Rampant Corruption in Our Country: Personal Experience

Its now 2 months since my friend reported a guy who had defrauded him and many others. As I had stated in a thread here several weeks ago, he was forced to part with kshs 500 before the guy at the dci office in Nyeri could record his statement. After that, another officer came, and they listened to the story together. They demanded for 10k for them to go and arrest the fraudster. They argued that they will have to travel to kitengela where the crook stays and that the money my friend was claiming was huge. After negotiating with them, we settled at 6k. My friend sent them the cash 3 days afterwards. He kept pressuring them via the phone on their progress. After one and a half month of pushing them, my friend was taken to their boss, dcio to narrate the story and request for permission to use the dci car, a ford ranger pick up. The boss promised to offer the car the coming week. However, that did not happen coz the boss was not in the office the whole of that week. After almost 2 months had passed since the case was reported, the car was made available; me, my friend, driver, and two officers headed to kitengela to arrest the culprit. He had been tracked using a phone. On reaching kitengela, we first went to the police station to let them know that we are arresting a guy in their jurisdiction. We then headed to the con’s place. We were lucky that the ford ranger was moving at a terrific speed. Kumbe when we notified the area police about our mission, one spy that he had installed there informed him. Tulipata tu akiwa anataka kutoka gate akikimbia. we blocked his car and arrested him. We returned back to Nyeri with the guy after he refused to pay back the money ndio tumalize hio maneno. He had tried to trick my friend that waandikiane the time he will pay but tulikua tumeibiwa siri that once you make the agreement, he usually don’t honour them. So aliambiwa ni either alipe izo doh ama tuende mbele. We arrived in Nyeri about 9.oo pm at night. Sisi tuliacha tumeskizana na hao dci that we will go to the station early in the morning ndo apelekwe kortini the following day. Hatukufika kwa station juu our place is on the outskirts of the town, so we were dropped along the highway tukaingia kwetu wao wakasonga. Kumbe[SIZE=7] serikali ilipinduliwa[/SIZE] once tulishuka from the car!!! Asubuhi kukuja these officers started taking us round. Then wakaanza kutambia ati ni vizuri tuandikiane. Jamaa had promised them cash if they managed to convince us to let him go after a bogus agreement. We remembered the advice we had been given and refused. Tulisema ni either alipe pesa ama we proceed with the case. They were all compromised. Wakaanza kujifanya hawapati makaratasi ya statement. Mi nlijitoa polepole nkaenda hadi kwa ofisi ya deputy dcio. Nkamwambia watu wake hawataki kufanya kazi, akaniambia he also understands what has happened. Akaita mmoja an akaamuru they do as we wish. statement iliandikwa mbio na jamaa kwanza akanyimwa cash bail juu ilijulikana ni mkora Zaidi. Yaani he had managed to buy them off just like he had the whole of kitengela police in his pocket. He was charged today and given a huge bond that will make him feel the pinch. dci officers wanakuaga corrupt to the core. na wengi hawana hata nyama. unashindwa wanapeleka pesa wapi. na wana njaa ingine mbaya sana. maybe the guy had promised them about 2k. bure kabisa hao. Corruption will never end in kenya

Summary? Pumbafu

Pole inakuanga hivyo. Police reforms needs to be constant not this one off changes every few years.

Worst is that the current IG predicament. Good fella, over qualified but he really doesn’t get it that he is not running that institution. Politicians run it for him, giving orders right, left and centre to his juniors and bypassing him. Sometimes I feel sorry for him.

i said here that we Kenyans benefit from broken systems and we will do anything to ensure the systems remain.
but someone correctly pointed out that we are in fact hurting/losing more than we are gaining but we don’t know it.

hio 2k pia ataenda kupeana hongo apate service tofauti. labda kubribe mtoi apate place kwa shule, …

What is DP Dr.Uncle Ruto’s policy on corruption?

I helped someone pursue a case like that. In the end we lost. He conned my friend a total of 1.23m. He was in a group of thugs. But the DCI traced the theft to him and ID from my from my friend. In fact he even admited under pressure. But it was very clear that he didn’t have that kind of money. Even 100k. We were picking the guy from a slum. To push the case further, the cops were hinting over 50k. So we made a decision to let it go.
And we were being taken round like that. Mara investigating officer is out in training. For 2 months. Mara this, Mara that…

It will take 50 years to have any meaningful reforms in our police force.

Huko hatuendangi boss.

He is the policy.

We had NPSC under kavuludi
They gave us a joke from Marakwet as the first IG
he transferred all the good cops and surrounded himself with clowns
When uhuru wanted me replace him, kalenjin mps insisted that the replacement must be a marakwet

Nikajua sisi kwisha

First thing I would do if I were him is to relocate the training school from Kiganjo in Nyeri to Turkana county, then extend the training period to 2 years.
Six months is too short a time to reform and train already hardened D- material.

those DCIs ate my 50K even after losing 500k on an elaborate car theft ring. They arrested the guys, but I heard they ate a bigger cake from them. case been in court since 2014. I gave up on it. The thugs have never turned up in court after being released on cash bail

I think Boinnet was better than Mutyambai . i cannot even feel the presence of Mutyambai. Anyway…the kenyan police is corrupt to the core. It will take more than a miracle to fumigate it and transform it to a genuine service

Prosecutor alisema jamaa ikipewa cash bail haitakuja court. So he was slapped with a big bond and a surety of the same value.

Police and politicians are our own reflections. Corrupt to the core for most

Remember we had this conversation when Boinet left, they will miss him. His cool calm demeanor hide his stronger qualities that were good management skills and team effort. He managed to put all his juniors with various egos, ambitions and grey areas to work well as a team. It probably helped a lot that UhuRuto and their senior staff then didn’t overeach but dealt directly with him. The current IG has his juniors running different departments as personal space, regional commissioners control police in their areas like their own properties and politicians giving commands all over.

This was a missed opportunity when Kibaki took over he should have disbanded the entire force and started afresh with a newly trained force .
Police should be recruited based on the same level of qualifications as other civil servants.

Mimi naona police ikue devolved. It will be bad at first but it will make people have more say over the police and over time improve it

Sometimes I think if someone cons you it’s better to administer street justice than going to the cops. Hiyo 10k unapea men in black wanapea mtu nyahunyo mpaka arudishe mali yako.

Ukienda station a good part of the day is spent chasing the cops, begging them to do their job.