Rape, Genocide and a Cover-up: How Britain Tortured and Killed 300,000 Kenyans

https://www.africanexponent.com/post/9530-the-torture-of-thousands-of-kikuyu-in-kenya-and-the-great-british-cover-up

[li][SIZE=7]Rape, Genocide and a Cover-up: How Britain Tortured and Killed 300,000 Kenyans[/SIZE][/li][li]https://d255me3ukr1mgj.cloudfront.net/images/africanexponent.com/general/kikuyu1545085725982_aspR_1.667_w2280_h1368_e.jpg[/li][SIZE=6][B]The Torture of Thousands of Kikuyu in Kenya and the great British Cover-up[/B][/SIZE]
[li]Share this article[/li][LIST]
[li]Add To My Reading List[/li][/ul]
[li]https://www.africanexponent.com/public/leafs/optimized/loading.png[/li]Tatenda Gwaambuka
Mon, Dec 17, 2018
[li]In Kenya, the British would pour pepper into the genitals of women, crush the testicles of men, rip them off and make them eat the testicles, sodomise prisoners with bottles and brooms. By 1960, 300,000 Kikuyu were either unaccounted for or dead.[/li][li]Some British folks are delusional, others are ignorant, others are both but a few have the guts to face the truth. What is the truth of the British empire in Kenya? The truth is Kikuyu blood sinking into the land stolen from the same Kikuyu by white men playing an elaborate game of finders-keepers commissioned by British royalty. The truths modern Britain has no balls to accept are crushed and ripped out testicles of Kikuyu men, mutilated breasts of women as well as cut off ears and fingers. Beneficiaries of imperialism are blinded by their privilege to the gouging of Kikuyu eyes by the colonialist machinery and they are too busy on the colonial gravy train that they do not realise that in Kenya, men were dragged by Landrovers until they disintegrated into chunks of scavenger food. These are the truths modern Britain refused to tell until it was forced to and even when it did, numerous people attempted to downplay the ruthlessness of the British imperialist machinery.[/li]In 2012, the British Foreign Office was humiliated by its own dishonesty which had spanned for decades until then. It was revealed that Britain systematically destroyed evidence that would have exposed the evil of its imperialist machine to the world. The Guardian reported, “Those papers that survived the purge were flown discreetly to Britain where they were hidden for 50 years in a secret Foreign Office archive, beyond the reach of historians and members of the public, and in breach of legal obligations for them to be transferred into the public domain.” It was dishonest and most unfortunate but the truth proved too big a secret to hide. The papers showed that ministers in London knew the Kikuyu were being tortured and killed in Kenya chose to remain silent. They also showed that Iain Macleod, secretary of state for the colonies, directed that post-independence governments should not get any material that “might embarrass Her Majesty’s government”. All Britain wanted to do was save face but the blood of the Kikuyu would tell a different story and escape the labyrinth of British lies and deceit. A claim for compensation filed in 2009 by five victims of British torture (Mutua Case) shook the tables and forced the Foreign Office to embarrass itself by releasing damning papers. Years later, the British government publicly accepted wrongdoing in Kenya.
The story of British brutality in Kenya took a macabre turn on 20 October 1952 when a state of emergency was declared by Sir Evelyn Baring as a response to the Mau Mau uprising. According to Benjamin Grob-Fotzgibbon in his book The Imperial End Game - Britain’s Dirty Wars, the term Mau Mau is one with no meaning in the Kikuyu language but might have been a European distortion of the Kikuyu word “muma” being an oath. In the initial stages, the Kikuyu faced 8,251 full time, 6,484 part time and 1,645 full time members of the Kenya Police Reserve, 3,900 soldiers of the British army and 368 Tribal police. These numbers are said to have greatly increased with time. The contigent was not there for games. David Anderson in his account - Histories of the Hanged in Kenya says, “During the entire Emergency in Kenya from 1952 to 1960 the total number of settlers who died were 32, there were fewer than 200 British soldiers and policemen killed, and 1800 ‘loyal’ Africans. As for the Kikuyu, in a census held in Kenya after the emergency it was revealed that over 300,000 Kikuyu had been either killed or were ‘missing’. The official figure for the number of Kikuyu who died was never known.” Elkins in Imperial Reckoning writes that a system of over 100 Detention Camps called the “Pipeline” were used to hold Kikuyu suspected of having sworn an oath against colonialism. White officers sexually abused both male and female detainees and Barbara Castle writing for the Tribune in 1955 said, " In the heart of the British Empire in Kenya there is a police state where the rule of law has broken down, where the murder, rape and torture of Africans by Europeans goes unpunished and where the authorities connive at its violation."
Elkins says some victims’ skin was burnt off and they were forced to eat their own castrated testicles. One particular Kikuyu man was slowly electrocuted to death, his testicles and ears already cut off while one eyeball hung out of its socket. She says, "The men were sodomized by their guards, and bottles, brooms, animals and insects were forced into their rectums. They were pinned to the ground or tied to tables whilst their penises and testicles were beaten and torn from their bodies. Fighters were tied to backs of Land Rovers and driven around the village to slow and painful deaths. Men and women were made to run around with toilet buckets on their heads and they were sometimes made to eat the excrement in the buckets. Sometimes men would be forced to carry the decomposing bodies of killed insurgents, unearthed by the British officers. Some were swung around and around by their hair while others were held the necks and their heads banged together until they were unconscious. Pepper and water mixtures were sometimes poured into vaginas of groaning and vomiting women. Elkins uses census analysis to conclude that between 130,000 and 300,000 Kikuyu were unaccounted for by the end of the state of emergency.
Header Image Credit: The Guardian
[/LIST]

Sad stuff man … did the traiter called JOMO KENYATTA know this atrocities were happening ?

He probably did but all he wanted was his own country which he finally got.

This is why some of us have a morbid hatred of the mzungu. Anataka we mark the Holocaust but forget what he did to us. NEVER EVER.

I was telling uncle Toms here of the same in Kericho and they were pissed because its ruffling their feathers. You can’t commit genocide and takeover ancestral lands then come later to claim it will be bad to reverse it because it “may” cause upheaval or economic hit presently. Consider 300000 people then could be almost 50% of the adult population. Its like killing 10 million people presently without caring. If they returned Hong Kong after centuries then all those multinationals tea farms and ranches in RV must be returned to the locals either by selling 50% shares in NSE, paying country new higher land cess and involving more locals in the operations of the farms. After all they have had a century of raping its benefits for free without a care.

Just say you were telling me, unaogopa nini, si wewe ni serikali? See how fast the tea uprising has been crushed, they didn’t even wait for a British minister to visit? If you are going to uproot them at least have an exit plan, lakini wewe unaona tu Uncle Tom in all my arguments.

I agree completely. It is always laughable how us Africans are expected to forgive past injustices even as others are compensated and apologised to. The British expect us to forget their atrocities, but to remember those of Germans 15 years earlier. The Turks are always condemned for the Armenian genocide, but not the Germans for the Heroro one just 10 years earlier.

Fact is, the British put some Kenyans in concentration camps worse than those of the Germans. People died enmass from typhoid and cholera and starvation.

Todate, remnants of the British colonial state hold hundreds of acres of land as in Del Monte, Finlays, Unilever, Williamson etc etc but all you hear are brain-dead niggas saying that China is colonising us. Do the Chinese hold thousands of acres of land in our country? Do the Chinese have their military here? I want these idiotic niggas to Gugu ‘Nothern Rangelands Trust’ and ‘Lake Turkana Wind Power’ to see who is really tryin to recolonise Kenya.

Sisi tunaambiwa tubark like dogs against China when they are curving out our country for themselves all over again, together with their local ‘homeguard’ allies like the Kenyattas.

Let the tea landsof Kericho and Nandi return to their real owners.

Lake Turkana Wind Farm is quoted as given 150000 acres as reserve land for less than 500 turbines. I don’t know what they gave former President Kibaki to get that. That precedent made all future wind projects untenable. Meru wind farm led to fights until there were casualties. Kirinyaga wind farm project led to riots. All because of land acquisition. In Lamu I’m seeing, the wind farm is supposed to get 10000 acres of pristine land. Those projects keep stopping on technicalities but the real reason is no one will give that much land presently in a nation where squatters exist.

Yes, naona Uncle Tom kabisa because if you talk the talk, walk the walk… You call it tea uprising…kimbia for afternoon tea at Birmingham palace tuone if they see anything other than another successful brainwashed Africa. Fact is thanks to a few pocketed CID officials and Interior ministry high handedness the quest to retake back the ancestral land is reignited in the current generation and they aren’t known for being patient. The DCI Nandi refused to rush to arrest Gov Sang and take him to Kisumu because procedure is that he presents himself, records a statement and if further action is needed then he can be charged there in Nandi law courts or Eldoret High court in UG. Instead someone wanted to cause a show of force and humiliation which he felt wasn’t proper. He has been demoted but I know he will get his justice some day to the dislike of CS matiangi and kinoti. Both Gov Sang of Nandi and Gov Chepkwony of Kericho have sworn never to sign off on those leases renewal and the county assemblies either. Kiambu has taken its share of Del Monte therefore Kericho and Nandi land returns to the counties. KTDA is ready to handle its management, the white man isn’t special. If that upsets you then you need to search inside yourself. Start looking at a mirror.

I understand there are underlying issues but taking over those tea farms and subdividing them into 1/8ths just shows you how mediocre we are as a people .Yes people were uprooted but they need to move on .We cant keep dwelling in the past .

The evilness of Kaburu should be made into movies because unfortunately many people don’t bother reading. Until people see the depths of his evilness will they appreciate MAUMAU
The reason why we still have so many land issues is because Jomo Kenyatta was not interested in pursuing justice. Thousands of Kikuyu and Kalenjin were not slaughtered for the self rule. It was the land that was at the heart of MAUMAU struggle.

Do the Jews move on from the Holocaust? I find it rich when it is Africans trying to get their justice people are always telling us to move on but others are allowed to get payment after payment after payment. Do they bleed silver?
Do you know how many Africans died while the wazungus were taking those lands?

That is public land that was grabbed from county and made into private farm. Nobody in the region is discussing this matter lightly. Subdivision talk is for fools. It will not be enough for the greed. However the county must have a say in the running of the companies as the land occupies 50% of county land area. The companies declare losses for decades yet they are in operations!!! KRA south and north rift officials need to be sacked. Let get the chairman position at the board of those companies as joint partners and order a forensic audit. You will be shocked how much they really make. Do you know Finlay on Kericho has a cumulated 2000 acres flower farm in different estates of its 8000 acres Tea estate. How is it possible for them to make a loss? Lakini let me enjoy this situation. People rant here about grabbed land but only when its suits them. Henry Kosgey is a very rich man, he ate from Nairobi to Nandi during Nyayo 24 years rule. Its not enough? Bado uchikuwe county land with help of former county officials and make it a farm! Those years of payouts from this multinational tea farms ijatosha? 200 million cash ya fourth all Africa games disappeared under him in 1989 but he was not fired by nyayo. Now he was claiming state protection, tumeona lakini sasa him and his son’s who have enjoyed the best money can buy for decades have now reminded people that dynasties waende home kabisa.

Ati upset me, who is upset here when you keep bringing up the issue. And who said white man is special, you keep using your own words to explain what you’ve not understood from my arguments.

I brought up facts na wewe uka catch. If you agitate the current tea economy, we will suffer, those are facts, whether you consider the white owners superior or inferior. What you do with those facts is up to you.

Your problem is that you see it but don’t accept it, instead of engaging me with value arguments you lash at me emotionally and call me an Uncle Tom??

The thread is still there, all your “facts” where uninformed guess which were very wrong. You can reread it and get schooled again. In the end you quote was they are doing us a favour!!! Seriously. MTU ananunua your produce, rebrands at their own to sell to the world. How is that a favour. That’s ukoloni kabisa. Think through your logic kwanza. Asia got rid of that last century to prosper when they kicked out europeans from running their economies. We needed to do that also. Anyway, I’m sorry I can’t make excuses for them like you. I’m glad the decision is now beyond state house and other sell outs. It needs approval from county and that is our strong point.

Hakuna mahali niliandika they’re doing us a favour, what I wrote was I could care less what they do as long as dollars keep coming into the country.

And you didn’t school me anything, I brought you facts about how the majority of trade at the tea auction in Mombasa is controlled by foreign multi nationals. Something you already knew but because you thought I didn’t know, you had initially proceeded to deny so that uonekane wewe ndio unajua pekee.

You know, I have raised some serious issues about European recolonisation of Kenya and nobody is talking. Again, can somebody Gugu NRT? Turkana Wind Farm? Batuk? Conservancies? Del Monte? Unilever? Finlays? Williamson? Etc etc ad nauseum.

And just in case you want to know who benefits from our resources, just go here for an example: https://www.britsinkenya.com/2019/04/01/british-tea-company-brews-up-record-turnover-despite-kenyan-drought/

These exploitative and extractive arrangements MUST END.

Your assumptions aren’t an argument and I have never heard anything like “you knew but I also knew however I just said it first to let you know i know that your knew” Thinking like that just hurts my head. The multinationals are just glorified brokers. They don’t consume that Tea themselves. Our biggest market is Iran, Afghanistan, Sudan, Egypt and Pakistan. They don’t even pay tax to Britain as well. The companies are domain in Macau and cayman islands. They are just the fu*cking families keeping all their loot in colonial area setups.

The torture the British did is unfortunate and as an African it disgusts me.

I am also of the opinion that the thousands of acres the colonial remnants have and that British Army base should be removed but that army base isnt here by force (Remember that the british army was invited to stay around independence as Kenya did not have much of an army to speak of). But these need to be done in well thought out, progressive ways. We dont want an economic meltdown as happened in Zimbabwe.

But at the end of the day, we cant keep looking at what the brits did in the past and start reacting emotionally. The british themselves dont look at the italians and remind them of what happened when Rome colonized England. Israel does not look at Germany and keep cursing them for the holocast and infact those 2 countries are very close allies and partners today. Let it go my African Brothers and Sisters and lets think to the future in a logical, progressive fashion and not emotionally

They don’t have to consume it, they buy more than 80% of tea traded in Mombasa including that produced in all of East Africa and sell it to those countries you mentioned there, and they also fix prices, so basically they operate like the OPEC, so if you can’t see how that influence could devastate our trade balance and or shilling value against the dollar cjui tutaongea nini.

We should be discussing how to reduce their influence. Not getting hung up on trivial issues like who is an Uncle Tom or not.