REVISITING THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORAL SYSTEM

Given the irrational nature of some sub-human species called tribalists: who happen to be slightly behind the homo habilis in terms of brain development, there is need to revisit the voting system.

A point system would be extremely ideal where all governors become presidential candidates by default and the point system then evaluates their performance in different areas of governance. The top governor is then accordingly made president (for a 1 or 2 term max).

For the idea to work , more power and jurisdiction is necessary to the governorship in order to create broader areas of assessment and to provision for meaningful evaluations.

Otherwise, we will forever become victims to the poor decision-making of the dense tribalists and the majority of the population who are unwise.

I like your thinking…if we can get “A point system” that is beyond reproach, this can be the best governance model.

That idea sounds rational…Just to add to it, we do not need 47 counties (potential presidents) …scale the number down to 8 counties (original 8provinces)

Who creates the point system, operates it and controls it?
What is the criteria of performance of a governor?

Uko na ufala. kwa io pool wenye watakuwa wanalead ni governor wa Nairobi na Governor wa Mombasa. Joho na Mike Sonko. Governor wa county zengine hawatakuwa na experience tosha.

Who will be in charge of this points system because he will be Musandoed every few months?

He or she will also be the richest person in the country.

Good question…the idea is just but a foundation to a work in progress concept which can be developed into something workable.

wewe.
si juzi we have been told that we can all be presidents?
we have seen sub-counties fighting to host the county headquarters, constituents been subdivided, calls for counties to be sub divided…
we are already a divided nation so reducing the number of counties might be out of order

Not necessarily. If you paid enough attention you would realize that someone like Alfred has done a phenomenal job with Machakos. It isn’t about experience…those with experience are the ones who normally misappropriate funds and shortchange folks.

8 provinces can’t work, look at eastern province, you expect embu and samburu and all to accept a kamba governor? nyanza je? gusii and luos? what about kurias? rift valley je? maasais to be led by kalenjins? central rift je? we’re a tribal country that’s a fact…counties are here to stay, hata sahi kurias want their own county. , central and western provinces are the only near homogeneous provinces ,the rest itakuwa chaos tu.

Instead of embracing tribalism, why not fight it?

8 provinces used to work kitambo. If need be, once the 8 provinces/ counties are established then maybe the name of post should be changed from ‘governor’ to something fancy…in order to confuse the brainless tribalists :D:D and the same done to the area of jurisdiction.

[QUOTE="Mzeiya Flan

Mnasoma mambo ya magazeti sana. Uliza @BADASS ukambani masaku kuko aje.
Halafu mnajua nini? Si Ruto atakuwa governor wa eldoret, weta governor wa huko kwao, kalonzo governor wa kitui, ama kuna kitu itabadilika?

That’s why the counties are being narrowed down to 8 counties, so it is an unlikely course…and most importantly: the president will be appointed on grounds of merit.

Ile system iko sa ii unaeza pata watu wengi kutoka sectors zote za maisha. James Mwangi anaeza itisha kiti. Administrators wa Vyuo vikuu wanaeza itisha kiti. Wasomi wanaeza itisha kiti.

Io enye umnapropose itakuwa lazima president akuwe ametoka kwa ile list ya wanasiasa wenye wanaturegesha nyuma.

How sure are you it rig-proof. Hapo ndio Noma shida ya Kenya ni ghasias you think that we owe them to be president. And do not want to accept deceive.

In the words of Aerosmith…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZfZ8uWaOFI

True, but ata kama kila mtu anaeza vie for the presidential seat, it always ends up to a 2 horse race between known political figures…marred with tribalism

A dream towards the right direction.

Alfred has done a phenomenal job at his Alfred and Lilian hotel, the man is a natural actor and adept at pr. Tembea Masaku omwami.
The point system seems fair to me, but the benchmark is where the issue would be since not all counties have equal resources at their disposal… and not just national funds, think of the culture and education levels of different counties.

Thanks for the throwback!