rooting android and upgrading my os

wadau kitekinologia nawasalimu.Naomba usaidizi au advice how to go about upgrading my Android from ginger mkate version 4:0:1 to jelly maharagwe Ama sijui kit kat.nilitembelea darasa la Google nika root simu but now sijui where to get the firmware. link ya download.please help a lay man with no much technological know nikisoma Kwa Google sielewi. na mubarikiwe

simu gani?

alcatel onetouch 997d

I wish ningekusaidia but me ni msee wa kabambe I access net through Fiber

Hehehe. u may be using kambambe and maybe u r an IT guru.

I rooted my previous phone and there was no big difference in storage :frowning:

Kwanza 4.0.1 inaitwa Ice Cream Sandwich. Jellybean 4.1.0-4.3, Kitkat 4.4.0-4.4.2. Lollipop 5.0.1. After rooting you still have the firmware you bought the phone with.
Sasa hakikisha uko na super user app kwa phone. Then tafuta Recovery service like ClockWork Mod, then tafuta Custom Rom yenye itatumika kwa your phone model. Visit www.xda-developers.com/ to get the required Rom, recovery service and link for Google apps. Follow instructions there to the letter if you really want to proceed. Of course before all this back up your data because you’ll clear it with the recovery. Utasaidiwa zaidi na @Deorro na @snapdragon

thanks bro let me try but hope nikilemewa I will count on u for any further assistance if need be am humbled by ua helping heart…

http://www.xda-developers.com/ has all your answers though, plus the two talkers I quoted will assist.

When you brick the phone i will buy it from you for 500bob! :smiley:
but goodluck bwana…as a newbie its very intense when you do custom rom upgrade. But you will feel like a god, the moment you finish flashing the rom and you reboot the phone and you pita the initial boot load.
Dont stress if things go a bit crazy while doing it. I have personally soft-bricked 4 phones and 2 tablets while doing custom roms. Just make sure you read and re-read those instructions.

forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1981692

Snapdragon i needed your assistance hukunijibu?

Sorry buddy what was ua question again

I inboxed you …wanted some help with my phone was adviced to root since it doesnt recognize security settings …radio doesnt play and it heats sana hapo camera area its a samsung galaxy s2

Just inboxed u

Which version are u running

hehehe you are absolutely right