#RedAlert Meat Queries Vets Response

The #redalert feature by Dennis Okari which has been trending raises a lot of questions on the validity of the messages put across by the feature which is quite misleading to the public. Some of the concerns and false assertions to be debunked include:

1. It is important to point out that sodium metabisulfite is not carcinogenic, contrary to the way it has been incorrectly portrayed in the feature. Sodium metabisulfite is a widely used biocide and preservative in the agriculture, food and beverage industries. It poses no direct danger to humans and there is no evidence whatsoever to suggest that it causes cancer.

2. The laboratory where the meat samples are said to have been tested is not accredited to undertake the analysis, and it certainly does not have the technical capacity and the expertise to analyze meat samples for sodium metabisulfite - being a human pathology diagnostic laboratory rather than a food industry or chemical analysis laboratory. It, therefore, raises queries where the tests were actually conducted and if the results are valid.

3. Furthermore, a simple observation of the clip of the way the samples were handled by the lab technologist who took a piece of meat and put on a test tube against a human biochemistry analyzer and then claims to have used the Monier-Williams method raises serious questions about whether the test was actually done.

4. Likewise, the anatomical pathologist who interpreted the result is not an expert on food science testing and meat analysis.

5. Besides, the closeness of the 3 results from 3 different samples coming from 3 different ‘leading supermarkets’ at 545, 547 and 550 mg/Kg sounds quite odd if not dubious.

6. Whereas it may be true that meat sellers/retailers may indeed be using sodium metabisulfite, the way the feature has been done by Dennis Okari and the results provided are questionable and may be unscientific thus alarmist and misleading, which in turn would be counterproductive for public confidence in science and cause unwarranted and unjustified damage to an industry without scrutiny.

7. It would be appropriate to have the samples tested in a proper and well-established laboratory that is accredited to analyze food samples; and to ensure proper handling of the samples to the correct results are obtained for interpretation which must then be interpreted by the right experts including chemical analysts, food science and vet specialists

This is more akin to corruption fighting back!

Ni nini unasema mjamaa? We have always known… ALWAYS, what Kenyan butchers do. It has always been done probably even before Moi’s era when the quality control systems collapsed completely.

Sio ati ni Okari amejwuza watu leo. Hii ni siri ya zamani.

And there’s a clear link to the numerous cancers today!! And Lord knows what else.

Na sio nyama pekee. The chemicals applied to keep vegetables fresh and green for long. Hadi hazina wadudu.

Hata hizi apple za barabara hio maji huwa wana spray, can’t be pure water.

THIS IS KENYA.

Those who have perrenially slept on the job must have a way of defending themselves.I hope the poison is not fed to the live animal.At this rate we’ll be slaughtering our own.

Mzee, supermarket yako ni gani??

Before we even go to the issue of whether it is harmfull to humans or not, we should talk about additives being put in food without the knowledge of the consumers. You should not sell meat pertaining it to be fresh yet you have added preservatives.

Now, on to your assertion that its not harmfull to humans. I will let this article talk for me:

https://www.nytimes.com/1986/07/09/us/us-issues-ban-on-sulfites-use-in-certain-foods.html

In a nutshell, the article says it has been banned in certain foods and has caused deaths.

You know, you can try to cause disinformation and doubt as pertaining to the story about the whole issue by saying “ohhh ohhh the lab was not accredited, ooh ohhh this n that” thus making the issue very subjective but objectively we can say this:

1. Supermarkets are selling so called “Fresh Food” that has been preserved with chemicals
  2. The way it is mixed in is “na macho tu” as the insider put it and not using any scientific way to do it. So we are likely to receive an overdose of the stuff.
  3. This stuff has caused deaths in the US as per my article and it was banned in some foods way back in 86.

So if you own a supermarket or are a major shareholder well and good. But please dont try to shove shit down our throats and profit from it at the expense of out health. Mbafffff!

Hio Ni cartel trying to sanitize the situation, I’ll continue eating Buffalo meat and other game meat from my certified dealer

That is not investigative journalism, its lazy journalism,SMS is a food preservative. The only crime here is unlicensed use and the seller selling ovyo ovyo.sioni kitu okari alifanya hapo

Kensalt na gloves ziko ready for the Red meat experts to dissect this issue. Please note everyone is an expert.

Boss supermarket yako ni gani?? Ama watu wameacha kununua nyama kwako??

Why should you come out guns blazing…it seems it has affected you so much bro??

finally someone said it…iyo kitu yote ni sensational…The pharmacy and poisons board should be the one on the spot here…

There is also a certain substance they use on chapatis to keep them shiny and give them that fresh look.A cook in one of those supermarkets warned me against buying food from them their Deli.

I said it. Okari was looking for likes and he got them. Many. He ought to have presented his report in a balanced way. Not to sensationalise it. We were around when we were told that maziwa ya nyayo had been laced with family planning drugs. Ufukara na njaa zetu ndio zilifanya tukaignore huo upuzi. Sasa middle class ndio hawa wanalengwa na uongo, sensational lies.

Ubaya, they said that lies travel very fast. By the time the truth comes out limping from wherever it is, lies have already travelled half around the world!

First, most of those who are throwing vile comments at me are either functionally illiterate or suffering from developmental dyslexia((word-reading inability well above normal for age and IQ). ) since they cannot read the heading.

I did not write this as my opinion I cleared stated in the heading its the opinion of Vets.

Secondly, I am not sanitizing anyone and I do not own any business that sells goods leave alone meat.

TEsting sodium metabisulfate is very easy. Nakumbuka tukifanya form 6. You just take hydrochloric acid and add to the compound. You then add barium chloride and get a white suspension of Barium sulfate, which is insoluble

You should not apologise to nobody for nothing here. Hata kama that’s your opinion you have a right to to say it here. Bora hujatukana mtu. Wanaokutukana, ukiangalia hapo chini utaona kuna vitu vinaitwa ghosts. Just ignore them.

Accredited by who? Tribal nicompoop cartels?

Did you miss the whole point where they said those chemicals if used in excess are clearly harmful, cause respiratory problems, and have even caused death??? Some of the chemicals have been banned in other countries!!

[ATTACH=full]248569[/ATTACH]

Wewe unaridhika na investigation ya siku moja pekee? Kwa nini he had to obscure the face and the name of the supermarket attendant and the supermarkets alizofanyia research zake? Na hao chemical suppliers, did he have to fear naming them also? … wild goose hunting expedition.

Acknowledge source brare magua.
[MEDIA=twitter]1151012953254240256[/MEDIA]