Private guards manning important and key buildings will now be armed

Senior government honchos holed up discussing this issue today.

A directive will be given soon enough.

Why not just hand guns to NYS best to do that?

Misleading headline!
Tafuta kazi citizen weekly !

Ngoja 7 o’clock News chief

digging a hole wen u are in a hole. a person who wants to kill you will kill you. armed guards 24/7 waiting for terrorists who might take 2 years before they strike again. In those 2 years someone will be killed by those guns. as we wait for the terrorists, gun lazima zitafanyishwa kazi, and innocent citizens will suffer. Heri terrorists who kill 21 people in 3 years, than izo guns killing a citizen each month. ukifanya hesabu, how many innocent kenyans are killed by police monthly? more than the terrorists kill in 2 years

It is true that all senior supervisors and managers of security firms have been summoned to Nairobi by Director General of Private Security Regulatory Authority, Fazul Mohamed.

Agenda : Issuance of firearms to guards manning key institutions and public spaces

Mandatory training for security guards

Vetting afresh of guards

Venue : Nairobi Railway Club

These guards if given the weapons ,will misuse them despite the kind of training they will go through.

Like someone has said above both permitted and unpermitted guns kills more than terrorists,but let them do whatever they want because terror is being taken to their doors and not to the poor Kenyans like they expected

Hii iko Uganda ,hata bouncer pale club ako well armed ukileta nyokonyokos utakula ndengu

Hapa kawangware tutapumua kweli?shikwekwe watatuonyesha mambo na hizo guns

This is not logical, how many of these security guards are well paid, disciplined and motivated enough to risk their lives for some rich people parking range rovers outside courtesy of NYS money!?

hehe all the police officers with all their training did not fire a single bullet at the terrorists. In fact they all ran away with their small brain. Watchmen na ujinga yake ya class 4 dropout ndie atamenyana na msee maekula training. Plus there were many gun holders in the area. None of them fired asignel shot at the terrorists.

Ile argument yako ni kama ya a typical redneck. More guns does not equal less violence. At this rate our homicide rate will exceed South Africa’s. So many things could go wrong in so many ways because these guards will not be as supervised as police or kdf.

It’s a proper move.

Only trained and qualified guards should be allowed to handle firearms. And would undergo retraining every 6months to a year on advanced shooting skills.

And to add to that list all security guards in Kenya need to learn basic first aid skills, evacuation skills, and proper safety procedures during all emergencies.

Upuuusi, give credit to our officers. You weren’t on the ground

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

You do realize, the security guards outnumber both the kdf and police, Plus there’ll be an armoury that can be raided. I hate to imagine the kind of chaos these guns can wreak when something like the 2007 violence happens for a second time around a place like that.

Security companies keep moving their staff around, sasa ukiwa trained evacuation ya one mall then get transferred to an office building…

I have seen it work very well in South Africa…additionally salaries should match their new status.

South Africa, the crime capital, hiyo country is not one we should look up to