President Uhuru Kenyatta 5-day visit to Kisumu

President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga met Nyanza legislators at State House ahead of the president’s 5-day visit to Kisumu, where he will preside over Madaraka Day fet. In the meeting with Nyanza MPs, the President assured the lawmakers that he will deliver on projects underway in the region and also unite the country.
The following considerations and projects have been earmarked for either launch or supervision in Nyanza:-

1. Nakuru –Kisumu Meter Gauge Railway Line.
  2. Kisumu Inland Container Depot –Kibos.
  3. Kisumu Passenger Train Terminus.
  4. Launch of Kisumu-Butere line.
  5. Groundbreaking the Kshs25 billion Koru Soin dam.
  6. Ground break the construction of Special Economic Zone (SEZ) at Miwani.
  7. Launch the refurbished Kisumu Port and MV Uhuru; alongside a newly constructed ship.
  8. Shipyard commissioning.
  9. Launch four feeder ports of Asembo Bay, Kendu Bay, Homabay, and Sio Port.
  10. Commission the Kshs476 million Marine School.
  11. Ground break the Mamboleo-Muhoroni- Kipsitet road.
  12. Commission the Kshs4.2 billion Lake Basin Mall project.
  13. The Ksh600 million Uhuru Business Park and Market Complex.
  14. Inspection of works Jaramogi Oginga Odinga Sports Grounds.
  15. The groundbreaking for the construction of the East Africa Community (EAC) Lake Victoria Basin Commission Headquarters in Kisumu at a cost of Ksh145 million.
  16. Commission ADB funded Sirari Corridor Ahero –Kisii road done at a cost of Kshs9.5 billion.
  17. Commission the Kshs2.2 billion Siaya -Bondo Water and Sanitation project.
  18. Launch the Kshs227 million last mile connectivity project in Siaya.
  19. Commission the Kshs1 billion Kodiaga – Nyangweso – Wagai – Onyinyore / Akala road.
  20. Commission Kshs3 billion Isebania-Ikerege-Kehancha-Ntimaru-Gwitembe-Ang’ata-Lolgorian Road.
  21. Approve Kshs350 million for South Nyanza Sugar Company.
  22. Grant a Charter to Tom Mboya University College as well as commission construction of the Administration and Tuition block project
  23. Ground breaking of the Kshs2.5 billion Mbita -Sindo -Kiabuya -Karungu road.
  24. Inspection of the dredging of the Mbita causeway.
    Let’s discuss the president’s Nyanza tour on this thread, what is your view on the projects? Is handshake worth it?

Launching is just that. If they were complete projects it would be another story. The govt is currently not disbursing most of the budgeted development funds .

In any case, you can get a list of 20 “projects” to be launched in any part of Kenya if you include mundane things like stadia, roads, markets and dams. My brethren should not feel privileged - too much motion without movement, pure PR.

Wacha aendelee ku launching na ku commission.

Tunajua ni nani tunapea kura 2022.

we can not discuss incomplete projects of a president serving his last term with 1 year remaining

[ATTACH=full]366979[/ATTACH]

Launch, ground breaking, commission sawa basi. Waombe sana kimwarer asichukue usukani next year coz hapo hakuna project itaisha.

Niaje teaboy wa KWFT?

That’s one of the things that African govts get wrong. An incoming regime should besides launching new projects as per their manifesto that propelled them to power, ensure completion of the projects which were ongoing at the time of change of guard.

I think it’s people’s rights to have better services as well as developments sioni hanja ya hizi PR za gava

We welcome all development especially infrastructure, water and power in all parts of Kenya. Mi sionangi kama Uhuru ana ubanguzi when it comes to development. Ni vile ana kaujinga kiasi of surrounding himself with the wrong people. However, the timing of these pjs is very suspect.
Jakuon should have pushed for this when big moni was changing hands. I would say this is a bit late in the day. Implementing and completion are 2 different things.

So if he surrounds himself with the right people you would support his third term?

Very meaningless question if you ask me. How is his surrounding himself with hindiots related to him running for a 3rd term for a right thinking person.
Surrounding himself with hindiots is what makes him think he should stay on, while really, he should be packing up!!!

I asked the question because you are blaming Uhuru’s failures on other people

Your comment is as moot as can be. So… as you were. Pls give me a nudge when he starts packing up.

That list is very encouraging IMO. Am excited to see that ksh 25 billion Koru Soin dam in particular.

Our leaders have fallen way short off the mark, imo Kenya should be at least a ‘2nd world country’ by now. We still are plagued by corruption, tribalism, poverty, election fraud, gender inequality, the whole 9. BUT, I thank God that Uhuru and Raila made the handshake deal.
Imagine for a second how ugly our situation would be if all the problems we already have + the covid pandemic fallout were compounded by a bloody civil war!