RIP Ras Kimono

[ATTACH=full]175188[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]175189[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]175190[/ATTACH]
Nigeria’s reggae star Ukeleke Onwubuya , popularly known as Ras Kimono, is dead.

The 60-year-old died on Sunday, according to close family sources, who revealed that the musician was rushed to a hospital in Ikoyi after he slumped on Saturday.

The President of the Performing Musicians Association of Nigeria (PMAN) Mr Pretty Okafor, described the reggae artiste’s death as a big loss to the music industry.

Ras Kimono, whose debut album Under Pressure, led by the single Rum-Bar Stylée, was a big hit on the Nigerian music scene in 1989 .

Besides Under Pressure which was released in 1989, Ras Kimono had other hits, including, We No Wan in 1989, What’s Gwan in 1990 and Rub A Dub released in 1990.

MANY AWARDS

Ras Kimono won many awards, including City People Movie Lifetime Achievement Award.

He hit the Nigerian music scene in 1989, before releasing his solo album.

Ras Kimono was in a group called The Jastix along with Amos McRoy and Majek Fashek.

His music was greatly influenced by the poverty, inequality and hardship he witnessed in his early life.

He released Under Pressure on the Premier Music label in 1989, which propelled him to instant continental stardom.

The album had hits like Under Pressure, Natty get jail and the massive hit Rhumba style.

TOURING AFRICA

Ras Kimono later released a string of hit albums, touring all over Africa, Europe and the US, promoting his brand of reggae music.

By 2010, he was still performing to a loyal fan-base of all ages and his music is still played throughout Africa.

Ras Kimono served a long apprenticeship on the Nigerian music circuit, experimenting with a number of styles, before making his late 80s breakthrough as a reggae singer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQkw8papFaI

Rest In Power rasta…hii ngoma ilikuwa ikichapwa pale nyanza house kila mtu anaingia dancefloor

musub county nataka kudust off my DL ,nitafutie lori ya miguu kumi niwe kadere please

RIP

RIP Ras Kimono…I never knew he was Nigerian.

Always rememeber him for his hit, “under pressure” in the early 90’s
May his soul rest in peace.

Me neither

Kumbe ni m-Naijo:eek::eek: Always thought he was Jamaican.:D:D

nakumbuka nikiona video zake kbc in black and white during the 94 world cup. Him and Tracy chapman they were huge, before 7p.m habari. Kila siku lazima under pressure ichezwe. Sijui ni kuchokoza Moi, life was toff!

Under pressure we wail under pressure…

Na informer by Snow… na Apache Indian na Vanilla Ice.The days of Wild Rose and No one but you and Ramayan and Mahabharat and Joma ghee adverts and Mpishi nyumbani and Always adverts and the knorr cube lady and 21 jump street and Lorenzo Lamas in RENEGADE. May he RIP. Wacha nitafute hio cassette.

You have a vivid memory for an old 4sil…:smiley:

It has driven you deep down memory lane?
Huh!

Now I’m in my office humming this song…good ol days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbU3zdAgiX8

Omo pick a box na Plot 10 na Face to Face na ile ya kuzungusha debe, Kenya Charity Sweepstakes na Perspective View sijui Proffessional Perspective.

KBC ilikuwa mbele. Na weekend movie. Na Bold and the beautiful na PS I love you na Hardcastle and McCormick na Falcon Crest na Hotel na Leave it to beaver na WWF wrestling hadi kbc ilileta Showtime at the Apollo na Fresh Prince. And the very dirty Arsenio Hall Show. Never heard the work fuck used so liberally.

Ktn nayo Parker lewis Can’t lose na Martin. Na Murphy ya Brown. Na ile ya kukimbizana Benny Hill Show. Truly the End of an era.

Who can forget Aus gehen Derrick! Detective Chief Inspector Stephen Derrick. Unfortunately in real life the guy who played derrick was once a waffen SS. Na the littlest hobbo na Robocop. Na the A team.

nakuambia zimerudi zote. kwanza hio world cup ya America vile ilikuwa inakuja unGodly hours.

1987 4th all africa games, venue, kasarani, ras kimono perfomed under pressure in the opening ceremony. First time i heard the song. I remember PJ powers also performed in the ceremony. Only fossils can recall.RIP Rasta.

oh yes he was. Hio cassette iliuzwa sana. Na ilikuwa pirated sana. lucky dube gone. sasa ni alpha blondie pekee amebaki. Africa Rasta.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWavLw4691A

An apt reminder of how time flies, yesteryears kid is today’s grandfather.
Hot chics in the 90’s are today’s Mother’s union members @pseudonym?

sasa kumbe huwa unacomment?

ni coolio niliona hata hana nywele. upara mbovu sana. but patra amejaribu kujimaintain.

http://whenrapwasreal.com/wow-remember-patra-you-wont-believe-what-she-looks-like-now/?kkpg=2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfBqBhL6JKU

me 4