Raila rent control vs uhuru housing taxation

Which make more sense?

Uhuru has decide to tax formal working class to build so-called big 4 housing.

Raila on other hand had campaign for rent control to ensure house is affordable for masses.

It is obvious you cannot regulate against market forces. Even the interest rates law is not such a good law but it was necessary. Taxation is also not good as well. While the idea can work you cannot overtax your citizenry. They will rebel. Reducing the wage bill should be first priority.

Both are socialist ideas= Bad

This move kill biz and investors shy away, citizens find a way to avoid paying tax. At the end the govt bite its own tail, taking from all with one hand and paying a few with the other.

You are either out of topic or did not connect your response to the topic at hand well.
On the topic at hand, controlling rent would make houses very expensive in the long run. Controlled rent=less profit=disincentive to build=fewer houses=short supply vs high demand= high prices …own goal.

Yes you are right, i was kind of refering to this new idea of jubilee new taxation as whole.

I rebelled by quitting beer the moment it went up after the budget.
If 10% of Kenyans do likewise then the gains had by increasing the tax end up being wiped.
It’s a zero sum game.
Ferk the technocrats at the treasury.

Since when do people boycott alcohol. If they will drink and try and avoid alcoblow then tax ndio itawasumbua…hehe.

I was looking for a reason, they provided it.
How many others do you think were in the same situation?

The fools don’t understand. They want to increase the tax on money transfer charges from 10% to 15%. Slowly, people will shift to equitel which charges 0 for intranet-work transfers.

hakuna kitu mkenya atafanya, atalia tu kwa shosho media na adapt tu ata fuel ikifika 500

Mimi ata niliacha pombe a few months ago just cause it wasn’t my thing. Bado natafuta toxin ya kuimprove my clubbing experience.

Unasema hivi juu uko hujo majuu

Ni ukweli. People no longer partake as before! Alcohol has taken a backseat as we record reduced sales and number of revellers. Hii government ikwende uko!! Guys are back to those backstreets taking makali and going home wakishalewa! Nkt!

Are taxpayer funded/built roads and police also bad socialist ideas?

I think regulation to some extent should be considered,You will find that landlord nowadays build houses for instance a 1 bedroom unit.The space and the organization leaves alot to be desired.Bedroom inatoshea tu kitanda,kitchen hamuwezi ingia mkiwa wawili,sitting is just enough,terrible finishes ni shida tu inapeleka tenant huko who stay for only a few days while looking for other option worth their money.
You will find such landlords asking for the same amount as those who have really taken time to build their houses right.In my view such regulations should be considered

Ukipata uniambie,there is no fun in alcohol

Ukiwithdraw utalipa tu, there is no escaping this.

One of the best way to keep rent low is to open up more areas for settlements by building roads,a rapid transit system, water and electricity connections.
An efficient metro-train serving Thika, Kitengela, Kikuyu & limuru , Ngong areas, further east-lands areas etc, will encourage more settlements and real estate development reducing the demand on the few already densely populated areas.
Hii socialism ingine ni kelele tu.

Those are ok, lakini housing ni kitu every adult should provide for themselves.