Programming Language to process SMS and Respond with answer

For ICT guys, what language is used to process SMS messages sent to short codes in order to respond to the requester, like the one used by IEBC to respond with polling centers? e.g. a person sends their ID Number 12345600 to a short code like 78968 and the system responds with the polling centre for 78968?

USSD>>>The Simulator support multiple platform like VC++,Java,C/C++. Just go through their documentation. To develop ussd based application you need to be a content provider and registered with a ussd gateway (of any mobile network operator).

Thank you… Where can one access the simulator?

Try activeXperts free smpp simulator. It has limited functionality, but it works.
Or you can try building one using cloudhopper-smpp which has SmppServer & Simulator codes.

Asante sana! Let me go through and see how it works

All the best wayia

it’s called a messaging bot, it’s not that complicated

wewe hujawahi pata kaporgram kalikuwa kwa floppy disc ulikuwa unauliza swali kanakupea jibu?

true, back in 07/08 hapo was doing that, but I remember the gateway (I think it was done in c#) was pushing the messages to a sql server and one had to to get the messages hapo and push whatever reply to another table for processing, so it was mostly SQL stuff.

Lakini I think the basics is just to understand how to deal with strings in any language

Two Way sms, https://africastalking.com/sms

Like M-Pesa? What platform is it developed on? It is a fact that SQL is involved here but there must be some additional language to, for example manage the unique reference numbers… then save it in yet another SQL table showing the status of of the transaction

Probably Php or node, Not sure though.

Mpesa sijui, but I am sure its multiple technologies combined, but with an oracle db and looking at the api they open up I would not be surprised if its mostly java stuff, or mostly pl-sql stuff.
anyway core mpesa is just something that add and deducts some numbers, and the core can be entirely run on the db.

I highly doubt the core mpesa engine runs on php or node, that would slow the system to a halt

And the inclusion of a unique random reference number? I would guess this is done using Java, C++. etc

I am talking from an outsiders perspective, so I dont know what goes on huko - but adding a reference number can be done in any tech, I would assume db generated to keep it truly random, assuming that once a request comes in to the db, some thing is fired to go get the number from java or C++ then bring it back to the db for more checking - that sounds too expensive and not necessary, if the the db can generate it the better.

as I said I would not be surprised if the core runs completely on the db

Why do everybody assume Php is that slow?

it is not slow, but in the case of mpesa it would slow down the whole process, imagine an sms coming in being sent to php, most likely the cli, since if you add the web server that is another layer, then php doing its string thing and sending the same back to whatever sms system safcom has.

that will slow the whole thing down

I have seen their api environment but it looks very limited and definitely inclusion of another language, like Java, C++ would make it much more powerful

This is the correct answers… ignore all the other answers and thank me later…

In short, there is no programming language for Ussd, any language can be used to serve a ussd service as long as it supports networking and virtually all languages have built in support for networking.