Practicing economists, political scientists, and policy analysts. Explain this ranking: Muguka base analysts can also proffer their explanation

[ATTACH=full]342880[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]342880[/ATTACH]
This Deloitte survey ranked Kenya as the second most attractive country for investment in Africa in 2020. This survey was released in September 2020, and despite the COVID pandemic causing depressed economic activity in various sectors, investors and CEOs from various private sectors still think Kenya is a vibrant economy that offers numerous investment opportunities.

I have attached the report here below, and while I have never conducted a comparative economic survey, I feel that this survey literature has focused so much attention to the service industry, where Kenya does extremely well already, which is why we seem to be a vibrant economy than the rest of our peers in Sub-saharan Africa.

Question is Wadau, how come there is so much variance between what the common mwananchi feels about our economy, and how international investors view our economy?

Watu wanalia vile economy ni mbaya but foreign capital and business leaders seems to disagree.

[ATTACH=full]342886[/ATTACH]

Following

common mwananchi is lazy and only thinks about and chases big butts and tight poosies

internationa investors, we think about money …big butts and tight poosies coincidentally come to us

With the high taxes and electricity.

Sasa wewe ni international investor kiaje and you were born in Kenya?

Paid advert to fool gullible Kenyans so that they will forgot about their failing ikonomi.

Despite those issues, it doesn’t seem to deter them.

I am international as long as i cannot be traced back to here, …same as you can be traced back to the congo, cameroun or sudan

As a Muguka base analyst: GDP is not equal to HDI. Kenya has a good Gross Domestic Product (this can be based on factors like infrastructure like the roads Uhuru is building). In contrast Human Development Index (HDI) is bad in Kenya because the common mwananchi does not have money and we can’t eat the roads Uhuru built. Investors look at infrastructure so it will be attractive for them to invest while the common mwananchi lacks capital to utilise the infrastructure to the best of their ability.

It could be. But Deloitte is not your usual bloggers and propagandists paid to push a pro-Kenyan agenda huko social media.

Even then, there are other surveys from other independent bodies and institutions basically giving Kenya a very high ranking in terms of investment friendly environment. Even various foreign investment banks have given a similar prognosis. Here is an article published in 2019 from the Financial Times saying how Kenya is a magnet for FDIs in the region.

Kenya’s reputation for quality leads companies to choose Nairobi

I share what I have read,I read a lot…

It’s so because other African countries might not be doing something right.

Kenya inherited a colonial economy,it retained it to date where the formal economy is for the upper class while the informal economy is for the lower class.Government initiatives target the formal economy so we’ll unlike the informal,so that’s why.

Again,take note it’s about investment,it’s easier for a foreigner than a local who is needed to come with useless things like…chiefs letter,2 passport photos,good conduct,hongo ya mkubwa,police protection fee etc etc

Majority of Kenyans are in the informal sector where things are informal as the word informal,any government initiative is mostly for political reasons other that economic sense,that’s why most Kenyans wonder what’s wrong with such surveys.

In other readings,I read Somali people are Cushites.They adopted Islam many centuries ago.With Islam comes Arabic,hence they adopted some practices too.Their language is not mutually intelligible with Arabic but it belongs to the Afro Asiatic family.
Oromos are Cushites too.We have been to the coast and we know what Arabs look like,we also know what people look like when it’s intermarriage between Arabs and Africans, Africans and Indians,Africans and Chinese etc

Elsewhere,we all learnt in school lahaja za Kiswahili(Kiswahili dialects),kiamu,kimvita,kiunguja(official chosen standard dialect),chimini,kibajuni,shikomori etc

I have come across Tanzanians arguing like ignorant people,don’t they learn lahaja za Kiswahili huko, besides all they do ni utohozi and shout around they speak the best Swahili.I also came across others claiming their is no people called Swahili, there is a tribal group called so, previously some researchers called that group Ngozi.

Seems like the true picture of Rwanda is coming out slowly. It is a very small economy choke-held by the elite so as to milk the peasants dry. You cannot comfortably compete with companies like Inyange ( Inyange Industries - Welcome ) which has ties with ze President. You have to deliberately stifle your company’s growth. Ucheze chini ama ufinywe makagary.

kenyan’s hobby is to complain,but facts are stubborn and our drunk president has done a stellar job.

Very true. We are a nation of complainers. Even during kibaki days they were saying the trickle down economics were wrong because wananchi mashinani were not benefiting and that the hungry hustlers couldn’t eat the roads kibaki was building. That is why they were fighting in 2007 to remove him.

Izo huwa zimelipiwa baba. Kazi ya pr firms kama ile ya Tony Blair.
Ile siku utaona Uhuru amepata award yoyote ya best whatever in Africa, utaona pia president wa Ghana kwa hiyo list. Zile country zimelipia…

They were fighting to remove him in 07 because he was a big tribalist. He forgot Kenyas’ other 43 tribes. And any achievements during his term are to be shared by those in that coalition government. the biggest being Raila. Many forget how many times Raila beat him in court, from illegal appointments etc…That set the path for the Kenya we have today.

I can explain this to you through New keynesian economic model. Kenya is attractive for foreigners for certain reasons technology such as M-Pesa, Internet is available, there is cheap labour as bonobos are unemployed, we have high infrastructure such as roads, air etc basically we offer opportunities for economy of scale. That is why foreign investors find us attractive. However, very few invest in Kenya. Umeona shoprite has closed offices, we saw some flowers and other International companies exit the Kenyan market- the reason being that what Deloitte uses to measure on paper is quite different from the ground.

Nkaa vile we all want a 10/10 beautiful lady. And everyone will want one. How many of us would actually marry a 10/10 after dating her? You realize she is deeply flawed and leave.

On the other hand Kenyans can feel the effect of the economy collapse because they experience the pinch of unemployment, high taxes, increased VAT and poor mismanagement and corruption which foreigners dont experience since the government is trying to woe them by giving tax brakes and foreigners can leave any time

[SIZE=5]The only people who complain about the economy nowadays are Ruto supporters because the handshake pushed their uncle to the corner.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=5]Saa hii wanalia kwa uchungu sana but in 2016 walikuwa wanaona “DEVELOPMENT”. :D:D:D[/SIZE]

[SIZE=5]The economy is still the same economy it’s just that Ruto supporters feel some type of way.[/SIZE]

Thread closed.

[SIZE=5]If Uhuru today said Ruto tosha you would see an immediate turn around.

@spear would return to his old threads. I think his computer must be full to bursting because of all the development photos he hasn’t posted in two years.[/SIZE]