QUITTING ALCOHOL

KTalkers, I’ve been a heavy drinker for years, Last month I blackout in my house living room and everyone(family) went to sleep leaving on the couch, I woke up around 3am and my whole life stared at me. All the failures that happened because of my drinking habits, all the business deals that I failed to get because I couldn’t wake up due to hangovers, all the friendships that I destroyed, not to mention the risk have put myself and my family in by sleeping with different women etc. I mirrored myself and my kids and realized how much I have failed them. My two 3 year old son’s was literally talking to me in my thoughts and crying how I am bad dad, always coming late drunk while they’re asleep. I hated myself and said it’s time to kick the bottle out of my life.

I poured a 750ml bottle gin I had in the fridge and flashed it down in the toilet. I cried myself out that morning.

I tried quitting as from 1st July projecting till the end of 2020. Oh man, I’ve had a lot of bad experiences running from:
[li]Bad dreams. [/li][li]Heavy fatigue [/li][li]Sleeping too much [/li][li]Headaches [/li][li]Bad moods. [/li][li]Confusions[/li][li]No interest for sex. [/li][li]Sweating too much etc[/li][/ul]
I’m asking for help, anyone who successfully quitted alcohol, what was your escape route?? Please help, you can judge me as well…

iza man…hizi vitu ni relative with an individual na hakuna standard way of quitting…but common denominator ni kuwacha.angalia what avenues are availabe to you…kama ni rehab,sawa,maombi sawa,family time sawa…mimi sitakuficha once in a while mi huonja but occasionally and it has to be my decision and not out of pressure…That’s the freedom you ought to seek first…the freedom to choose whether to indulge or not too…once you attain that then what follows is the decision to completely quit…which comes easy once you achieve the former…

Check yourself into a facility before its too late…
I hope this video will give some perspective…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7X5-mNyjS14

Start by reducing. Makali acha kabisa anza na beer take away kidogo kidogo reducing polepole. Stop going to the bar. This worked for me. Saa hizi hakuna makali hupita kwa mdomo wangu hata nikipewa free. I do only two bottles or I chose not to

Wacha ujinga you are talking to an alcoholic…wtf?

na pia kuna raia/friends utalenga

You are going through withdrawal. Reach out to someone. You need to be accountable to someone when you are trying to quit drinking. This is not something you can quit by yourself. You must have a solid support system.

Mtu wa mjengo acha umama nikuambie,
I was once there na niliacha. I used to tremble, my hands Monday morning. So, my advice above worked. I only take one or none and am fine.

Buda uyu jamaa amepita threshold ya ulevi…kuonja kiasi is not an option it will backfire. There is no one fit all solution for this he needs professional help.

Your quiting was sudden that’s why it’s not working. Be gradual. Start by reducing the frequency and the quantity of your drink. I did that and worked for me. Haven’t had a drink since mid December and I still meet my friends in clubs.

Drink one more bottle of Jameson and you will be okay

Cc @Randy

I only take one serving per week.

You are halfway there, well done. Try and find some AA meetings and start fellowship with people who are/were on the same journey. I have seen these meetings work for a lot of people. At the moment, there are AA meetings held online via zoom coz of Corona. Try and find one, you don’t have to talk, just listen to the others and learn from their journey. It’s different for everyone but it’s alway good to try and see what works for you. Apart from meeting, exercise is a big help.

Nikuamua tu. Just be firm with the decisions you make. Staggered into a manhole ya power cables when i was in campus…ilikuwa kubwa hata ngombe 5 zingetoshea…being pulled out nilikuwa nakanyaga cable zingine thick hata ukikanyaga hai bend…once i was out sitted on the pavement…nilijiuliza hizo cable zingekuwa active jeh…? Hiyo ndio ingekuwa real DRY FRY. I last touched alcohol seriously in 2009.
Siku hizi ni guiness 2 3 4 ama ka cream or wine and i have a thing for girly drinks but hazipiti 3 4 bottles.
Weh ni mtu mkubwa i believe unaweza amua tu kuwacha.
Anyway good luck and Jah bless.

It’s all in the mind. Alcohol imeingia system kabisa. The best way is to find another rewarding activity to replace hiyo dependency. Cut off all your drinking friends and hit the gym. Gym gains feel way better than ulevi. Chapa tizi na ulale 8 hrs, within no time utasahau pombe

pole, I suffered compulsive gambling in casino hapa Nairobi for four years. How I quit that remains one of my many accomplishment to day. with enough determination surely you will overcome your alcohol problem. Though I haven’t offered a solution to your problem, I wanted to point out its possible and I hope you will.

Nilisota proper

Ama asote, make sure no idle money laying around

Someone who drinks occasionally can easily quit… but op has admitted he knows he has problem i insist he should seek proffesional help.