lack government policies and incentives for small scale farmers. Heri uchome mahindi

Time ya kibaki it was a viable bs but sasa unye ameharibu kila kitu

There is a time Pembe iliproducs contaminated feeds. Unga is also good although one had to place an order

how about wonder feeds?

wonder ni bure. imejaa huku. unga is economically viable.

You are talking my mind, S/he must employ biosecurity to cut off diseases outbreak.

Tumia Farm Feeds but the business is not so viable. As a first timer you will be lucky to sell broilers in 5 weeks. Buy feeds in advance as you have been told to reduce chances of dropping kilos.
For 200 chicks of they grow to maturity, if you deduct expenses, yout take home amount will be less than 12k. This is after laboring for 6 weeks my friend and using a tidy sum

For warming the chicks you could try mixing kerosene and diesel in the normal lamp. I was made to understand diesel let’s off more heat.

What about exploding