Rhumba lovers, an observation.

Every serious Rhumba lover must have listened to the most melodious voice of the beautiful Faya Tess. Truth be told, she has the best voice in the history of Rhumba and her covers are the best. But there is something worthy mentioning.

In as much as she tries to do covers of popular hits by Madilu, the covers, not matter how powerful they sound cannot match the original hits. Madilu tends to have authenticity that cannot be copied to sound just as the original version. It’s impossible. His voice. His flow of thought. His unique infectious laughter.

For instance, Faya Tess did a very beautiful cover of Tabu Ley’s “Mokolo na Kokufa” that sounds so much better than the original version. But her cover of Madilu’s “Nzele” cannot match the original version no matter how beautiful her voice sounds in the song. Madilu was authentic. You can’t have a synthetic version of him.

Achana ni izo nyimbo mzee mzee…skiza Ferre, Watanabe ama Fally

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lb3l6msZWkA

I listen to both. Lakini hizo Mzee ndizo fire msee. You can’t compare Fally ama Ferre Gola na watu kama Franco ama Madilu. It’s disrespectful!

Spare him, he is a kid!

You cant compare kina Ferre to kina Franco. All their songs feel the same unlike the old skool

mwoshaji wa choo aka watchman hujamaliza shift yako?

Thanks for this man, apart from Ferra, Fally which new artists are you guys listening to

makata ya mwasi

I agree with you 101%. Nothing compares to ‘le grand ninja’ … that guy was on another level with his composition and delivery, melody to my ears. Rhumba ya solo …

True
For me I also think Josky Kiambukuta deserves same level of fame and popularity as Franco and Madilu. That guy was on another level. Listen:

Josky was also a good vocalist but it seems like he never did any solo project outside TPOK jazz unlike Madilu who went on to record hits after hits following the demise of Luambo Makiadi

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecdUDfUgSK4

Listen to the drum intro. This song was a masterpiece.

Now you guys are talking.
Watu wa rumba tupatane Tents

Orchestra Sosoliso - Sex Madjesi

Legends

Amour cherche amour.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptUaDW2MUAk:302

I think he should. But vile @kush yule mnono amesema, his greatest undoit was his inability to go solo after the death of Franco and ultimately TPOK Jazz. Watu kama Papa Lutumba Simaro went ahead and ventured into solo projects releasing hit after hit. To would love Papa Lutumba Simaro for his solo projects. Same na kina Madilu.

That guy was great. Only second to Luambo, Franco himself who in my view was and remains the greatest of them all.

Rhumba tamu ni hio ya kitambo, it’s timeless. With time after listening to the oldies, you get to see new faces kama kina Fally na Ferre. There are many youngins but matching the oldies is a tall order. Hio authenticity ndio utamu wa Rhumba.

Tabu ley remains one of the most underrated musicians yet fans considered him an equal and rival to Franco!
Pepe Kalle also had nice rhumba hits under his name such as Tika Makanisi and Eva Matoko to name just but a few.
Defao in his hey days was among the best if not the best.His great hits include Piss Cass,Annie,Zongisa Bolingo,Baby Ewing,etc
Just before the emergence of Ferre and Fally,lets give credit to their mentors Werrasson and JB Mpiana.