Prefab Housing

This is a follow up to the earlier thread on Modern Prefab Housing.
Visited them today and explained to them what my dream pigsty would be and location. Took me through the process of how their concrete is precast as well as a ball park figure, to be crystallized upon actual drawings of the pigsty. They are likeable guys and I think affordable, compared to the price point I had in mind.
They give a 13month warranty against workmanship defects and different packages to choose from @Randy you get a chance to visit?
Attached are company profile and sample houses

Are the prices fixed on Nairobi ama hadi upcountry?

Upcountry they factor in transport cost of the concrete per tonnage

Na foundation? Ni hao ama ni wewe?

Those prices look unrealistic a.k.a too good to be true. I wonder how durable the house is.
But the houses look really nice. Do you have any photos of completed work as opposed to michoro ?

Foundation ni wao @Mjuaji they offer visits to finished houses they have done but didn’t have time to visit today

Damn that’s fair.

get us some pic we see

I love the 3-bedroomed bungalow.

They’ve put them up on their facebook page

those plans though… you will realise how ineffective they will be once they construct. eg. lets look at plan of house 1 going for 1.2M:
-direct doors to bedrooms
-Toilet facing kitchen. imagine case 1; having visitor taking dump and wife is cooking. case 2; someone passing through dining with a towel na kitambi through dining-kitchen to shower.
-so much space wasted between dining and sitting area, leaving les room for seats. only one l-shaped seat and the house is full.
-Designs are borrowed from Indian culture where you sleep watching Bollywood movies in sitting.

In short these plans are downloaded from internet and doesn’t meet kenyan standard. Standards in terms of you will notice damage has been done when time to move in comes.
Before you sign any agreement with them, have your choice of plans reviewed by local architect.

@Gio,

If a washing machine from a reputable seller can carry a 5-year warranty, 13 months is a joke for a house that should last at least 30-40 years.

@byro,

That is constructive criticism, wish we had more of that here instead of one-liners and put-downs. I’d imagine that there will be a steep price for any deviation from the prototypes that a client may wish to have. Problem with involving another architect is that, in typical Kenyan fashion, he might start making it HIS house.

Gani? There are several in the catalogue.

Has it happened to you?

@Gio I want to build my mom a house those sides of lanet, asanta for this thread, hope sio pyramid scheme ingine. Apart from visiting other homes built by them, due diligence gani ingine naeza fanya…

In case a client have artistic impression(of his prposed house) , he(Architect) can tweak the plan layout and still maintain same exterior concepts. If he plays his own music, look for another guy.

Ironclad contracts

So I should hire an attorney?

Nyumba ni bricks bwana sisi peasants, hio ingine can’t relate ikiishwa piga plaster[ATTACH=full]79891[/ATTACH]