Remember Emily Wanjiru, Uhuru's adopted little poet?

Nimeona kwa Alai juzi. It’s an old article from December last year.

[SIZE=7]Emily Wanjiru: The Plight Of President Uhuru’s ‘Daughter’ Living In Poverty[/SIZE]
By
Eva Nyambura

December 14, 2018

[/ul]

https://i0.wp.com/www.kahawatungu.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/dnemily2304c.JPG.jpg?resize=600%2C400&ssl=1/Courtesy
4 years ago, a 6 year old Emily Wanjiru stood in front of President Uhuru Kenyatta among other dignitaries to entertain them with her famous poem titled “Mvua Hii”.
That was the beginning of good fortune for Emily and the end of her woes. She was awarded full scholarship until secondary level, together with her family they were gifted a new home and on top of it all, she got to join a new school.
Fast forward to 2018, Emily’s life has dwindled back to the struggles that she once faced. She lives in a dilapidated house that has no basic utilities such as electricity, proper roof or water.

Her family suffers from a clogged sewer which allows raw sewage to float around.
Read: President Uhuru Kenyatta, CBK Unveil New Currency Coins
https://i0.wp.com/www.kahawatungu.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/Emily-Wanjiru.jpg?resize=600%2C400&ssl=1/Courtesy
Little Emily and her family were moved from Thika slums to a two-bedroom house in Juja. She was then offered a full scholarship at St Petrock School in Runyenjes, Embu County, which would cater up to her Secondary school education.
She was visited by various people such as Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko, Team Uhuru led by Dennis Itumbi among others. The groups donated generously towards Emily’s plight and future.
Juja Equity Bank branch manager Francis Mbindyo set up an account for Emily and her grandmother and gave her grandmother micro-entrepreneurship training to help her manage a small-scale business that they had set up for her.
Today, Emily’s performance in school has dropped drastically, due to her state of living and the challenges that she once again faces.
Also read: Civilian Gun Owners Move To Court To Challenge Matiang’i’s Fresh Vetting Order
https://i0.wp.com/www.kahawatungu.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/Emily-Wanjiru-and-her-grandmother-Esther-Nduta.jpg?resize=600%2C400&ssl=1/Courtesy
He family was kicked out of the home that they had moved to after Team Uhuru failed to pay rent as they had promised, forcing them to move to Kiambu town.
According to the Standard, Itumbi’s team paid rent for 2 years, furnished their house, did shopping for six months and even provided a frequent stipend of KSh10,000.
“The president promised to educate the girl, which he did and continues to do. The Kiambu County Government gave the family a house. Honestly, we have done our best to help the family to a level that is respectable,” said Itumbi.
Emily’s mother says that putting food on the table has become a struggle as she is sometimes forced to go and pick food from a nearby dumpsite.
Emily is just one of the few children that President Uhuru Kenyatta adopted. Another one of them includes Daniel Owira, a now graduated Highway Secondary School Alumni.
Owira is now a Mass Communication student at Multimedia University.

Sielewangi haya mambo. Mtu anatolewa slum, unapewa biashara, anapewa mafunzo ya kuiendesha, na bado unarudi slum. You try to elevate a slum dweller, the slum catches up with them wherever you take them. I think people are where they are because the universe has them there for a reason; a balance of sorts.

As I keep reiterating Low IQs are a problem in this continent.

Teach a man to fish, simple. Give the family jobs.

Like the old proverb goes: give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.

I like to compare leaders. Kibaki rarely give freebies. He was about expanding opportunities, expanding the economy, so that those who WANT to excell can excell. Hata alikataa harambee. Lakini jubilee duo…

Look at Trump. He is all about jobs not freebies and harambees.

All in all kama umeitikia kulea mtoto, si you just do it. Ulishachukua jukumu you can’t quit halfway, Mr. President. Mfikishe angalau campus.

The grandmother used to break rocks in a quarry to sustain the family. She also collected garbage. According to this Star newspaper article from 10 days ago the old lady is still collecting garbage four years after meeting the President…

Si wangempatia kazi kwa Kiambu county ama hata statehouse…

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2019/01/08/girl-who-awed-president-wanjiru-is-living-in-poverty_c1873817

The mother of the girl is said to be sickly.

https://www.tuko.co.ke/191415-family-of-uhurus-favourite-girls-evicted-from-house-by-landlord.html

Uhuru hates poor people, especially wakikuyu. You bshould see his own uncle, flessh and blood relative who lives in jIcaweri as a pauper

Maybe his uncle has chosen that lifestyle

But me husema kwani unataka msaada forever … ka huwezi fikiria and plan then ukiumia blame yourself

What have you and Alai done for her family besides kelele bure? Anzisha mchango, Kenyans will contribute if they believe in the cause. The world is not always fair and you cannot please everybody. As for that Al Shaitan terrorist, it had nothing to do with your fictitious Kenya B, C, D.

Al Shaitan were responding to your hero Drumpfs policies!
[MEDIA=twitter]1085825324494008321[/MEDIA]

The fallacy of this being a result of being poor or marginalised (a class war) is the reality that such attacks cost millions to plan and execute. Read this: https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2019/01/18/kdf-father-last-saw-terrorist-son-in-2015_c1879707 and you will understand poverty could not have been the defining factor.

Why do you feel a need to mislead others while failing to respect the memory of those who died? If you yourself personally failed in life, don’t blame those who have worked hard to be where they are and needlessly lost their life for absolutely no reason.

Kenya has serious problems best exemplified by this article. Nothing can ever justify acts of terror against people who have absolutely zero to do with USA policies, even if they did, it is absolutely not justified by any measure. The below are the type of problems that need to be addressed and in the right and proper way.

[ATTACH=full]221199[/ATTACH]

Enyewe mimi ni Alai ni makelele tuko nayo. Si urongo. Ni pang’ang’a.

But natetea huyo grandma in that juu inaonekana bado ako na nguvu ya kazi sidhani wanataka handouts. Employment would go a long way in meeting her and her grandchild’s needs more than Uhuru going into his pocket every month.

Similarly imagine if even more Kenyans were empowered with jobs that would be even better.

Hio ya Barack Muluka we are all in agreement. In fact I support a national discourse on this very very important matter of education. Because education is a nation’s backbone. And I don’t think it can be solved with sijui 2-6-6-4 or wherever. It’s deeper than that.

Ni sawa hapo middle class? Now continue mourning in peace. Hata sijasema usi mourn. Mourning is good. It clears the sinuses.

Alai is uniquely positioned to use his wide reach to mobilise Kenyans if he truly cared about the girl vs his moment in the spotlight (using her plight for his own prominence). Talking about it is welcome but actions speak louder than words.

What do you propose? Who will give her a job? If the grand mother was over 70 she could earn this stipend. 1000 kenyans giving Ksh 10 each or 100 Kenyans giving Ksh 100 would give the family what they need for a month (but it does not cure the dependency) https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001267078/senior-citizens-get-government-money

It starts with the education system and changing our thinking, failing to pass KCSE or KCPE dooms many Kenyans in life when it should not be the case.

Kenya needs transformative leaders, we take chances on our leaders and they disappoint us but we would still vote for them again if we had to do it all over again. It is time Kenyans asked themselves how will I benefit? We have to be selfish to understand the type of leaders we would want representing our interests.