Raila Odinga calls for probe into mass failure of KCSE exam

Poleni kama mlikuwa mumeona hii ujinga.

[SIZE=3]Summary[/SIZE]
[li]Reiterating the country’s need for skilled manpower to achieve growth, the former presidential candidate said transition to university is key to realization of national goals.[/li]

[li]The Education ministry, Mr Odinga said, should therefore address concerns raised by parents and teachers’ unions on the failure.[/li][/ul]
National Super Alliance leader Raila Odinga has called for the formation of a taskforce to investigate mass failure in this year’s Form Four national exams.

Mr Odinga, in a statement, on Thursday said the low transition from secondary school to university should be a cause for worry.

‘90PC’

“Close to 90 per cent of the KCSE candidates have failed. This is very worrying,” he said.

The results released on Wednesday by Education Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i indicate that only 70,073 out of the 611,952 candidates — just 11.5 per cent — managed the minimum university entry qualification of mean grade C+.

In 2016, some 88,929 qualified.

[SIZE=3]Related Content[/SIZE]
[li]KCSE exams: Why they failed en masse[/li][li]Quick release of results raises queries on quality[/li][li]KCSE: Migori girl commits suicide after scoring C -[/li][li]Ministry under fire for mass KCSE exam failure[/li][/ul]
Reiterating the country’s need for skilled manpower to achieve growth, the former presidential candidate said transition to university is key to realization of national goals.

The Education ministry, Mr Odinga said, should therefore address concerns raised by parents and teachers’ unions on the failure.

“As the country commits resources to free learning and scales up enrolment, the whole purpose and value for money is lost when close to 90 per cent of those students eventually fail,” Mr Odinga said.

KNEC

The former prime minister congratulated teachers and schools that excelled in the national test.

He also recognised the improvements at the Kenya National Examination Council that have seen a reduction in cheating and the speedy release of results.

Teachers unions have dismissed the results as a fraud that had condemned students to mass failure.

Kenya National Union of Teachers (Knut) and Kenya Union of Post-Primary Education Teachers (Kuppet) called for a total overhaul of the grading system.

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Raila-Odinga-calls-for-probe-into-mass-failure-of-KCSE-exam/1056-4237546-13xkjv8/index.html

Shida ya huyu mtu ni gani…is this what we will be subjected to every year? Criticism needs to be constructive…not this kind of bullshit

Si ni yeye tu alisema watoto sio lazima wafanye mtihani? “They wont die” he said.

Ndugu yangu achana na mambo ya mwendaa

Siasa tuliacha 2017 ,

si unaelewa hakuwa anataka wafanye ata exams…he should be left alone to bluff. Personally mwenye anaudhi ni Sossion, he cant stand the way things are running smoothely and alipatwa na Cs hapo juzi.

The guy is trying to remain relevant… People are moving on… Or have already!!

Dr. Matiang’i for president, period. MEGA (Make Education Great Again)!
RAO ameonea CS 2022 lakini atajua hajui…:slight_smile:

:D:D:D Sawa

You know the deep state would be willing to put the Good CS 6ft deep just for a thought of such an occurrence. Mr Matiang’i is a good leader but also a clever cat .

What has been said about that CS Interior post? Moto ya kuotea mbali…

When a man who has nothing else to do tries to remain relevant.

Leo tunachoma mbuzi na maboiz. The women made us stock up on wine, otherwise ingekua beer as we Kenyans like it. Picha ulizia counter ya DHL.

You can say that again. If Uhuru and his wingman,Hustler 1 put him there then itakua …as youngins say, nomareee! He should be Cs for education for life for his own good. Some dockets are just too shark infested. Mr matiangi don’t deserve to be devoured by them.

Why should RAO push for mediocrity or is that what he stands for? Because of Matiang’i’s strict reforms, students are working harder than ever which will translate to a thoroughly educated citizenry. No more shortcuts. Maybe kenyans can actually start discovering stuff instead of being good at stealing exams. Those kcse students who didn’t pass so well have no business in universities, waende tech schools and learn how to do welding, carpentry and the like. We have too many uneducated “college graduates” whose degrees are not worth tissue paper.

i’ll disabuse you of this notion. welding and other tech stuff is not for dolts…

I can’t see the village… smoke, everywhere…the sun is corperating too!

Does Rao own a University Somewhere in Kenya? The only beneficiaries of our corrupt education system have been owners and managers of schools and universities to the detriment of the nation. We commercialized education such that the quality of education was sacrificed at the alter of greater quantity.

Thanks to the good Dr diligence, desire and work ethic have trumped parents pay cheques, good grades MUST be earned.

Who’s got the pitch fork?

Why do you think watu wa jua kali are dunderheads?

:D:D:D:D:D:DGood morning Osiepa!

Many of the teachers who marked the exams indicated that most if not all of the set questions were centred on understanding a concept’ this is a deliberate effort by the ministry to ensure that students understand and internalize what is been taught and know how to answer questions well,… they are shifting students from the crammers, they have been for ages,. it’ll take time but it’s for the better of the future education standards