Racial Profiling Once Again

[SIZE=7]Six California police officers fire shots at rapper asleep in car, killing him[/SIZE]
Family of Willie McCoy allege racial profiling after Vallejo police fire ‘multiple rounds’ at man
Sam Levin in Oakland
@SamTLevin
Tue 12 Feb 2019 18.15 EST

California police officers fatally shot a 20-year-old rapper who was sleeping in his car outside a Taco Bell, authorities said.

Six Vallejo officers fired “multiple rounds” at the man, identified by family as Willie McCoy, police said. McCoy had a handgun on him when the officers fired out of “fear for their own safety” on Saturday night, according to the department. The family of McCoy, whose rapper name was Willie Bo, said Tuesday that police had racially profiled the young black man and that there was no justification for using deadly force against someone who was sleeping and not a threat.

“There was no attempt to try to work out a peaceful solution,” Marc McCoy, Willie’s older brother, told the Guardian. “The police’s job is to arrest people who are breaking the law – not take the law into your own hands. You’re not judge, jury and executioner … We’re never going to get over this.”

Police said officers were checking up on McCoy after a Taco Bell employee called 911 and said a man was “slumped over” behind the wheel of his car at the fast-food restaurant drive through on Saturday at around 10.30pm. McCoy was unresponsive and had a handgun on his lap, police said, adding that the doors were locked and the car was on. After they called for backup, McCoy “suddenly” moved, officials said in a statement.

Police further alleged that officers told him to “keep his hands visible” but that he “quickly moved his hands downward for the firearm”. Police said six officers all fired shots within roughly four seconds, but they did not disclose the number of bullets that struck McCoy. The officers continued shouting commands before removing him from the vehicle and “rendering medical assistance”. He died on the scene. Police have not yet confirmed his identity and said an autopsy was pending.

The killing of McCoy follows numerous scandals involving alleged police brutality against black residents in Vallejo, a diverse city 30 miles north-east of San Francisco. A 2017 video captured a Vallejo officer straddling a man on the ground and repeatedly striking him in the face. Another violent arrest went viral last year, with a video showing an officer striking a man on the ground with a flashlight or baton. Last month, a Marine veteran accused a Vallejo officer of assaulting himwhile he was filming the arrest of his cousin.

“No one trusts the police in Vallejo,” said David Harrison, McCoy’s cousin. “We are being targeted … Police have a campaign of executing young black men who fit a certain profile. Willie dressed the part. He represents hip-hop music. They are profiled.”

Marc, Willie’s 50-year-old brother, said he suspected police had startled Willie awake, and that they should have ordered him out of the car with a bullhorn instead of approaching him and quickly firing fatal shots after he woke up.

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/727abf771d1e467fb92d239880002a53bf80afb4/3_352_1034_1292/master/1034.jpg?width=300&quality=85&auto=format&fit=max&s=0adc93ab2c61ed62a8a84d02b72de1f8
McCoy, right, with his cousin David Harrison. Photograph: Courtesy David Harrison

“Police are trained to shoot first and hurt you first,” he said. “They do not respect black people. Even when they have a person subdued and their life is not in danger, they continue to be blatantly physically disrespectful. That is just accepted in America.”

Willie had a difficult childhood, losing both his parents at a young age, said Marc, adding: “He was very ambitious about music. He was passionate.” Willie rapped in a group called FBG. Vallejo is the hometown of many successful rappersand musicians.

Willie loved spending time with his nieces and nephews and making music with his relatives, and he treated his friends like family, said Harrison: “If you needed a few dollars, he was there. If you needed a ride, he was there.”

Some of Willie’s relatives were so distraught, “they can’t even really talk about it”, Marc added. “They are just locked up in the house, crying themselves to sleep.”

There have been two high-profile cases in the broader Bay Area of police fatally shooting people after waking them up, prompting civil rights litigation. Last year, four officers in Oakland shot a homeless man who was armed and sleeping between two houses when they arrived, prompting an excessive force lawsuit that the family filed last week, the San Francisco Chronicle reported.

In 2015, Oakland police killed a man who was passed out in his car, with officials claiming that he abruptly woke up and reached toward a gun on the passenger seat. His family was awarded a $1.2m settlement.

Willie’s family said the involved officers should face criminal prosecution.

“We cannot fathom why they would have to shoot him. This was senseless … shooting a man sleeping in his car,” said Harrison. “We want to make sure this never happens again to another person.”

Where’s the video evidence?

Huh? Follow the links or huff at the Guardian editors. Or get busy on this… just trying to brighten your day…

MCCONNELL PLANS GREEN NEW DEAL VOTE

Hoping to embarrass the Democrats, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) promised that he would allow a vote on the Green New Deal, the climate and energy proposal advanced by progressives to address the threat of climate change. [HuffPost]

Lakini, I want to be a devils advocate this time . Why was he having an exposed gun on his lap? When you sleep with a gun on your lap could mean you were ready to shoot but slept away. Should you wake up your shooting instincts might get reignited and think you are under attack and start shooting. So maybe when they saw slight movement then they thought he will shoot indiscriminately.just saying

How comes East asians and even Indians don’t complain about racial profiling. And how comes American police are so bad when almost every black person they kill has a thuggish background.

Kenyan police killed Carlton Maina and I believe that was social profiling because the kid clearly had established himself as a hardworking, honest person.

I do not side with thuggish imbeciles carrying illegal guns even if they are black.

if kenyan cops were as sensitive and trigger happy like american cops …everyone would be dead …this is why i dont lose sleep when american cops get killed …damn piggies deserve it

The difference is white people have never viewed Asians as thugs. But if you enter those upmarket places in US they will immediately start profiling you as a thug because of your skin colour, some might even call the cops on you because they fear for their lives. So imagine a cop with the same mentality coming for you?

Asians have been in the USA for as long as black people. And the reason they don’t get profiled is because they are hardworking and peaceful people.

That guy was a thug and he had an illegal gun with him so that is not profiling. It is reacting to a situation correctly.

You people are busy concerning yourselves with a bunch of pampered, entitled furks na hapa kwenyu kids get shot all the time by police. Kazi ni kuwika “Hessy Wa Dandora”.

Yes kuna thugs among the blacks just like in any race, but hauwezi sema Asians, latinas etc have experienced the same racism as blacks. You should read about THE BLACK WALL STREET uone hata when blacks work hard to make their lives better bado some whites hawataki hio they still profile black ppl negatively.

Read my arguments again.

Why can’t these n*ggers retaliate and also kill officers …they always act as if they thugs , si watuonyeshe basi …

.kwanza year 2017 I celebrated when a black dude came and shot dead two cops in their squad car…also , an army black guy held cops in a gun fight for hours after killing a few , five… Hii umeffi ya Black lives matter & hands up don’t shoot …is sooo MARTIN LUTHER KING…or …Sooo NELSON MANDELA…it’s cowardly & defeatist …you are basically surrendering to your oppressors and expecting respect from them… what the f****

After a very long time , you will get your freedom but you will still be trash to the white racists …why can’t they follow what my idol MALCOM X said …fight for your rights , don’t ask for them …fight back god damn it…defend yourselves…

[ATTACH=full]224955[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]224955[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]224955[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]224955[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]224955[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]224955[/ATTACH]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNil1VpUMT4

Ohh my gawd, you are so negative

I AM A REALIST … I’m sure South Africans will agree with me ?