Ques tion to Engineers

Kuna kitu imekuwanga ikinisumbua.

How come basements dont flood? Utakuta mtu ako na horsepipe busy cleaning the basement and stuff and even when it rains. How do they get rid of the water? Na hio maji hutokaje huko?

Sema engineering baba, sema engineering mara ingine!

huwa ziko na drain pipes wamatissue

Kula kang’umu bila kusumbua Engineers

Drain pipe inaenda wapi and they are already below ground level. Do they have continuous pumps pumping any effluent to the ground level?

Ngumu za kibwezi ndio the best so far

Ingia youtube uone how a sump pump works.

No brainer, if it’s below ground level the only other way to get it out is pumping.

Portable diesel pumps, most old buildings with underground levels in Nairobi have them.

wanashikanisha na sewer system

Venye amesema

Provided it’s above sea level it will always flow by gravity to sump, a suction pump can be used to increase speed.

How do you get water into storage tanks 2 ,6, 20…floors above ground ?
Why install storage tanks up there ?

Gravity my fren, Gravity

Thanks man…i learn something new everyday

Hii yako ni tricky the sump pump makes more sense

Wacha na uyu ni muchene tu hakuja kitu anajua…

hio sump pump huwa ina pump hio maji ikielekeza kwa mkundu yako?

:D:D:D:D… Apana. i can believe you of all people is asking this question yet its common knowledge who is made up of 130kg of pure chieth.

Basements have what we call fuel interceptors, a fuel interceptor is like a normal rectangular tank with compartments. The last compartment is fitted with two pumps, one working the other as a standby. Through out the basement, we have drainage points called gully pots that are interconnected with a pipe network that drains into the fuel interceptor.