Rural Coast imechapa ki-design

The many times I have been to the Coast Region, its usually to and From Mombasa. I didnt know much about the rest of the Region.
Dude that place is punishing. The Land scape is semi-arid and not so good looking, harsh and the people look hardy. There are worse places in this country, But I never thought coast would be this bad. I have always judged and thought of all of coast from what I used to see in Mombasa. After venturing into Kwale and Kilifi, dude !
Any person from the green belt (Kisii, Western, Central, Parts of Eastern, and the Rift Valley would struggle settling in Rural coast. Another place that has significant populations but looks harsh to live at is Kibwezi. Mtu unaona watu wakitembea lakini hakuna Nyumba. Unapiga kilometers kabla uone kanyumba flani shida shida. People deya suffer. Or maybe am judging through the perspective of someone who is used to see lots of greenery and higher population densities in the Rural Areas (Vihiga to be precise).
[ATTACH=full]392008[/ATTACH]

Tembea Kenya

I see green

Coast Region umasikini umekita mizizi. Culture ya watu wa huko imewaregesha nyuma

Socialism

Tukipata tunagawana, tukikosa, sawa, tunashukuru mola, hawako ambitious

Any one ever gone to Mpeketoni at any time of the year?

Anyways! Coast haijapokea mvua ya kutosha the whole of this year and we are currently at the tail end of the dry season. Come visit again after 8 weeks from now and see if you will be of the same opinion

About the people being hardy, I reserve my comment. Perhaps you come from Luxembourg or Monaco and the people here look very different from what you are used to.

problem is post colonialism Jomo and his cronies appropriated all their lands, they are all squatters. unaona nyumba za shida coz a skuota wont build a stone house on land yenye si yake coz itabomolewa .

Uhunye naye amekuom akaleta dry port to Naivasha , more poverty .

ICJ nayo inataka kuwanyanganya bahari , sidaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Coast is a very poor province. Isipokua nyali where birrionea live na ukunda juu ya tourism huko kwingine ni ongè. Its no wonder early marriages there are the norm.

Thats where your grandchildren will buy land. The greenbelt is getting overpopulated.

Uvivu ndio Sana, iyo weather haipatii mtu syke
South coast manze kuna umaskini…kuna iyo ghetto iko hapo ukushavuka ferry, all the way past ukunda ukielekea Tz

Niko mambaza sahii lakini naomba kesho ifike nirudi Nrb. Cha kufurahisha ni bahari, chakula, na ukarimu. Zingine acha tu.

I watched a bee keeping women empowerment project training documentary today on kbc tv. What caught my eye is the large number of barely 20year old mothers with over three kids in tow in the training.

All coastal counties hata Taita Taveta are classified as ASALs.

Ile jua inakuwanga huko ukishaingia at least 30km inland sio mchezo

What is ASAL?

The picture you have posted could be anywhere in Kenya and is not consistent with what you have described as arid and desolate. True, larger parts of coast province have butt-scratching levels of poverty. You see, you have to be a native Kenyan to tell the difference in poverty levels. For example. Most people for developed countries cannot tell any difference of such a town in Kiambu, Vihiga or Kibwezi. The same way we think there is a difference between Donholm and Pipeline while both are typical slums to an eye of anyone coming from developed society.

Coast has suffered from poor leadership and illiteracy right from independence. Kilifi, Mombasa and Kwale have consistently voted in semi-alliterate leadership since independence and it does not look like that is changing any time soon. Visiting Coast and running along the beach line, you might get the wrong impression of prosperity. 5KM away from the beach is basically desolation, need and poverty that crushes the soul. Every province, County and Town in Kenya has a similar set up but Coast Province has a more pronounced and visible grinding poverty just a mile away from the beach.

Weh!!! Kichapo cha Mombasani. But I did a random search of Vihiga (where the poster comes from) and compared that with random searches of Coastal counties and yes; there could be some truth about Coastal poverty. There is a big leadership vacuum in the region.
They love story tellers such as Rao, Joho and Kingi.

To understand the income disparity in .ke, we need to understand Pre-colonial, Colonial and focus majorly in Post Colonial Kenya.

Arid and Semi Arid Land(s)