Running on Empty-Auto enthusiasts and car gurus.

[ATTACH=full]79247[/ATTACH]

Let’s take a small break from politics.I know most you know that feeling of dread when your empty light comes on and you are miles away from nowhere.

It’s an anxious spot to be in, but know that car manufacturers don’t mark the E with the very final dregs of your tank.

The distance you can travel on empty depends on the kind of car you’re driving, and automotive company Your Mechanic broke down exactly how long you can ride that empty status before losing steam.

Now, we don’t recommend driving your car on emptybetter to safely refuel before you hit a quarter tankbut when you’re in a pinch, any peace of mind is a good thing.

Your Mechanic pulled the top-selling vehicles in 2015 and shared how many miles you can still drive after hitting that empty signal:

How Far Can You Drive Your Vehicle on Empty?
Make Model Fuel remaining when low fuel warning light is triggered Miles remaining when low fuel warning light is illuminated
Ford F-150 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Chevrolet Silverado Not available 25
Ram 1500 3 gallons 63-87
Toyota Camry 2.6 gallons 65-91
Toyota Corolla 2 gallons 60-84
Nissan Altima 3 gallons 81-114
Honda Accord 2.6 gallons 70-93
Honda CR-V 2.3 gallons 62-78
Honda Civic 1.9 gallons 59-80
Ford Fusion 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Ford Escape 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Toyota RAV4 2.4 gallons 57-74
Chevrolet Equinox Not available 50
Nissan Rogue 3 gallons 78-99
Hyundai Elantra Not available 30
Ford Explorer 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Chevrolet Cruze 2 gallons 56-84
Ford Focus 1/16th of a tank 35-80
GMC Sierra Denali 4 gallons 64-92
Hyundai Sonata Not available 40
Jeep Cherokee 3 gallons 66-93
Nissan Sentra 2 gallons 60-80
Jeep Wrangler 2.8 gallons 47-58
Chrysler 200 3 gallons 69-108
Chevrolet Malibu 2 gallons 50-72
Jeep Grand Cherokee 3 gallons 66-90
Toyota Tacoma 3 gallons 63-75
Subaru Forester 2.6 gallons 62-83
Kia Optima Not available 30
Toyota Highlander 2.9 gallons 58-72
Kia Soul Not available 30
Toyota Sienna 3 gallons 54-75
Subaru Outback 2.6 gallons 65-85
Nissan Versa 2.6 gallons 65-85
Volkswagen Jetta 1.85 gallons 57-85
Honda Odyssey 3 gallons 57-84
Honda Pilot 2.5 gallons 45-62
Ford Mustang 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Ford Edge 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Chevrolet Traverse 2.5 gallons 42-60
Toyota Tundra 4 gallons 60-72
Jeep Patriot 2 gallons 46-60
Toyota Prius 1.6 gallons 76-81
Hyundai Santa Fe Not available 40
Kia Sorento Not available 40
Chevrolet Impala 2 gallons 44-62
Ford Transit 1/16th of a tank 35-80
Mazda 3 2.3 gallons 69-94
Mazda CX-5 2.6 gallons 67-91

I never let show the light but i hear a car can go some distance on empty.

we’ve not seen half of these cars here in kenya …are u foreign or something??

most modern vehicles have an emergency reserve tank. a forester can go about 20Km after the empty light comes on.

Wapi Pujo Na probox

Just concentrate on the models you are conversant with.
My aim wasn’t to sell a car to anyone.

I’m on empty aki @Mathaais saidia mimi na 3k

Almost all cars have a reserve if 60kms

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_fD7RVd3m8

its more coz kwa legacy tripmeter inasemanga range ni 80km —> just when the light comes on. na bado needle iko far from E kiasi

that would be impressive. never had the balls test the veracity

@Female Perspective Inbox your mpesa number and repayment plan.

What about X7 ?

I once tested my car, a toyota 2000cc. Ilienda over 60kms na bado haikuzima. Nikafika home. Kesho yake ikakataa kuguruma.

I once had a Toyota 110 that created fuel while i was using the reserve tank. It was one of those stupid days when there was a fuel shortage in the city and i was on thika road trying to go to kitengela. I decided to go to my friend’s petrol station huko near Enterprise Road since he told me a truck had just come with fuel but there was already a queue at the peti. I told him to put atleast 5litres kando for me in jericans.
The jam was insane that day, but i swear that gauge started rising from E and going up as I sat in jam. It took me literally 3hrs to get to the peti and in all that time i didnt switch off the engine while idling in jam…

and that is why RWNBP.

Dude, si you learn the metric system then share with us…

hehe running on vapor

The figures for X7 should be almost similar to Labogin

hehehe.
me too, I had a Toyota 110 2 years ago, so 1 day nikapitia Ruaka bypass en route to Nax, just before I reached St Peter Uni, the danned car ilikuwa imewakisha taa, but I travelled all the way to Nax with the reserve, mind you, that’s over 100 kms.