RIP David Rubadiri

in the mid 80s nilipo ingia form 3 ndio nili meet this great man, during selection of subjects i had dumped Biology Geography and History and taken Literature, literature in english and Fasihi, among zile books nilipewa kulikua hii
[ATTACH=full]195465[/ATTACH]
and i fell in love with poetry
nikajua Metaphors and similes
nikajua imagery and symbolism
[ATTACH=full]195467[/ATTACH]
hapo hapo ndani ya hicho kitabu nilimpata Taban Lo Liyong na his poem Atieno yo, wueh, si poetry ilikua ya fanya mtu asweat kajasho kabaridi.
kwa wale hawakumjua here is a brief autobiography
http://img.poemhunter.com/p/13/1469813_b_6152.jpg
James David Rubadiri is a Malawian diplomat, academic and poet.

At independence in 1964, Rubadiri was appointed Malawi’s first ambassador to the United States and the United Nations. On Tuesday August 18th, 1964, he presented his credentials to President Johnson at the White House and expressed the hope that his newly independent country would get more aid from the United States. Ambassador Rubadiri said that Malawi needed help to build its democratic institutions and noted that Malawi was already receiving US economic and technical help. David Rubadiri left the government in 1965 when he broke with President Hastings Banda.

Education

Rubadiri attended King’s College, Budo in Uganda from 1941-1950 then Makerere University from 1952-1956, where he graduated from with a bachelor’s degree in English literature and History. He went on to the University of Bristol from 1956-1960, where he received a master of arts degree in English literature.

Publications

His only novel, No Bride Price was published. The novel criticized the Banda regime and was, along with Legson Kayira’s The Looming Shadow, some of the first published work by Malawians.

[ATTACH=full]195469[/ATTACH]
This great man was buried yesterday in a low key ceremony in Malawi.
[ATTACH=full]195470[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]195471[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]195472[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]195473[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]195474[/ATTACH]
MHSRIP

Na alale pema mwalimu.

@pseudonym i challenge you uangushe poem moja hapa reo, ata kaa ni erotic ni sawa tu, bora ni poem

Fossil

Alizikwa kichakani?

typo, its mid 80s
Fisked

Atieno washes dishes, Atieno you. Rest in peace

a great man is never honoured in his home country.
i can bet ata hizo vitabu zake tulisoma hazikusomwa Malawi.

[ATTACH=full]195480[/ATTACH]

Tengo Rubadiri fierce lawyer but a chilled out guy, met Him nikiwa raundi huko downsouth. The man has stories, RIP to His Ol Man.

Any relations to our very beautiful, thick legged Victoria Rubadiri?

I had great love for his poetry.
Stanley meets Mutesa is my favorite.
Probably coz we recited it in drama and music club.

She is the grand daughter

really,
how did she end up here in 254

Mwalimu at one time taught at UoN

wish i had met him.
did our githeri media have any coverage of his death and burial?

didn’t read the weekend papers

Waachie nani story ya Sharon na Obado?

Atieno yo was written by Marjorie MacGoye

Co-asks. Always assumed she’s a mtaita

Why lie and you know I know that in 1952 you were washing cups at Blue post after failing your driving test twice:D…by the way is he the same guy who wrote ‘The Burdens’?